Official Club Stuff Football Department Review and Board update

Is there a risk that if we get a bunch together who are all a bit matey that they don't challenge each other enough?

Eg Ross coaching and SOS as HoF.
SOS and Diesel.
Throw in Ross' mate Steve Rosich who would have to be a chance for CEO.

Are you better off with guys who aren't as close who are perhaps more prepared to give honest feedback?
It would be slightly funny after the drama of the past few years, if SoS as a 'training wheels' HoF formed a boys club with the head coach & long term friend.

Who are we voting for as alternatives MJ?

taking a guess from the Carlton now comedy sh** show… Elliott, Kouta, old mate Vince (who’s upset that in covid times he feels less important without the social events he’d normally be involved in) and I’m guessing a handful of his nuffie mates.

“Phase 1: collect underpants.
Phase 2:….
Phase 3: profit!”

The record of the past 20 years suggested that it's a reasonable time for the entire board to tuck their tails between their legs and resign in shame.
Some of the board members might only be recent appointments but they have been brought in by the current regime. The current board should not be tolerated by the members

Give someone else a go ffs. YOU have been proven to be HOPELESS.

There are many many Carlton supporters capable of running a club better than it is currently done.

A challenge group should be putting themselves up as an interim board to facilitate an overhaul for the top down and to find a functioning structure and board to drive it.

The members should not tolerate having to support the worst performing club in the league. If you are a member and you love your club you should vote for change, any change because no change is clearly proven to result in failure. If its not working, do as your current board would do and tip someone out.

The record of the past 20 years suggested that it's a reasonable time for the entire board to tuck their tails between their legs and resign in shame.
Some of the board members might only be recent appointments but they have been brought in by the current regime. The current board should not be tolerated by the members

There are many many Carlton supporters capable of running a club better than it is currently done.

A challenge group should be putting themselves up as an interim board to facilitate an overhaul for the top down and to find a functioning structure and board to drive it.

The members should not tolerate having to support the worst performing club in the league. If you are a member and you love your club you should vote for change, any change because no change is clearly proven to result in failure. If its not working, do as your current board would do and tip someone out.

Thanks Vince
So tell me, what’s the platform you’re looking to be voted in on?

The board have made a multitude of poor decisions regarding our football department, there's no denying that.

But they should be given the chance to learn from mistakes. 20 years is irrelevant. ALL of these board members have not been on the board for that long.

Let's focus on what's relevant...

Sacking Ratten to bring in Malthouse... hindsight says it was a terrible move.

Sacking Malthouse to bring in Bolton... not a terrible move to sack Mick, bringing Bolton in? Probably not ready to be a head coach.

Sacking Bolton to bring in Teague... again, not a terrible move to sack Bolton, sorry but regardless of circumstances, 3 wins in a season and a half, getting belted by the Giants with 16 fit players, things like that can't be tolerated. Bringing in Teague? Again, probably wasn't ready to be head coach.

Cain Liddle as CEO... that imo was a terrible decision. He came out and said he was going to focus on the club's finances but instead stepped into recruitment and then tarnished a club legend in the process. That liar of a president at the time, couldn't set his love for money aside and show some strength and put Liddle back into his swim lane.

SOS had a plan and backed it to the hilt. He wanted to build a list for sustained success. To tarnish him and say that he would sabotage the draft (and yes I do believe SOS when he says that) is a load of crap.

Now Sayers has taken charge, we've not only sacked a coach but three assistants and 4 board member changes including bringing in Diesel as footy director.

There are even words from the president to the effect that there are no guarantees that people are safe and word from ITKs that Liddle and Lloyd will be gone too eventually.

What more change could you want?

Well, people have been tipped out.

You say we should vote for ANY change. That's not right. Educated change based on what people can bring to the club.

You say there are many Carlton supporters capable of running a club better. Can you name names, tell us their qualifications and abilities, give us a plan maybe?

There is a challenge group who so far are hopelessly out of their depth, who I wouldn't trust with out membership dollars, or to continue our revenue streams and sponsors. It takes more than simply wanting to win and passion to run a club.

If it comes down to the devil we know or a group of fans who reckon they could give it a bash, I'll stay with the devil.

Thanks Vince
So tell me, what’s the platform you’re looking to be voted in on?

They are not answering questions on their facebook page. Nobody has thought any further than the board is bad, we are passionate and we will bring success and pride to the Carlton Football Club.

Honestly, I was expecting free soft drinks in the school canteen and Carlton High rulz to be the next words. Their silence is deafening.

As a Captains Club/Social Club Member for many many years, I will do as I see fit and not be told what I should do.

I will NOT be voting for any change and I have steered clear of the Carlton muppets ,whatever they call themselves.
They refuse to name who is on their 'ticket'. I can only imagine.

That is the sort of thing the Club doesn't need as we are in the process looking to appoint a new coach.

We have a new President (yes I know how long he has been on the Board), 4 new Board Members and IMO they should be given every chance.

