EDFL Premier Discussion 2023

we talk about Ek and all the recruiting.

Look at who’s left
Palazzolo, Micallef, lock, Marshall, Rayner, grabowski any other names we don’t know about? Those 6 would walk into any A grade side.

We know Silvangi is back at vfl level so that’s one less recruit. Maybe there a lot further back than we might have thought.
Top 4 will stay the same in 2023. Probably same order too
Abers
Strathmore
Pacco
Keilor.

we talk about Ek and all the recruiting.

Look at who’s left
Palazzolo, Micallef, lock, Marshall, Rayner, grabowski any other names we don’t know about? Those 6 would walk into any A grade side.

We know Silvangi is back at vfl level so that’s one less recruit. Maybe there a lot further back than we might have thought.
Top 4 will stay the same in 2023. Probably same order too
Abers
Strathmore
Pacco
Keilor.
The loses hurt as majority were down to 1-2 pointers. Revolving door starts again, players stay for 1-3 years then leave.

Let’s not forget where EK have come from hey lads, let’s wait till next week when there new recruits get lodged if the comments will be the same.
Every club is in it to win premierships and not waste time, maybe some people don’t want to be around for ever. Some clubs are happy to plot along and others are not, let’s say EK isn’t a club that wants to plot along.
Just look at the last 3/4 years and judge by results. 2 players from the exit players where in there 20’s and all the rest in there low to mid 30’s so I’d say the right call was made. And one of those in there 20’s went to Brisbane VFL he didn’t leave. Let’s comment mid season hey lads.
Why people hate on EK is so funny, oh yeah they cheat. Keilor, Strathmore, Abers, Pacco don’t cheap they pay every player under the CAP. What a joke that people crack at an up and coming club.
Get used to it, it’s the modern day in local footy. $1000 over the cap or $100,000 over the cap SAME SAME.

Let’s not forget where EK have come from hey lads, let’s wait till next week when there new recruits get lodged if the comments will be the same.
Every club is in it to win premierships and not waste time, maybe some people don’t want to be around for ever. Some clubs are happy to plot along and others are not, let’s say EK isn’t a club that wants to plot along.
Just look at the last 3/4 years and judge by results. 2 players from the exit players where in there 20’s and all the rest in there low to mid 30’s so I’d say the right call was made. And one of those in there 20’s went to Brisbane VFL he didn’t leave. Let’s comment mid season hey lads.
Why people hate on EK is so funny, oh yeah they cheat. Keilor, Strathmore, Abers, Pacco don’t cheap they pay every player under the CAP. What a joke that people crack at an up and coming club.
Get used to it, it’s the modern day in local footy. $1000 over the cap or $100,000 over the cap SAME SAME.
I’m not sure the last sentence will win people over. 1000 over is the same as 100,000 over. Well I can tell you it’s not the same, same. It’s 99,000 difference 😆😆

Are you serious hahahha Surley you are taking the piss

Unless your Aberfeldie and claim administration errors!!

The circus is out again. The same narrative:
... haters ... everyone cheats ... Get used to it ... up and coming club ...

As I suggested on the Division 1 thread, footy is not all about EK!

I realise other clubs rort the system as well, but I am yet to meet two posters who relish the apologist mantra for dismantling salary caps and points as much as Bashen and his alter-ego Move on boys.

Anyway, happy days. The circus will roll on ...

The circus is out again. The same narrative:
... haters ... everyone cheats ... Get used to it ... up and coming club ...

As I suggested on the Division 1 thread, footy is not all about EK!

I realise other clubs rort the system as well, but I am yet to meet two posters who relish the apologist mantra for dismantling salary caps and points as much as Bashen and his alter-ego Move on boys.

Anyway, happy days. The circus will roll on ...

Might want to scroll back and look at Orbits posts Silver, obviously in the know and always a quality contributor to the thread. Aimed this at the wrong person here mate, and it’s black & white that Aberfeldie, Douttas and Pascoe Vale got caught for “admin” errors.

All we hear is the salary cap can’t be enforced so why have one ? I’d like to think the governing bodies could grow a set and figure it out, in 2023 its just lip service to say they can’t enforce it. AFL Vic need to show strong action and leadership and save community football from eating itself alive. What EK, and others of course, are doing isn’t sustainable and only a matter of time before the house of cards blows over.

