Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I'll watch it on TV

• Won't even watch it on TV

Sheldon-contrary to popular belief he was good in the first game. My main concern with Sam has always been his pace, he was quick tonight, looks like he has had a trouble free pre season. His first!

I agree re Sheldon. Got some contested ball and looked cleaner with his possessions (compared to others). Have almost pencilled him into my best 22 come round 1.

And Polec looks very much like a player - could be a very good find. Kudos to Rob Kerr and Co. for the wheeling and dealing that got us pick 5 out of the GC debacle at the end of last year.

The other draftees showed glimpses as was to be expected. They will get some decent game time this year and it will be interesting to see how they develop.

With Polec and Green, and some improvement from Rich and Harwood we look to have found a yard or two more of speed - just need to work out how to use it! :)

But unless there is dramatic improvement from them this season, I am not sure how we can justify having players like Buchanon, Raines, Hawksley, OBrien and Collier on our list. Not sure how much time they have left on contracts but they have to go sooner rather than later.

On the positive side - missing last night:
Polkinghorne, Redden, Black Brown, Power, Adcock, Drummond, Hanley (and Merrett, Patfull and McGrath missing against Essendon as well).

There is some upside there, but yes, it will be a tough year at the Lions again I think.

Broc McCauley #46

I have heard that he may revert back to a forward position, a role he played pretty well 4-5 years ago. IIRC he kicked 35 goals in 2005. I wouldn't mind seeing him down there as a small leading forward which he plays very well...and he is a pretty good set shot at goal.

Against Adelaide last year he kicked a couple of pretty good goals. He has the tendency to go missing and usually down back even if he doesn't get much of it he shuts down his opponent. May depend on whether or not someone like Hanley can step up down back.

He is leaner and seems to have added pace. His reading of the game was excellent. His kicking to position was also good. There was a big blond lad in the ruck last night, does anyone know his name?

Broc McCauley...the re-rookied mature aged rookie who I think will be elevated to the seniors at some point.

I can remember teams in the past that have been woeful in up to 4 pre-season games only to come out firing in Round 1 of the real stuff.

Right or wrong...for better or worse we fielded a very inexperienced team last night in what was essentially tossing young players in the deep end in a pre season practice match for us (we never aspired to the trophy and the money)and some encouraging things came out of it for those who want to look at the stars and not the mud,so to speak.

In brief I liked things done by Banfield,Rockliff,Rich,Polec,Beams,Harwood,Golby,O'Brien,McCauley and maybe one or two others that I can't recall.

Merrett,Maguire,Patfull and Leuenberger showed that they are ready to go and I am not concerned a bit about Mitch Clark...I think he will be terrific up forward with Browny this year.

For those players that are not in or hotly contesting for the 22...as always,in every club,the ball is in their court to improve their game and force their way in and then perform to stay in... and no amount of whingeing by supporters about their ability or why they were recruited serves any purpose whatsoever...some players in all sports reach a point where they can't lift to the next level...some can... others can after a lot of perseverance...I call it the big match temperament and it is obvious who has it and who doesn't.

A few other points- Forget Fev, he won't be back in the first half of the season or at all. Browny will own the forward 50 arc and Clark will play as a high lead up CHF. Don't worry about Mitch, the moment he scooped on the ball at full pace was enough for me to know he is going alright at this stage of the season.

Nice post acuguy.

I'm a bit confused about Mitch's role. I had assumed, like acuguy, that if Mitch played forward, he'd be at CHF with Brown at FF. However a couple of articles have mentioned him at FF. Can any ressies watchers clarify?

He is leaner and seems to have added pace. His reading of the game was excellent. His kicking to position was also good.

Rich's extra pace was great to see, but I was even happier that he has learnt to stay on his toes around packs, a la Rocky. It makes him look a lot nippier. :thumbsu:

I loved that he was one of the few who stood up, and I think he earned a feather for his "future captain" hat.

This came via email from a mate whose household are collingwood and swans people......

How bad was the coverage... There will be a few heads roll about that. Despite main event not showing it, it's bad that at least one of the free to air channels didn't show it live considering it was for the floods also. We had 6 people over last might specially to watch the games and we couldn't watch any of it... The broadcasters need to be stabbed in the eye..

He has the tendency to go missing and usually down back even if he doesn't get much of it he shuts down his opponent. May depend on whether or not someone like Hanley can step up down back.

I quite like the idea of Ash playing forward, however I agree that this will probably only be dependent upon Hanley or someone else being able to fill his running role in the backline.

