EDFL Premier Division 2016

EDS have chad sir jake Hobbs and Peter Ntalianis Brodie Meyers who have all played seniors Over the last 2 seasons that are still under 18 listed players.

I think those youngsters having played A grade in the juniors is an added bonus too and I reckon it's part of the reason EDS are doing well so far. I can really see some sensational footy coming up in this division in the next few years.

What does the team of the year look like at the halfway point of the season ?
I've had a crack at it, albeit following Doutta's all year so only seeing each other team once plus the interleague game.

Toy. Hartwig. Castello.
Brewer. R.Allan. Cubillo.
Pfieffer. Ross. J.Allan.
Bzenic. McGuane. Reimers.
Vezpremi. Galea. Rose.
Browne. Blackwell. F.Caruso.
Shinners. Warren. Baravi. Shylo.

Coach: McGuane.

Who should come in ? & go out ?

I've had a crack at it, albeit following Doutta's all year so only seeing each other team once plus the interleague game.

Toy. Hartwig. Castello.
Pfieffer. Ross. J.Allan.
Vezpremi. Galea. Rose.

Not sure who you'd put out, but Tom Gleeson from Strathmore has had an excellent season. One of the few from the Mores who has been in any way consistently good.

Seems like a pretty good team to me except McLean would have to be in, has been very good. I would say Keilor could have a fair few more based on how good their season has been. From the one game I saw McIntosh is a very good ruckman but couldn't go past Browne.

McIntosh was very poor against Doutta's round.1. Will be interested to see how much he has improved this week.
I think Deluca is probably no.2 behind Browne

Toy. Hartwig. Castello.
Pfieffer. Ross. J.Allan.
Vezpremi. Galea. Rose.

Good topic Gremlin. Great team you have picked.
My comments are below, without being critical of your views..

-Strong backline..
-How many games has Pfieffer played this year??
Think Lewis or Urghuart from Paco maybe have had a better year. But I'm biased!!

-Has McGuane been good enough this year to be CHF. I'm not doubting his talent ,just from what I've seen.
I would have Bathie or Gourdis at CHF. Bathie is in my best 12 players in the comp and Gourdis can swing a game in 20mins.

-Being biased again I would select Jackson from Paco ahead of Shylo. But I do agree McLean is ahead of both of them.

Who is Baravi??

-Strong backline..
Think Lewis or Urghuart from Paco maybe have had a better year. But I'm biased!!

-Has McGuane been good enough this year to be CHF. I'm not doubting his talent ,just from what I've seen.
I would have Bathie or Gourdis at CHF. Bathie is in my best 12 players in the comp and Gourdis can swing a game in 20mins.

-Being biased again I would select Jackson from Paco ahead of Shylo. But I do agree McLean is ahead of both of them.

Who is Baravi??
Baravi is from West Coburg Turbo. Looking at EDFL website he appears to have had a very strong season. Named in best most weeks.

Are you sure you've named enough Pacco players? You've listed about 8 who should be in the 22.

-Strong backline..

Who is Baravi??

Yep McLean an oversight. He goes in ahead of Shylo.

Pfieffer is a jet. Top 5 in the comp in my opinion.

McGuane I've seen in 2 games and he has been clear best Keilor forward both times, Galea included.
Gourdis was very good in the interleague game. Bathie class but they can't all go in.

Urqhuart would have definite claims. Jackson didn't fire the game I seen but is obvious class.

Baravi is big body WC midfielder. Very good player, was very good in Interleague game. Reminds me of Nanya at his best

Baravi is from West Coburg Turbo. Looking at EDFL website he appears to have had a very strong season. Named in best most weeks.

Are you sure you've named enough Pacco players? You've listed about 8 who should be in the 22.

