Fevola Trade (merged thread)

Re: Fev - what 700k contract?

Bad news for the Blues as next he was due to half his salary taken care of under the veterans list. For this reason I think there is no way we'll be footing too much of his salary (certainly not $350K) should the other party not want to pay it in full.

Who knows. Perhaps this a ploy to be seen to have done something with the door left open should we not get a deal we genuinely like. Should placate the media and give a wake up to Fev that he's not worth as much as he thinks.

Would it be possible that the Blues could still be able to claim half the salary under the veteran rule in the event that Fev is traded, for arguments sake if he gets 400k from a new club and the shortfall is 300k which the blues are out of pocket, he may still be able to be listed as a veteran under the blues contract allowing 150k to not be included in the salary cap. What are your thoughts on this posible outcome?

No not possible as he won't be listed as a Carlton player for 2010 once he's traded. He would be payed out half the amount by Carlton so basically pay him out a full year.

The interesting one is could the club who picks him up put him on their veterans list

Re: Carlton what will you be asking from fevolas clubs of choice either st kilda or hawthorn?

what would both of these clubs have to give you to seal a deal?

I'd happily give a top 10 pick and Dowler for Fev. But pick 9 is earmarked for someone else (Port) and I damn sure I wouldn't be moving someone else to get another top 10 pick.

Plus our salary cap is not a clown car.

So Nothing.

Re: Carlton what will you be asking from fevolas clubs of choice either st kilda or hawthorn?

It's simple mate. Carlton get a decent deal or he stays. Clubs on the cusp of a flag would be negligent not trying their best to secure him.

Then he stays.

No one will pay top dollar for Fev, huge salary and a serious social issue.

Carlton will keep him, in fact I suspect this whole issue is all about giving Fev a shake-up so he will toe the line.

Then he stays.

No one will pay top dollar for Fev, huge salary and a serious social issue.

Carlton will keep him, in fact I suspect this whole issue is all about giving Fev a shake-up so he will toe the line.

I tend to agree, I dont think he will be going anywhere

Why would Fev bother nominating a team like St. Kilda? They have no need for him at all, and to be honest, I don't think Ross Lyon would have a bar of him. I'm sure Fev wants to play in a premiership side once or twice before he retires, but he'd be better off nominating a team that actually needs a player of his ability.

No. Fev wouldn't be eligible for Carlton's veteran list until 2011 anyway and they can't include a player's payments under the veteran list when he's on someone else's list.
No not possible as he won't be listed as a Carlton player for 2010 once he's traded. He would be payed out half the amount by Carlton so basically pay him out a full year.

The interesting one is could the club who picks him up put him on their veterans list
No. You have to be on a team's "primary list" for 10 years before you're eligible to be put on the veterans list.
Just curious - how many years did carey get from adelaide? (I cant recall if its 2 or 3)
Carey got a 2 year contract and retired half way through the 2nd year. Not exactly comparable to Fevola though, as Carey's body was a broken shell before he arrived at Adelaide - Fevola's body is in pretty good nick.

Re: Official Fev to be traded - either saints of Hawks

Fevola looks likely to join the Pies in 2010, because they have a forward line that wasn't up to finals pressure. Eddie McGuire indicated that the Pies would be interested, and that Fev is exactly what they need. He is also apparently a friend of Eddies.

Saints have Reiwoldt and Koshi, so he won't be going there.
Hawks are quiet happy with Buddy and Roughy, so they too will not be looking at Fev.

Had it not been under these circumstances, maybe, but with the age and behaviour problems, when both sides have been to Grand Finals in the past two seasons, not exactly an ingredient you'd be throwing in there.

One thing is for sure though, Fev will not be at the Blues next year. Too much has been said that would contradict a reunion now.

Pick 14 and Travis Cloke to join Cameron.

Saints could have Fev at FF Roo at CHF & Kosi doing his best work in the Ruck & resting up forward.

Hawks: Fev for Thorp?

In a heartbeat; truth is we would be ripping Carlton off massively there.

With deals progressing for Burgoyne and Gibson, the limitation with Fev is the cap. Now you could call the Gibson deal off, get the Burgoyne deal done and move Roughead to defense, but I would think you put in jeopardy your future cap projections.