Who would they be?

Nobody has been on the board for twenty years and to suggest they are all somehow related is a total nonsense.

AS far as being 'brought in ' by the board, anybody can challenge any of these people at an AGM, some have in recent times and lost. That is the democratic process at work.

Let's just have change for the sake of it, let's not hold anyone seeking election to account by asking them what their actual plan is. What do they see as the specific issues they wish to address? What are the failings of the current board? What, in detail, do you propose to do to remedy the situation?

If you want to cause all this disruption at a time that is already a bit tumultuous, show me why as a member of this club I should allow you to get your hands on MY club? You better have a better answer than 'change'.

If you want to join the board stand for election at an AGM and let the members decide whether they want you then without disrupting everything in the meantime. That is if you are genuinely interested in the health of the club.

If you want to change the composition of the whole board at one time then I'd have to suggest you are clueless and have more interest in personal gain and perceived 'glory' than you do for what is good for the club.

Let's go back to the Elliot days right? This is obviously what you want to return us to, no thanks.

I have no affiliation with any of the current board but you will need to earn my vote and show me that I can trust you before I agree to any major change. Don't talk to me about the past 20 years, tell me what you are going to do to make the next 20 a successful period. Don't play politics with my club when you're obviously ill-equipped to even attempt to do so.

tumblr_oge0omyFru1vbwf2ko1_1280.png

It would be refreshing to hear Sayers acknowledge that the board has made plenty of decisions that have proved unsuccessful over the years, a board with his presence and even before his time... Just put your hand up and acknowledge it. Says a fair bit about his character that he didn't, imo. It is always someone else's fault.

As a Captains Club/Social Club Member for many many years, I will do as I see fit and not be told what I should do.

I will NOT be voting for any change and I have steered clear of the Carlton muppets ,whatever they call themselves.
They refuse to name who is on their 'ticket'. I can only imagine.

That is the sort of thing the Club doesn't need as we are in the process looking to appoint a new coach.

We have a new President (yes I know how long he has been on the Board), 4 new Board Members and IMO they should be given every chance.

Heard Tom Elliot would be on there...

It would be refreshing to hear Sayers acknowledge that the board has made plenty of decisions that have proved unsuccessful over the years, a board with his presence and even before his time... Just put your hand up and acknowledge it. Says a fair bit about his character that he didn't, imo. It is always someone else's fault.
The current Board‘s been in all of 5 mins and already it’s taken affirmative action. Just admit it, even you’re impressed with Luke. You‘re just playing hard to get.

Any change because no change is clearly proven to result in failure.

We just changed half the board.

Any change because no change is clearly proven to result in failure.

We just changed half the board.

Nobody has been on the board for twenty years and to suggest they are all somehow related is a total nonsense.

AS far as being 'brought in ' by the board, anybody can challenge any of these people at an AGM, some have in recent times and lost. That is the democratic process at work.

Let's just have change for the sake of it, let's not hold anyone seeking election to account by asking them what their actual plan is. What do they see as the specific issues they wish to address? What are the failings of the current board? What, in detail, do you propose to do to remedy the situation?

If you want to cause all this disruption at a time that is already a bit tumultuous, show me why as a member of this club I should allow you to get your hands on MY club? You better have a better answer than 'change'.

If you want to join the board stand for election at an AGM and let the members decide whether they want you then without disrupting everything in the meantime. That is if you are genuinely interested in the health of the club.

If you want to change the composition of the whole board at one time then I'd have to suggest you are clueless and have more interest in personal gain and perceived 'glory' than you do for what is good for the club.

Let's go back to the Elliot days right? This is obviously what you want to return us to, no thanks.

I have no affiliation with any of the current board but you will need to earn my vote and show me that I can trust you before I agree to any major change. Don't talk to me about the past 20 years, tell me what you are going to do to make the next 20 a successful period. Don't play politics with my club when you're obviously ill-equipped to even attempt to do so.
Don’t get me wrong, I have no affiliation with the current potential board challenge.

I’m not proposing to run for the board or to tell anyone how the club should be run successfully. I’m not claiming to have those answers.

I think In our heart of hearts we can all see that the board has been doing a terrible job over a long period.

real change takes a lot longer with gradual flushing of boards. The continuity of some board members staying leaves a board with existing senior board members who invariable hold greater sway around the board table for some time.

I’m not suggesting that the keys to the club turned Over to a bunch of nufties, but if the princess hill primary p&f committee were put in charge it would leave it open for a legitimate ticket to challenge without the grubby politics that frankly dissuade excellent candidates from putting their hands up.

there is no need to get personal, if you are more qualified to cast an opinion on here than others, please attach your resume.

Vince is on SEN now, bloke is an absolute clown. Surely we dont have enough members stupid enough to get this bloke up.

Seems to have the support of the Jumper Punch boys. Not sure if that applies to the whole Blue Abroad network or not because I haven't watched the last week.

Official Club Stuff Football Department Review and Board update