Cmon Stax, I did hold back as I only tried to sneak 2 more in there for a total of 4.. Lol

Just curious guys. I remember Broady Holland having trouble with the tribunal a few years ago because of the 14 week suspension rule on playing/officionating. So what will happen next year when Dustin Fletcher suits up for Douttas. Considering he has 20 odd weeks of suspension up? He's not the only one either. My understanding is over 14 weeks sees you face football Victoria to plead your case to continue to play or officiate.

It's different for AFL players the max is 32 weeks for them In the AFL double the I correct you 16 week code not 14 so it means if dusty has 20 weeks too his name when he plays local footy he's record will be 10 weeks equivilent the same case happened with St Kildas Steven Barker
Just curious guys. I remember Broady Holland having trouble with the tribunal a few years ago because of the 14 week suspension rule on playing/officionating. So what will happen next year when Dustin Fletcher suits up for Douttas. Considering he has 20 odd weeks of suspension up? He's not the only one either. My understanding is over 14 weeks sees you face football Victoria to plead your case to continue to play or officiate.
t

Three of those boys also came from other clubs

Yeah EDS did recruit at U16 level before the point system, with a couple of 'juniors' coming though as 3 pointers now. (Hobbs and Meyers so far)

All 4 of them played Juniors elsewhere.

Hobbs - Taylors Lakes
Meyers - Oak Park
Ntalianis - West Coburg
Sir - Avondale Heights

Yeah EDS did recruit at U16 level before the point system, with a couple of 'juniors' coming though as 3 pointers now. (Hobbs and Meyers so far)

All 4 of them played Juniors elsewhere.

Hobbs - Taylors Lakes
Meyers - Oak Park
Ntalianis - West Coburg
Sir - Avondale Heights

No EDS did not recruit players at under 16 level before the points system. What they did do is appoint two former rep coaches who are proud Doutta stars people that spent many previous years with cricket and footy at the club. These coaches happened to be well liked and pride themselves on good relations with parents. I'm sure if there were two rep coaches wanting to go back to there 'home' club that club would jump to have them back!

How they did it doesn't matter, wasn't having a go at EDS was just stating that they have a fair few guys who played 16's and 18's for them after playing at other clubs, and with the point system it will be harder to fit these guys in the Senior Side if they are 3 point players.

Well that's putting a real EDS spin on it
Fact is 14/15yo kids were lured away from their home clubs - POOR FORM, no matter how you want to spin it. For those who want to bang on about the reason's why they left save it , makes zero difference.
Suppose who can blame them , next to no loyalty in local footy now so who gives a fat rats hey.........

Well that's putting a real EDS spin on it
Fact is 14/15yo kids were lured away from their home clubs - POOR FORM, no matter how you want to spin it. For those who want to bang on about the reason's why they left save it , makes zero difference.
Suppose who can blame them , next to no loyalty in local footy now so who gives a fat rats hey.........

Whats wrong with Juniors wanting to play at a higher level, I am sure the boys were not Lured Away

That's the spirit - let's go to the easier option for ME ME ME ME ME ME , stuff my local club where I've played since u/10's. But none of that matters because it's all about me me me me me. Mate these kids aren't gunna play AFL, don't take your eye off the ball here , it is LOCAL FOOTY for god sake.
As I mentioned earlier , that's just the way it is now, LOYALTY is a rare commodity. I'm a big believer in Karma - you don't give loyalty don't expect to get it back and from previous posts - apple obviously doesn't fall far from the tree in most of those cases!

Also when Meyers left Oak Park they were up in premier also, yes they are not still up now but they were when he left.
Sempai - So to answer your original question , there is nothing wrong with players wanting to play at a higher level - but moving teams within the same comp - NOT ON , no matter how you try and spin it my one eyed friend! If they are good & committed enough they will progress to TAC ect.. no matter who they play for. And not at all having a go at the kids here , obviously it's their knob parents who lack the necessary skills to teach the kids the "important" lessons of life - And for the unwashed - that lesson is not "I want what's best for me me me me me".

EDFL Premier Division 2016