Football Related Random Thread - PART 2

My only problem with the welcome to country was that it was the same prerecorded version they have been using for years. Could the AFL not afford to get a new video recorded each year?
Its also hard to hear the voice over - its Shannon Rusca who talks, the lad that played for the Lions i think when we first became the Brisbane Lions?

Media rights deal has been mentioned in the trade thread
But i will put a link up here

The details from the AFL are as follows:

Broadcast live and free nationally on the Seven Network and 7+ digital will be AFL on Thursday nights, Friday nights, selected Saturday nights, Sunday afternoons, Marquee matches, the Brownlow Medal, all AFL Finals and the AFL Grand Final.

• The first 15 rounds of the AFL Premiership Season to feature Thursday night matches on the Seven Network and 7+ digital
  • Saturday night matches in the last eight rounds
  • All marquee matches will be live and free (Dreamtime, Anzac Eve, Anzac Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday and Queen’s Birthday) plus at least three additional marquee matches – such as the season opener and Queen’s Birthday Eve.
  • Broadcast live on Foxtel and Kayo will be every single AFL/AFLW home and away match, every AFL/AFLW final (excluding the AFL Grand Final), all pre-season matches – and all with their own Fox Footy commentary teams. Foxtel/Kayo will also broadcast all AFL events including the AFL draft and Awards nights (excluding the Brownlow).
  • Foxtel/Kayo will own Saturday in the first eight rounds of each AFL season, broadcasting exclusively live all games in all timeslots, which the exception of Anzac Eve, Anzac Day and Dreamtime if they were to fall on a Saturday.

Broadcast live and free nationally on the Seven Network and 7+ digital will be AFL on Thursday nights, Friday nights, selected Saturday nights, Sunday afternoons, Marquee matches, the Brownlow Medal, all AFL Finals and the AFL Grand Final.

• The first 15 rounds of the AFL Premiership Season to feature Thursday night matches on the Seven Network and 7+ digital
  • All marquee matches will be live and free (Dreamtime, Anzac Eve, Anzac Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday and Queen’s Birthday) plus at least three additional marquee matches – such as the season opener and Queen’s Birthday Eve.
  • Broadcast live on Foxtel and Kayo will be every single AFL/AFLW home and away match, every AFL/AFLW final (excluding the AFL Grand Final), all pre-season matches – and all with their own Fox Footy commentary teams. Foxtel/Kayo will also broadcast all AFL events including the AFL draft and Awards nights (excluding the Brownlow).
  • Foxtel/Kayo will own Saturday in the first eight rounds of each AFL season, broadcasting exclusively live all games in all timeslots, which the exception of Anzac Eve, Anzac Day and Dreamtime if they were to fall on a Saturday.

Guessing that is referring to the national broadcasting and Mate will still be showing all the Lions/Suns games in Qld when not in the above listed slots?

• Outside Victoria, the match involving the local team will be broadcast live into the local market on the Seven Network and 7+ digital except for selected matches on holdbacks.
though with this later point, maybe not on Saturdays;

• Foxtel / Kayo will own Saturday in the first eight rounds of each AFL season, broadcasting exclusively live all games in all timeslots, which the exception of Anzac Eve, Anzac Day and Dreamtime if they were to fall on a Saturday.
Am i wrong. or is this the first time we can watch on 7+ digital? I'm guessing this will only be allowed live, will have to go to the afl site for rewatching later

going to be honest i absolutely hate paying for kayo

shithouse service, constantly dropping out, doesnt remember where you are of you exit a video (frequently have to do so if im watching a replay to get it to reload), no timestamps

i only really use it for AFL so the price is extremely frustrating for me as well considering what im paying for with the service you get

the fact you can get a netflix subscription for less than half the price each month of a Kayo subscription is outrageous

more games on that horrible platform can only be a bad thing fmpov and i think within 2-3 years of this deal the streaming market will have become more competitive and afl house will realise that this provider sucks

I think AFL share your views

• We acknowledge Foxtel’s investment in Kayo to bring the leading sports streaming product to all Australians – and we are witnessing the growth every week.
lets hope that growth... grows faster.

