• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

EDFL Division 1 2017

Any update on the Westy v Wallan praccy from yesterday?

Went down for a look (no affiliation with either side) , in hot conditions , was a good hit out for both sides. West dominated first qtr , although were beaten at stoppages , but then found it hard to score in the final 2 qtrs. wallan moved ball well from halfback & would have got up by 3-4 goals I'd say. Good signs for both sides with the new players adapting well. Number 3 down back was really good for Westy , small , fast & a good user of footy.
22 from wallan looked classy , with quality touches throughout the game. Both sides will take away a lot of positives from the game.
Both had a few out , so like I said good first hit out for both.

Airport west straight back to premier

Take it to the bank Sherrin? Massive call... Do you think they will be a better side than CB were last year in Div 1? In order for APW to do so they would need to recruit players in the same ilk as the following: C. Cloke, J. Cloke, J. Young, Robertson, J. Page, R. Bongetti, C. McErlain, Gordon, Heenan apologies for those i have left out... i just dont see that quality on the APW clearances yet.... do u no something we don't mate? a late recruiting coop?

On SM-G935F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Take it to the bank Sherrin? Massive call... Do you think they will be a better side than CB were last year in Div 1? In order for APW to do so they would need to recruit players in the same ilk as the following: C. Cloke, J. Cloke, J. Young, Robertson, J. Page, R. Bongetti, C. McErlain, Gordon, Heenan apologies for those i have left out... i just dont see that quality on the APW clearances yet.... do u no something we don't mate? a late recruiting coop?

Can't underestimate the class drop from premier and div 1. This what will give APW the edge this year. Premier division experience over last couple of years compared to other teams

Were they a better team then NS when they were Premier. Cause they have recruited a few I also see that APW have lost 5-6 regular senior players which will hurt. I feel as they will be somewhere between 4-8

Dont understimate the rise in standard in Div 1 since APW were in this div last. I recall in last years pre season Taylors Lakes beat APW by 7 goals in a praccie not a gauge just an observation. Im hearing APW have had only 25-30 at training during this preseason could be a rubbish rumour i, like most are very interested to see how APW go. Last years Cburn side and Tulla would have had APW covered from the games i watched of APW. Goodluck to em i say

Airport west straight back to premier

You cant be serious. Yes there is a gap in standard but lets be realistic that didnt include APW. They were absolutely smashed every week last year and finished with a percentage of 27, If they dont pick up some very good players they will not play finals in div 1. They were beaten comfortably by Glenroy and Taylors lakes in praccy games last year and i know that can be misleading but thats just where APW were at. No disrespect to APW but im just being realistic they would need to recruit before thinking of finals in div 1

I'm also hearing APW will go well this season and have recruited well both on & off ground. I think they would expect to play finals or be thereabouts "however" imo will need a few years in div1 to consolidate and get back on track. Appointment of Cupido last season really put them back and it will take time to regroup and reload. Once again I think they are a premier club just need to fix up the mess he left behind. I'm sure those commitee meeting last season would have been interesting.

How disappointing is it when ex AFL name players come into your club on good $$ and don't return the effort these volunteers deserve. I can name a couple of ex AFL players who must struggle to look in the mirror every day after leaving the club to pick up the pieces..

My feeling is Oak Park and Hillside will come out of the blocks flying but it does look to be a more even comp than previous seasons with clubs not spending as much as the previous 2 promoted sides.

I'm also hearing APW will go well this season and have recruited well both on & off ground. I think they would expect to play finals or be thereabouts "however" imo will need a few years in div1 to consolidate and get back on track. Appointment of Cupido last season really put them back and it will take time to regroup and reload. Once again I think they are a premier club just need to fix up the mess he left behind. I'm sure those commitee meeting last season would have been interesting.

How disappointing is it when ex AFL name players come into your club on good $$ and don't return the effort these volunteers deserve. I can name a couple of ex AFL players who must struggle to look in the mirror every day after leaving the club to pick up the pieces..

My feeling is Oak Park and Hillside will come out of the blocks flying but it does look to be a more even comp than previous seasons with clubs not spending as much as the previous 2 promoted sides.
I think hillside are spending up big. They players they have brought in lately would be on decent coin. Them and Glenroy to be highest paid clubs this season

How much do u think players like Patane and Aloi would get EDFL? In Glenroys case Ferraro and say Jayden Walker? With the amount of kids Windside have they would be getting paid unders being locals you would think?

Patane and Aloi wouldn't play for nothing. I'm guessing they on 400-500 a game each. That's on top of the 4-5 recruits they got last few years. Just cause they are kids doesn't always mean they'll get paid unders. In today's climates 1 pointers are gold so they might as for more as they may walk.

Glenroy in the same boat recruited 5-6 this year on top off the 10 players last year.

Big news coming out of Westmeadows with Hume council approving a 1.9 million dollar upgrade of the facilities at Willowbrook reserve.
Fantastic news for the long term future of the club
Looks like Hume are throwing round the cash. I know that both Greenvale and craigieburn are also getting a facilities upgrade. Did they give you a timeline on when they will do this??

Pretty sure Roxy are supposed to be getting new rooms this year too.. well overdue

Patane and Aloi wouldn't play for nothing. I'm guessing they on 400-500 a game each. That's on top of the 4-5 recruits they got last few years. Just cause they are kids doesn't always mean they'll get paid unders. In today's climates 1 pointers are gold so they might as for more as they may walk.

Glenroy in the same boat recruited 5-6 this year on top off the 10 players last year.
They are only 1 pointers at the one club , so therefore the points system does restrict where they can play at ....

I believe the lights are getting done straight away to allow night games.
Unsure of timeframe on change rooms / social rooms / bar etc

They are only 1 pointers at the one club , so therefore the points system does restrict where they can play at ....
Yeah but if a club looses 5 quality 1 pointers then to replace them it could be minimum 15 points if the other juniors aren't as good then could be a big huge in the long run.
Some juniors might use this to get an extra 50-100 a week.
Tullamarine will have that problem this year. They have lost 5-7 1 point players. So with no juniors coming thought then thats 15-21 points minimum to replace. That's nearly 50% of points.

I'm not sure Hillside would be in the highest paying bracket of div1 clubs. Yes agree the 2 players mentioned would be getting paid (maybe around the estimate posted) and if they play to their potential then it's a win/win I reckon. I think Hillside would have the highest number of homegrowns and some of these boys are very talented which is an added bonus..Sone probably capable of playing premier..

Btw- if Patane gets enough good delivery and stays injury free,he could be the difference. Should like the big open spaces and more one on one contests..

I guess for a club like Glenroy they would have to recruit (and pay) more players, mainly due to the number of juniors coming through compared to a Hillside or Westmeadows. So they must be actively recruiting but get the types that don't demand the huge $$ as not sure Glenroy spend a huge amount either..

I'm not sure many clubs currently in div1 would be spending anywhere near the salary cap as clubs just don't have this cash flow. If I was to take a guess I would say Westmeadows and Airport West probably spending a "bit" more than others. Couple of the boys at Westy from Port Colts would be on decent coin, but someone like JT will give you value for money so another win/win..

Anyway who cares, as to me it's wide open this year with no club spending anywhere near what the last 2 premiers paid out..Got to be good for the division!!

Pretty sure Roxy are supposed to be getting new rooms this year too.. well overdue
Hume council must have won Tattslotto, just heard east Sunbury getting a $4 million upgrade of the sporting facilities.
That's greenvale, craigieburn, Roxy, Westy and east Sunbury all getting upgrades. That's a lot of money been promised