EDFL Premier Division 2014

The same old story of players happy to stay in second division rather than go up. Are the Caruso looking at VFL opportunities? Could be back to the days of clubs coming up only to go straight back down? Hopefully not for the comp but it sadly looks that way

Chin up juliand;)

Guy's, are you for real?

Didn't read this?

• 11 Nov 2013
  • Moreland Leader
  • Chris Cavanagh

Saints want to re-sign list and then target tall timber

‘‘ We’ve got most of the core group of players signed up plus the young kids, the under-18s. The real key to having a successful club is having the kids there as well.
Nat Caruso, Northern Saints coach

THE Northern Saints hope to retain most of their 2013 playing list as the club looks to life in the Essendon District Football League’s Premier Division.
Just over two months after claiming their first ever premiership with a 14-point win over Glenroy in Division 1, the Saints are gearing up to return to the track next week.
Premiership coach Nat Caruso has fended off other offers to stay on in the top job at the club next season while his brother, Division 1 best-and-fairest Fortunato, is also sticking around to help spearhead the transition to the league’s top competition.
The Saints coach said last week recruiting efforts were continuing but the club’s biggest focus was retaining its 2013 list, which it believes will be competitive in Premier Division.
“We’re going to try and keep most of them,” Caruso told the Leader.
“We’ve got a few signed up already and we’ve just got to try and keep at the other guys.
“But we’ve got most of the core group of players signed up plus the young kids, the under-18s. The real key to having a successful club is having the kids there as well.”
Caruso said more talls were on the Saints’ shopping list, which they were hoping to tick off in the next couple of weeks.
But regardless of how those plans go, the club is confident of a fruitful year in Premier Division in 2014 which can be built on the following year.
“We’re going to have a red-hot crack at it,” Caruso said. “If we’re going to go down we’re going to go down swinging.”
The Saints begin pre-season training next Wednesday.

Big trouble at northern saints lots of players leaving, could get very ugly in 2014 they should probably consider rejecting promotion for the good of the club

And welcome to Figbooty hb flog..

I look forward to your 4th post.

Chin up juliand;)

Guy's, are you for real?

Didn't read this?

• 11 Nov 2013
  • Moreland Leader
  • Chris Cavanagh

Saints want to re-sign list and then target tall timber

‘‘ We’ve got most of the core group of players signed up plus the young kids, the under-18s. The real key to having a successful club is having the kids there as well.
Nat Caruso, Northern Saints coach

THE Northern Saints hope to retain most of their 2013 playing list as the club looks to life in the Essendon District Football League’s Premier Division.
Just over two months after claiming their first ever premiership with a 14-point win over Glenroy in Division 1, the Saints are gearing up to return to the track next week.
Premiership coach Nat Caruso has fended off other offers to stay on in the top job at the club next season while his brother, Division 1 best-and-fairest Fortunato, is also sticking around to help spearhead the transition to the league’s top competition.
The Saints coach said last week recruiting efforts were continuing but the club’s biggest focus was retaining its 2013 list, which it believes will be competitive in Premier Division.
“We’re going to try and keep most of them,” Caruso told the Leader.
“We’ve got a few signed up already and we’ve just got to try and keep at the other guys.
“But we’ve got most of the core group of players signed up plus the young kids, the under-18s. The real key to having a successful club is having the kids there as well.”
Caruso said more talls were on the Saints’ shopping list, which they were hoping to tick off in the next couple of weeks.
But regardless of how those plans go, the club is confident of a fruitful year in Premier Division in 2014 which can be built on the following year.
“We’re going to have a red-hot crack at it,” Caruso said. “If we’re going to go down we’re going to go down swinging.”
The Saints begin pre-season training next Wednesday.

Translated simply: Yes, there will be some players leave, but generally those players aren't up to the standard required to play premier division. Many of them if they did stay, would be playing seconds anyway.

For Northern Saints to be competitive they need to maintain the cream of the talent and add some height and pace. Those said to be leaving lack both of these.

Plenty of pre season news circulating - have to love silly season!!

Firstly, we're travelling nicely at Abers..

Airport West done well to secure both Ryan & Josh Houlihan beating Pacco to the punch.

Greenvale keen on McPhee however asking for $12K more than Rocky was on - big bump.

As previously stated the Jets lose some genuine depth in Bloomfield and J. Kent with several others heading over to Brazil for the World Cup mid season which will upset things a little in the lead up to another finals campaign.

Strathmore recruiting well with Alex Grima (South Fremantle), a couple from Hoppers, Fitzy returning and David Hille very close.

wouldnt be spruiking too much bout the houlihan brothers

in fairness dont know too much about josh but saw ryan play at st bernards this year and is more worried about his fake tan and his 'good looks' then trying to get a kick

Is the rumor right that teal has resigned and rodney callahan has taken over as president can anyone shed any light ? with all the outs something had to give.

AGM is Tuesday night 7.30pm - look forward to your questions. You may even put your hand up to do something!!!

i will definitely be there just make sure you come and say hi and congratulate the new winning ticket
then we can all go forward.

wouldnt be spruiking too much bout the houlihan brothers

in fairness dont know too much about josh but saw ryan play at st bernards this year and is more worried about his fake tan and his 'good looks' then trying to get a kick
If rumor true big money for 2 blokes who are plus 30

Big trouble at northern saints lots of players leaving, could get very ugly in 2014 they should probably consider rejecting promotion for the good of the club

No one gives the Fawkner club much of a chance in 2014 so why start this kind of rumor?
Are they more of a chance to put up a decent showing than the established Premier clubs are willing to admit?

David Fahey signed with Williamstown and Dan Connors signed with Port Melbourne ...... both wont be seen in EDFL in 2014.
Thought conners was heading to bush? Is Mal going around again? The Hislops allstaying or moving on? Even if they lose a few their depth is excellent.

i will definitely be there just make sure you come and say hi and congratulate the new winning ticket
then we can all go forward.

Good luck with the "new ticket", if it is too get up lets hope you have a blue print for a future and turn the club around before the footy club ends up like the cricket club.

Can I suggest that the "new" committee cuts its current loses and apionts Jimmy as coach with Coop's as his assistant.

Good luck with the "new ticket", if it is too get up lets hope you have a blue print for a future and turn the club around before the footy club ends up like the cricket club.

Can I suggest that the "new" committee cuts its current loses and apionts Jimmy as coach with Coop's as his assistant.

Hopefully bluey can make it work he will find it hard as we all know we don't have a ground next year and the most of all for the first time may struggle to get a competitive side up and running the redevelopment of the could not have come at a worst time in our history. if teal and the band of yes men
get there way, it will be good to see the real estate man trying to sell there new home may be they can change our name to the tip rats for the year.

If they rejected their promotion, which would seem unlikely, what other club currently in Division 1 could step up and be more competitive?

None. It's not happening, rumours of mass exoduses at this stage are exagerrated

Any news from the AGM? Still a happy team at Keilor?

Craig Teal re elected President unopposed!! A few changes to executive as happens most years. New fundraising committee of seven announced. Unfortunately "Lookingin" no where to be found must be on the bus going in wrong direction! Club will reinvigorate the senior group and go again in 2014. There is a lot right at Keilor, missing finals the last couple of years suggests there is problems but that is selling the efforts of other clubs a bit short. Keilor has been in A Grade/ Premier division since 1975 & will continue to be a club that many would love to see on their knees.

David Fahey signed with Williamstown and Dan Connors signed with Port Melbourne ...... both wont be seen in EDFL in 2014.

No new signings at Abers thus far. They are either putting faith in the grand final squad or a little slow off the mark compared to other clubs.

EDFL Premier Division 2014