I'd be staggered if Hawthorn made a run at him tbh.

I would neally bet my house that Fev WILL NOT be at Carlton next year. The Carlton Football Club took some time coming to the conclusion that Fevolas career at Carlton is OVER. He insulted Chris Judd, who happens to be the captain. Cloke brothers to play together again is my tip. Travis has not looked very interested this year. After Collingwoods treatment of his brothers, I would not be suprised if he would be looking for a change, to help his poor form. To have the chance to play with Cameron again, I think he would be wrapped. Pick 14 to go with it.

Oh and apparently Lyon has ruled out chasing Fev.

So the Hawks are getting Burgoyne and Gibson and somehow chasing Fevola. Does anyone else fail to see how this could materialise?

Show the article that say Hawthorn are chasing Fevola.

Presuming the Burgoyne and Gibson deals happen (and there is a reasonable chance both will) there is no room in the cap for Fev unless a substantial salary is moved the other way.

So Fev to Hawthorn will not happen.

Would of thought that Fev's contract has behavioural clauses in it, that say that if Fevola does the wrong thing by the club, the club could terminate the contract without having to pay any of his future contract.

Fev would of broken so many team rules, that the contract is now not worth the paper its written on. Had this not been the case, Carlton would of reprimanded him, but he would of still been at the club. The bar brawl, and other incidences like urinating on the window, and the sex toy scandal last year, I would imagine that the Blue would of made sure they would of given themselves an out.

If I were Carlton I would be chasing:
Kosi & pick 16
Nathan Brown + pick 14
or
Travis Cloke + pick 14

Might not quite get that but I think it would be tempting

After Carlton people let Fev get out of control (yes it is his fault, but Carlton teammates/officials should have said/done something earlier) I think it's funny that he is basically calling their bluff by nominating St Kilda and Collingwood which means Carlton won't get what they want for Fev (top 10 pick + player) if they move him on.

Post after post of BS here.

The Carlton Football Club has advised Brendan Fevola and his management that it will be working to secure a trade that will see Brendan join another club during next week's AFL Exchange Period.
Doesn't sound desperate to get rid of him. Read - shopping him around.
If this is to be the end of my time at Carlton, I want to thank the Blues fans for their magnificent support over 11 years. You’ve meant more to me than I perhaps realised - until now. Also, I want to extend my best wishes to Brett Ratten, Chris Judd and the Carlton players, and thank them for their friendship and assistance.
If?
Gee......and people are trying to convince me that the bridges are burnt......maybe someone should tell Fev he is definately gone. :rolleyes:

This is win-win for the Blues.

Choice A:
We trade Fevola for two first round picks, or a first round pick and a good middle age or under player.
Pros
- frees up a lot of salary cap, we can go hunting in trade week.
- we can draft some young KP forwards that will fit our "window" which was never going to open for another 3-4 years (when the bulk of our talent is 24-28).
- Forward line becomes less predicatble with Waite, Kreuzer, Fisher, Cloke, Setanta all being decent options with Betts, Yarran and Garlett at the feet.
- Sends a very strong message to the playing group to shape up or ship out.

Cons
- lose a gun forward (not as bad as it sounds......remember plugger?)
- a second rate team like the Pies might finally have a decent player and do a "Hawks" and against all logic win a flag...........any bites?

Choice B:
No trade is reached. Fev stays a blue.

Pros - retain our best forward and maybe WE defy logic in the next 3-4 years and pull a "Hawks".

Cons - Fev no knows that the trade thing is a bluff, and unless the club wants to delist him he can't really be touched for the duration of his contract. He may well sook (we've all seen it before on field) and we see a shadow of the former Fev onfield.

My bet. Choice B.
The only club I could see having the cash and the picks/players is the Swans, and why would they want him. Doesn't fit their "window" or their "no ********s" policy.
If Freo think they are a chance before their time then maybe they could do it..........none of the Hawks, Saints, Dogs or Pies could do it for the reasons covered - suitable deal or cap issues.

