AFLW Finals, Week 2 - 2024 AFLW season

Nitpicking again. You are basing your opinion on 1 poor game. Pathetic.
High performance against weak opposition is undermined if you can't beat the best. Sook all you want, but that's how it works. It's no different to the criticisms levelled at Hawthorn.

If Strom is indisputably the premier ruck in the game, she'll win the hitouts against Adelaide/Allan this week, rack up 20+ disposals and not be outmarked or outscored. Otherwise, it will remain disputed.

I'm looking forward to seeing Freo knock off the Pride of South Australia this week then the girls from old brissy the following week! Will Freo ever win an AFLW Premiership? Absolutely! Mens will never win an AFL Premiership.

No, you are nitpicking a particular set of stats and not looking at the players overall contribution. Mim Strom's the AFLW best ruck because she is not only a very good tap ruck but because she plays like an extra midfielder and leads all rucks for disposals, clearances and tackles, no one can match her across the ground.
I wouldn't bother. Everyone reading this knows that Strom is the best ruck. Coaches votes in every game bar 1 while dominating every ruckman bar Allan.

Yeah, dunno about that.

Be interesting to see how she goes this weekend against a confident Port team.
All Rucks are at stoppages of course but they do get played differently around the ground.
Taps to advantage, she’s having her best year and she does have quick hands I think but I don’t think she’s dominated all games or is far and away the best Ruck in the league.
Smash kicks that aren’t a completed pass are clearances so are handballs to another who receives and controls the ball and gets tackled immediately.
Burst from stoppage is the most successful clearance. Not many Rucks do that.

Rucks do seem to stand out more in the womens game I think but R50’s are my fav stat for a Ruck.
Max Gawn has built a career on it.

Yeah, dunno about that.

Be interesting to see how she goes this weekend against a confident Port team.
All Rucks are at stoppages of course but they do get played differently around the ground.
Taps to advantage, she’s having her best year and she does have quick hands I think but I don’t think she’s dominated all games or is far and away the best Ruck in the league.
Smash kicks that aren’t a completed pass are clearances so are handballs to another who receives and controls the ball and gets tackled immediately.
Burst from stoppage is the most successful clearance. Not many Rucks do that.

Rucks do seem to stand out more in the womens game I think but R50’s are my fav stat for a Ruck.
Max Gawn has built a career on it.
AFLW seem to have a greater amount of good rucks and they don't seem to need the years of development that men do. A lot of them Wales x 2, Scholz, Morphett have burst on the scene good to go.

Stat wise she's the only ruck in the top 20 in coaches votes. Got votes in 9 out of 10 games. Dominated the 1st final. Led the league in hitouts which is testament as well to her fitness and how much ground she covers.

Be interested to see how many frees she gets from opposition rucks and I imagine her stats in grabbing the ball out of the air and kicking forward is very high.

There are some young very talented rucks though coming through that are very athletic.

Strom reminds me of Aaron Sandilands. Statistically the best ruck in the comp, but you always kind of feel like there's better rucks?
Of the all the AFLW positions ruck is probably the best for upcoming talent. Plenty of young players dominating games and showing potential to be outstanding talents.

I reckon she's more like a Cox in that she's another midfielder that picks up heaps of possessions.

Players like Scholz or Morphett might evolve into ruck / forwards being potentially very dangerous forward with marking power.

Of the all the AFLW positions ruck is probably the best for upcoming talent. Plenty of young players dominating games and showing potential to be outstanding talents.
Yeah, it’s interesting.
Still the players with natural advantage standing out and first picked.
Maybe it’s inline with the smash kick forward and the “Territory Battle” being so popular.
iIts not as good to watch as possesion chains ending up in a shot at goal because mistakes and skill errors stand out.

Bit off topic but the players caught with the ball that contribute to the momentum of the tackle by trying to kick while being brought to ground….because they know it’s likely a sling tackle will be called.
That’s making the rubbish smash kicks a high percentage choice for the ball carrier.
Shits me

AFLW Finals, Week 2 - 2024 AFLW season