Not sure it is stating that in the article for SEQ
However that has previously been the case so hope it stays the same
The agreement is most likely very long winded and they have just released the basics
I think the AFL would still like to get maximum coverage into the Rugby League States of Qld and NSW

shithouse service, constantly dropping out, doesnt remember where you are of you exit a video (frequently have to do so if im watching a replay to get it to reload), no timestamps

i only really use it for AFL so the price is extremely frustrating for me as well considering what im paying for with the service you get

the fact you can get a netflix subscription for less than half the price each month of a Kayo subscription is outrageous

more games on that horrible platform can only be a bad thing fmpov and i think within 2-3 years of this deal the streaming market will have become more competitive and afl house will realise that this provider sucks
I've been using the AFL official streaming service since 2011 and it has always been dogshit. It was also noticeably worsemaybe 5 years ago when going from a Melbourne game (zero drop outs) to a Brisbane game (buffering every 10mins). Used to drive me crazy.

Besides the price, my only complaint with Kayo has been the stupid tagging of Goals and Behinds on the video tracker. Besides never wanting to see that information there ever, it's also infuriating when you are trying to watch a delayed game, and the tracker messes up and you see all the scores before you start watching.

That and when you start the game "from start" but the first frame is the "from live" one.

I like the Kayo...get thru my monthly telsta account $15....start watching a game 30 mins after start then just fast forward thru breaks.

I've been using the AFL official streaming service since 2011 and it has always been dogshit. It was also noticeably worsemaybe 5 years ago when going from a Melbourne game (zero drop outs) to a Brisbane game (buffering every 10mins). Used to drive me crazy.

Besides the price, my only complaint with Kayo has been the stupid tagging of Goals and Behinds on the video tracker. Besides never wanting to see that information there ever, it's also infuriating when you are trying to watch a delayed game, and the tracker messes up and you see all the scores before you start watching.

That and when you start the game "from start" but the first frame is the "from live" one.
you can turn off the goal tracker.
I do if I watch from behind. Or spend longer at a break then the break is
on desktop you can toggle on and off. Another toggle on phone app.
I also if late to a game do not look at the top half of screen as it shows the scores :)
Eyes down

I do use it if I watching a neutral game and turn in late to go through the goals before I started watching.
Just have to hit the back button a few times to watch the play leading up to it.
Or re watch some of the goals

1662502297956.png

305997079_3261772104081654_4697854450513184284_n.jpg

The Queen meeting Fitzroy players in 1970. RIP.

Apparently quite premmie so it's fantastic to hear everyone's alright :heart:

good news all is well.
My twins where 8 weeks early normally they will stay in hospital to roughly when they where due out.
Joe's wife will need a bit of support as it be a scary time. Depends where bub is Special Care or NICU
My wife works in NICU so was interesting for her being the mum instead of nurse.
We already had a good understanding what went on. Although still was a hard time.
Be as said super scary when it is your first

good news all is well.
My twins where 8 weeks early normally they will stay in hospital to roughly when they where due out.
Joe's wife will need a bit of support as it be a scary time. Depends where bub is Special Care or NICU
My wife works in NICU so was interesting for her being the mum instead of nurse.
We already had a good understanding what went on. Although still was a hard time.
Be as said super scary when it is your first
Same here but not twins. Six or so weeks early and was released form hospital a week later when he regained his birth weight (2 kg!). Nearly 18 now, about to finish school and very tall! Time flies.

Would need a month of showers if I looked at their site, but I assume it will be a handful of games at most while the women's World cup is on during July-August next year.

Maybe Broncos just threatening to go to the Gabba because of new Redcliffe teams fixture
However it does look like they will need another venue
You would think they would travel to the GC for that period along with some fixture adjustments
The Gabba most likely would prefer the revenue for these two months. But how many Broncos supporters would attend

"New NRL franchise the Dolphins will play seven games at Suncorp Stadium next year and the family of rugby league Immortal Arthur Beetson is behind a push for the round-one clash to be against the Sydney Roosters at the venue."
"We think there is enough appetite in the rugby league community to support two clubs in Brisbane and we think the Dolphins are going to generate a lot of support here," Graham said.

Graham confirmed the stadium would be quarantined for the FIFA Women's World Cup in July and August next year where the playing surface would only be available to teams playing in the tournament.
That will pose a logistical challenge for the NRL with the draw, but playing into the Dolphins hands is that they will host three games next year at Moreton Daily Stadium in Redcliffe.

Football Related Random Thread - PART 2