EDFL Premier Discussion 2024

And how many of these played under 10s at Keilor? Would be an interesting study wouldn’t it. Hearing some horrible stuff regarding poaching methods. If true it’s totally and utterly disgusting.
Im told those kids that are under scholarships at Marby High School HAVE to or Very Strongly suggested go to Keilor to play in EDFL if they want to have a chance to play Cannons or Jets

And how many of these played under 10s at Keilor? Would be an interesting study wouldn’t it. Hearing some horrible stuff regarding poaching methods. If true it’s totally and utterly disgusting.
Its common knowledge by the time juniors from Taylors Lakes, Hillside, St Albans, Burnside Heights etc all reach under 16s they move to Keilor. Its nothing new, its happened for years. Long before MM walked through the doors of Keilor.

Move or contacted to go there. Or hit up in the car park on way home?

Also heard wind that they give good talented under 10’s free registration to play at keilor

Untrue…. My footballing scholarship son goes to Marby… no influence on where you play outside of school.
It depends where you son plays now. Is he at a big division 1 club or a struggling club. I know in other sports they have told students which club they should compete for, since they worried about their scholarship the feel like they have to do what the school says. It’s disgusting that the school would do that.

I’m sure that MM would contact both cannons and jets to recommend players. Then the players get invited. Let’s be fair the Coates league isnt what it use to be. The league is no longer the best under 18 comp in Australia. You’ll find that recruiters hardly attend games like they use to.

oh rubbish Turbo. Go have a peak at Keilors Auskick one night, they don’t need to do any poaching. Unfortunately far too many parents with wrong intentions move their children to stronger clubs to win flags, it’s pathetic.

Definitely true…. They take their kids in under 14’s to a Strathmore or Keilor…

But now Pacco becoming a destination club … heaps of 16/18’s requesting Pacco… good to see I reckon…
Hopefully Pacco put a dent in the “ big 3” good to see another club in the mix

Definitely true…. They take their kids in under 14’s to a Strathmore or Keilor…

But now Pacco becoming a destination club … heaps of 16/18’s requesting Pacco… good to see I reckon…
Hopefully Pacco put a dent in the “ big 3” good to see another club in the mix
The Pacco ones all leave before getting to Seniors and they were poached! Can’t fake history and culture.
Basically r*ped West Coburg 18’s this season as well, if Tudor and Saad can manage to start bringing them through then you could suggest it.
I know of a very talented youth that played at Douttas til about 15 then has had 3 clubs in 3 years, at Pacco this season. And I can assure you it’s all his father’s delusions

It depends where you son plays now. Is he at a big division 1 club or a struggling club. I know in other sports they have told students which club they should compete for, since they worried about their scholarship the feel like they have to do what the school says. It’s disgusting that the school would do that.

I’m sure that MM would contact both cannons and jets to recommend players. Then the players get invited. Let’s be fair the Coates league isnt what it use to be. The league is no longer the best under 18 comp in Australia. You’ll find that recruiters hardly attend games like they use to.
The Coates is definitley not like it used to be however to say recruiters hardly attend games is false.

The Pacco ones all leave before getting to Seniors and they were poached! Can’t fake history and culture.
Basically r*ped West Coburg 18’s this season as well, if Tudor and Saad can manage to start bringing them through then you could suggest it.
I know of a very talented youth that played at Douttas til about 15 then has had 3 clubs in 3 years, at Pacco this season. And I can assure you it’s all his father’s delusions
😂😂😂😂
He won’t play seniors 😉

The Coates is definitley not like it used to be however to say recruiters hardly attend games is false.

When the Cannons were getting multiple kids drafted every year 10-15 even 20 years ago most clubs had one or some players there. That’s not the case anymore. If a kid is at the Cannons he isn’t getting drafted if he’s the 5th or 6th best player from Abers, Keilor or Strathmore.
Parents don’t realise this unfortunately.

When the Cannons were getting multiple kids drafted every year 10-15 even 20 years ago most clubs had one or some players there. That’s not the case anymore. If a kid is at the Cannons he isn’t getting drafted if he’s the 5th or 6th best player from Abers, Keilor or Strathmore.
Parents don’t realise this unfortunately.

Its all to do with the private schools

that's why they are so good in every competition the advantage they have from this means their depth is always off the charts

Its all because Keilor have always been an A grade powerhouse and all good players want to test themselves in under 16s and 18s a grade. Then when they can't get the oppurtunities at seniors if not good enough they'll end up either at Taylors Lakes, Hillside, St.Albans, Burnside Heights, Keilor Park, probrably even Caroline Springs WRFL or whoever elsewhere takes them.

Wasn’t he going to be drafted by Carlton? Isn’t even invited to the Cannons

A while back every club was either a grade or b grade for juniors and your 10/12/14/16’s all played together on the same day/ same opponent.

Has the move away from this system actually made it harder for the smaller clubs to retain talent? At worst your juniors were playing in b grade, now the small clubs play in Div 4 or 5 against the third string side of the big clubs.

Players seemed to be much more willing to stay at the home clubs because they got the opportunity to play against top end talent and be noticed. there definitely seemed to be a much bigger spread of clubs represented at Calder.

Although I’m realizing I’m getting old and this was 20 years ago!

A while back every club was either a grade or b grade for juniors and your 10/12/14/16’s all played together on the same day/ same opponent.

Has the move away from this system actually made it harder for the smaller clubs to retain talent? At worst your juniors were playing in b grade, now the small clubs play in Div 4 or 5 against the third string side of the big clubs.

Players seemed to be much more willing to stay at the home clubs because they got the opportunity to play against top end talent and be noticed. there definitely seemed to be a much bigger spread of clubs represented at Calder.

Although I’m realizing I’m getting old and this was 20 years ago!

There wasn’t any multiple teams from one club either back then, most just started in the 10’s and played through. The parent winning addiction has changed the landscape so the big only get bigger.

Obviously not the only reason but it’s changed local footy for the worse. But if your club isn’t doing everything it can to appoint quality junior coaches and implement good practices off field then you probably can’t whinge when they flee.

EDFL Premier Discussion 2024