Simply not good enough to just lump in the too hard basket. Clubs doing it the right way at the moment are punished by clubs stealing players with ridiculous offers. It won’t end well the way it’s going and it will be too late to do anything about it. Only those directly involved at clubland love the player grab every summer, any neutral that loves community footy doesn’t care about the big names and the big clubs putting out almost VFL competing teams. The further in you get in the bush the worse it gets too. Bottom clubs left to scramble to field teams each week with no shot at success. IMO we won’t know what he have lost until it’s too far gone. No doubt Christofi & McGoldrick show no respect for the league but it’s certainly not limited to them either. Westmeadows and Oak Park two recent examples of over committing and the club left screwed.

Anyone know what is happening down at Avondale Heights i hear they need to meet the board for some reason

Might want to scroll back and look at Orbits posts Silver, obviously in the know and always a quality contributor to the thread. Aimed this at the wrong person here mate, and it’s black & white that Aberfeldie, Douttas and Pascoe Vale got caught for “admin” errors.

All we hear is the salary cap can’t be enforced so why have one ? I’d like to think the governing bodies could grow a set and figure it out, in 2023 its just lip service to say they can’t enforce it. AFL Vic need to show strong action and leadership and save community football from eating itself alive. What EK, and others of course, are doing isn’t sustainable and only a matter of time before the house of cards blows over.

Simply not good enough to just lump in the too hard basket. Clubs doing it the right way at the moment are punished by clubs stealing players with ridiculous offers. It won’t end well the way it’s going and it will be too late to do anything about it. Only those directly involved at clubland love the player grab every summer, any neutral that loves community footy doesn’t care about the big names and the big clubs putting out almost VFL competing teams. The further in you get in the bush the worse it gets too. Bottom clubs left to scramble to field teams each week with no shot at success. IMO we won’t know what he have lost until it’s too far gone. No doubt Christofi & McGoldrick show no respect for the league but it’s certainly not limited to them either. Westmeadows and Oak Park two recent examples of over committing and the club left screwed.
I am hearing you Gremlin. Orbit is indeed a quality poster. As I suggested top clubs have been cheating since the advent of the salary cap. It is a nonsense. There is no leadership from AFL Vic or individual leagues across the board from Metro to Country leagues and I doubt any league under the auspices of AFL Vic will 'grow a pair' ...

Your post is incisive in terms of what is happening to metro and country footy. I think it is too late for community footy leagues in country Victoria and seeing major league clubs like Castlemaine and Corrowa/Rutherglen go belly up suggests the clock is ticking. It's bloody sad.

There are plenty beyond EK at.al doing the exact same thing. As you say, Abers, Pacco and Douttas let alone clubs in the Country. Plenty of Country clubs are cheating the system!

My point in this instance is the gloating and associated bullshit that a couple of posters carry on with ... Humility can be beautiful thing! As clubs go belly up more humility less bullshit would be ideal!

Anyway, enough from me.

LOL. That’s the biggest load of BS

Pathetic.

I am hearing you Gremlin. Orbit is indeed a quality poster. As I suggested top clubs have been cheating since the advent of the salary cap. It is a nonsense. There is no leadership from AFL Vic or individual leagues across the board from Metro to Country leagues and I doubt any league under the auspices of AFL Vic will 'grow a pair' ...

Your post is incisive in terms of what is happening to metro and country footy. I think it is too late for community footy leagues in country Victoria and seeing major league clubs like Castlemaine and Corrowa/Rutherglen go belly up suggests the clock is ticking. It's bloody sad.

There are plenty beyond EK at.al doing the exact same thing. As you say, Abers, Pacco and Douttas let alone clubs in the Country. Plenty of Country clubs are cheating the system!

My point in this instance is the gloating and associated bullshit that a couple of posters carry on with ... Humility can be beautiful thing! As clubs go belly up more humility less bullshit would be ideal!

Anyway, enough from me.
Very well said, S.T.
As touched on in the Bendigo thread - the idea that the AFL gives a flying **** about anything other than skimming the cream from the top is almost aggressively stupid at this point, comps need to organise themselves to ensure their ongoing viability IMO.
Restructure is required, especially in regional/district areas as the system in place incentivises moving to the city or regional centres which already have inbuilt advantages.

Those flouting the rules are losers, it's why barely anyone gives any credit to certain clubs "success" no flimsy justifications will address that.
Ultimately, it's community footy, the arms race that it has evolved into has weakened the game overall.

Surely this is written by a 10 yr old kid having a laugh?

The other poster claims he is often interstate.

Based upon relevant evidence, I suspect every second weekend and half the school holidays!

With his mum.

You honestly think I run that acc? My vocab couldn’t be that bad if i tried mate.

Nothing wrong with going interstate with your mother mate.