I find Ash one of the more frustrating players on our list. At his best, he borders on elite as a small defender and can also be a dangerous forward. But he just doesn't seem to be able to elevate his game on a consistent basis. I would love to know why. I'm not necessarily saying that he's "diamonds or rocks" but he has such a high ceiling and just doesn't get there often enough.

Maybe a permanent move forward would "free his mind". But he's definitely played his best footy in the structured environment of defence. It will be intriguing to see how his season plays out.

NAB review - No relevant facts to focus on here but…

2scentsworth.jpg

Game 1: Two words - We stank.
But hopefully we should be able to get heaps of learning fodder from this ‘mismatch’ against the bombers. The comparisons of structure, game plan, player ability to understand their individual role and how this pieced together with the rest of the team seemed nonexistent.

Game 2: If game 1 is to be considered ground zero then game 2 was still smelly but showed signs of improvement. The addition of key defenders stemmed the rain of goals but again our inability to get our hands on the ball first and clear from a stoppage, unless quickly addressed, will again cause much grief this year.

Highlight – oddly there were a several including some positive glimpses of what the next generation could bring to the table over the next months/years. But my fav [and I’m sure it would have warmed the heart of young Warwick] was the long penetrating kick out of defence into the middle, then a run and carry shot at goal by Banfield - must have been inches from being a nine pointer. Armchair experts all over the country have been preaching for eons that a long penetrating exploit up the corridor will produce an exciting result... or was that a bedroom philosopher?

Hands up who remembers that it was Buchanan who initiated the break that resulted in Polec's goal last night?

Yeah, the much maligned Buchanan with a tough inside hard ball get followed by a handball under pressure to Austin,to Polec,to Banfield,back to Polec to supply the dazzling finishing touches.

Sure,it is much easier to remember his clanger in the open when he was grabbed from behind before getting his disposal away.

Buchanan did a lot of unspectacular (often unnoticed) but valuable work in his injury plagued season last year and far from wanting him delisted,he is in my 22 for Round one.

Not the end of the world, it's only the NAB Cup.

You guys have definitely got something in Polec. Saw that goal, and it's all class. Fantastic pace & composure to deliver at top speed.

Good luck for the season proper :thumbsu:

Hands up who remembers that it was Buchanan who initiated the break that resulted in Polec's goal last night?

Yeah, the much maligned Buchanan with a tough inside hard ball get followed by a handball under pressure to Austin,to Polec,to Banfield,back to Polec to supply the dazzling finishing touches.

Sure,it is much easier to remember his clanger in the open when he was grabbed from behind before getting his disposal away.

Buchanan did a lot of unspectacular (often unnoticed) but valuable work in his injury plagued season last year and far from wanting him delisted,he is in my 22 for Round one.

Stats from the Essendon Game for Buchanan:
6 disposals @ 33% efficiency (1 kick, 5 handballs).
1 tackle, 1 clearance and 4 clangers.

Must have just about been the only things he did last night....:confused:

I haven't given up on him either just yet.

I think he can improve on shown form and continue to be selected albeit in an average squad.

Stats from the Essendon Game for Buchanan:
6 disposals @ 33% efficiency (1 kick, 5 handballs).
1 tackle, 1 clearance and 4 clangers.

Must have just about been the only things he did last night....:confused:

In the same game Banfield had 2 disposals and 2 tackles....his one hand ball obviously followed what Buchanan started for the Polec goal - Rich had 5 disposals and 2 tackles.....what is your point?.

That Buchanan's disposals were ineffective, and that the handball that set up the goal must have been about the only thing he did right last night.

You mean after the hard ball get and as well as the tackle?....splitting hairs but 33% of 6 disposals is 2 effective ones and only 1 short of 50% efficiency.....but hey,you are entitled to not like his game but he is still in my (and I think the selector's) 22 for Round 1.

Oh so informative response from Austar to my complaint I lodged about the cluster**** that was their coverage last night:

Thanks for your email - and I can understand how you'd feel about missing the game on the MAIN EVENT Channel. Please accept our apologies.

Unfortunately on Friday night there were some technical difficulties affecting the MAIN EVENT and FOX SPORTS Channels. Immediately this was identified, our engineering team worked urgently to restore these channels. They were all restored that night.

Oh so informative response from Austar to my complaint I lodged about the cluster**** that was their coverage last night:

After flicking back to the extremely crap music and knocking back a few scotches, I channel surfed free to air and picked it up on "7 Mate" (at least I think thats what it was) from smewhere up north (Bundaberg maybe) and only missed about two minutes of it.:)

Essendon & St. Kilda NAB Cup *spoiler alert*