.......and no........the Blues won't be paying half his salary just to get him out the door. :cool:

It's a funny thing to think about Fev at Collingwood. He go from a drunk to a crim. Besides, it is extremely unlikely Collingwood could get the deal done. It would probably take Travis Cloke and Nathan Brown to seal the deal. I can hear the Collingwood people shriek their disapproval. That's fine because he's actually contracted so we call the shots.

Spider had it right: Fev needs to get out of Melbourne. He said Sydney was the place to go. I would add Brisbane (but probably not Freo, WCE, PA given their rebuilding or Adel given their forward line.

Brisbane must want a flag before Brown retires (in four years). Brown and Fev are around the same age. Voss might think it's possible, especially with Black and Power also near the end. They could grab a flag in 2010 with Fev and Browny up forward.

Sydney ... been done to death ... reforming full forwards blah blah blah.

What would we be asking?

Brisbane: Bradshaw and Adcock
Sydney: ROK and Hall

Well, you asked!

I feel for the Blues supporters, that don't want to believe that Fev won't be a Blue next year, but he just won't be. Fevola is moving on, thats the decision, and it is now time to move forward. It's not like this is his first indescretion, he beat up a barman, urinated on a window, rock around legless with a sex two two times, and probably multiple problems that the club kept in house. He needs a big boot up the arse, and he will get that by being traded. This is quiet an irreversable decision the Blue Baggers have made.

"Maybe someone should tell Fev he is definately gone". They have dude, they have.

Alister Clarkson has said NO.
Paul Roos has said NO.
Ross Lyon has said NO.
Mark Thompson has said NO.
Essendon cut Lloyd and Lucas, so NO.
West Coast has ruled themselves out, so NO.
Adelaide NO
Hawthorn NO

Eddie McGuire has said YES.

Fev has named Saints and Collingwood

Melbourne won't part with first round pick
Richmond ditto
North ditto
Freo ditto

Port and Brisbane maybe, but doubtful.

Carlton, I reckon NO CHANCE

It's a funny thing to think about Fev at Collingwood. He go from a drunk to a crim. Besides, it is extremely unlikely Collingwood could get the deal done. It would probably take Travis Cloke and Nathan Brown to seal the deal. I can hear the Collingwood people shriek their disapproval. That's fine because he's actually contracted so we call the shots.

Spider had it right: Fev needs to get out of Melbourne. He said Sydney was the place to go. I would add Brisbane (but probably not Freo, WCE, PA given their rebuilding or Adel given their forward line.

Brisbane must want a flag before Brown retires (in four years). Brown and Fev are around the same age. Voss might think it's possible, especially with Black and Power also near the end. They could grab a flag in 2010 with Fev and Browny up forward.

Sydney ... been done to death ... reforming full forwards blah blah blah.

What would we be asking?

Brisbane: Bradshaw and Adcock
Sydney: ROK and Hall

Well, you asked!

Brown & Fev teamed well in State of origin and that was make believe football.....For it to work Power & Black need to be on the veterans list...Bradshaw (a premiership player) has family and is well settled..not sure he would want to leave Qld....Adcock is an integral part of the lions future...The only thing close on this deal is Fev's holidaying on the Gold Coast....First person Fev turned to for help was Ed....

If I were Carlton I would be chasing:
Kosi & pick 16
Nathan Brown + pick 14
or
Travis Cloke + pick 14

Might not quite get that but I think it would be tempting
Id assume we would have to throw in a 2nd round pick or another player

The title of this thread is bollocks. Carlton have not said they'll trade him to the saints or hawks only, and he hasn't said he wants to go to either of those clubs.

More to the point, if Hawthorn are as active as is rumoured in trade week, they won't be able to fit him under the cap, and neither will the Saints unless they trade out some players.

Sydney would seem his likely destination, or he's staying at Carlton and they're just trying to scare the heck out of him.

If we had extra dollars available in the cap, we'd do more to keep Lake.

Unless Carlton are going to pay $400k large towards his salary (unlikely) then he wont be a Bulldog.

Speaking of which, what is the chance of a Fevola-Lake swap?

Unlikely I suspect, but just theorising :confused: