Roast Footy Fan Bashed At The MCG

Re: Footy fan bashed at MCG

This just isn't the case.

I think way too many people have been sucked in by movies and television as to what jumping in actually means and what happens in these situations. In particular, we've been taught that they guy trying to break it up is "neutral" and won't be set upon by either side. This just isn't true. And we're not talking about a black eye or even a broken nose, you could well end up with an irreparably scarred face, stab wounds or brain damage.

I had this chat as a teenager with a guy a few years older who more than knew how to take care of himself. He basically said: look, it's a great thing to want to help out...but if you're going to jump in, you do so with the understanding that an attempt at making peace will often fail. And if it fails, you better be prepared to go all out, whether that means throwing an elbow to the face or snapping fingers or whatever else. And if you do go all out, you better be prepared to face criminal court and possibly even prison time, because good samaritans aren't immune to the trappings of the Law.

All of which is to say, if you see someone being set upon, call the police, call for help, but keep a safe distance. And if you do want to jump in, make sure you really understand what that may involve.

Bingo, this was what my point above was essentially. If by stepping in it's only going to result in you getting beat up as well, it achieves little.

Absolutely disgusting behavior.

I really hope Eddie and Pert get on the front foot by coming out in the media to say, Collingwood does not accept this behavior and anyone who wants to tarnish our clubs name don't bother turning up to the games.

I know this would never happen but I would really like the AFL to trial an alcohol free round. They could market as a family friendly weekend. At the very least anyone who is under the influence of alcohol should not be allowed in the ground.

Andy D wants this to be be a family sport. How can it be when we have these lowlifes going to the football intimidating everyone.

It has nothing to do with the color of the jumper, you're absolutely right. Although this was the media example - I saw for myself a Carlton following idiot knock that pregnant lady over and then have the cheek to call her a feral Collingwood fan.... That disgusted me as much as this did.

Andy D wants this to be be a family sport. How can it be when we have these lowlifes going to the football intimidating everyone.

The AFL want the code to be portrayed as a family sport. Then on the other hand the AFL doesn't do nearly enough to promote it as such. It goes so much further than talking about it. In this regard the AFL is full of hot air.

In all seriousness, the way the AFL is going "family sport" will soon be just another week just like "ladies week" amongst others.

Throw the Auskick kids onto the ground, have face painters, etc, etc. around the ground. Label it a family sport. Wham, the AFL is done. Disappointing.

Its funny how quick, not just on this board but other threads regarding the same issue that the topic of ferals of clubs comes up.

Unlike Adeliede and Port where just about 90% of the state follows ethier teams, how many people who follow Collingwood live in Collingwood, Carlton live in Carlton ect?.

The fact a man decides one day to follow Collingwood for no other reason than maybe the colour of the jumper or how well established they are ect.. apparently makes them a toothless, commission house living, feral without regard to the law, same goes with all the other stereotypes for other clubs.

I wonder if people were more lenient because it was someone from their club?

Just funny how some people are so quick to label a a group of supporters simply because of something as silly as the club they follow.

Seen plenty of footy violence over the years. Can't believe nobody stepped up. Years ago I went to Collingwood v Essendon at the G with a group that was mixed between both sets of supporters and a few neutrals. Few blokes of this type went at a couple of the essendon boys (fairly unprovoked, few jokes between mates, nothing out of hand at all) and it was actually a couple of older Collingwood supporters that stood in and helped us out (not surprisingly security was nowhere to be seen). Posted in this thread because the one on the main board is just turning into a bash Collingwood thread, and as much as you guys have your fair share of trouble makers every club has them.

Also really hating the alcohol excuse, morons are morons, they don't need grog to behave like tools

no way:eek:would never have guessed that.not even gonna get involved in the main board thread.will end up getting a red card and i'd prefer to be around here while we are winning games.

Its funny how quick, not just on this board but other threads regarding the same issue that the topic of ferals of clubs comes up.

Unlike Adeliede and Port where just about 90% of the state follows ethier teams, how many people who follow Collingwood live in Collingwood, Carlton live in Carlton ect?.

The fact a man decides one day to follow Collingwood for no other reason than maybe the colour of the jumper or how well established they are ect.. apparently makes them a toothless, commission house living, feral without regard to the law, same goes with all the other stereotypes for other clubs.

Just funny how some people are so quick to label a a group of supporters simply because of something as silly as the club they follow.

This. Absolutely fantastic post.

The AFL want the code to be portrayed as a family sport. Then on the other hand the AFL doesn't do nearly enough to promote it as such. It goes so much further than talking about it. In this regard the AFL is full of hot air.

In all seriousness, the way the AFL is going "family sport" will soon be just another week just like "ladies week" amongst others.

Throw the Auskick kids onto the ground, have face painters, etc, etc. around the ground. Label it a family sport. Wham, the AFL is done. Disappointing.
I agree with that.

It is disappointing that the rest of us are getting stereotyped (this goes for any club) because of these "supporters".

I for one know, I didn't make a list of pros and cons as a child when I chose Collingwood (probably my family influenced my "decision"). I didn't take a test to see which club suited me.
No It's just who I've always barracked for and I'm sick of Collingwood being judged by these idiots.

Yer every supporter base has its idiots, but the fact that you have so many supporters increases the number of the idiots that will do the wrong thing and reinforce the sterotype.

Hence why you dont see many Bulldogs/Footscray people making a bad name for their club...simply because they have a 1/4 of the support in the community as you.

This is exactly right. I hate the reason people give for hating a club, Collingwood in particular, "their supporters are feral". I have never been in trouble with the law, and neither has my family, all of which support Collingwood. As far as I'm concerned, I'm not feral and neither are my family. We are passionate Collingwood supporters, but we never go around acting like thugs at the footy, starting fights or any other crap that our clubs supporters supposedly do.

Idiots like these people enforce a stereotype and, as a result, ruin our image as a club. People need to realise that when you go to the footy, not only are the players representing the club, but WE are also representing the club. If you act like a w***er at the footy, then you are giving the club and its supporters a bad name. I usually don't care about what people think of our club, but this kind of stuff just pisses me off. There is no excuse for this crap.

Every club has ferals; I just get sick of our club being labelled feral just because some of our supporters are.

Ferals are ferals, regardless of who they support.

Absolutely sickened by the news of this... wish all the best to the victim and his family and hope he recovers quickly. Hope the perpetrators are caught quickly and put away.

As a Collingwood supporter, I'd like to see the club take a really strong stand on this - help with education campaigns, maybe do something at the next Carl-Coll game to show solidarity against violence (like have the teams run out together). Am sure there are other ideas out there.

It's not going to change anything for the poor guy who was the victim here, but I think clubs can have a positive effect if they try.

Absolutely sickened by the news of this... wish all the best to the victim and his family and hope he recovers quickly. Hope the perpetrators are caught quickly and put away.

As a Collingwood supporter, I'd like to see the club take a really strong stand on this - help with education campaigns, maybe do something at the next Carl-Coll game to show solidarity against violence (like have the teams run out together). Am sure there are other ideas out there.

It's not going to change anything for the poor guy who was the victim here, but I think clubs can have a positive effect if they try.
Not a bad idea Coll, I for one despise the Blues jumper and would normally bitterly oppose any suggestion of solidarity. But something must be done to stamp this sh1t you permanently - perhaps "The Peter McCallum friendship cup" or some other joint initiative.
The ferals must be put in their place and I'm certainly willing to put aside my antipathy of all things navy blue and hold out my hand in friendship.

Great post. Sure Collingwood the suburb is a scummy area but most of the fans live in other surbubs. I can understand all the crap we cop as fans and it doesnt really bother me because I am not on the doll, I am at uni and have a job. But going back to those Collingwood ferals, I hope they are not members of the club but if they are, ban them for life. You dont go knocking out blokes becuase of the footy team they go for.

It was mentioned earlier about hating alcohol being used as an excuse, I agree in part as the fire is already there but it is no doubt alcohol adds fuel to this fire.

I wonder what would happen if responsable service of was policed more heavily. I know myself personally have drunk more then I should from time to time and have never once been cut off from a bar. The only time I was kicked out off a night club was when I passed out on the table, a little bit late if I was at that stage.

Well Im going to be smacked over the head by the older folk, but it provides discussion.

How easy it is to get beer is ridicolous, even now I look fairly young and never get asked for i.d.

This might be going off topic, but when I was even 15 or 16 me and all my Xavier mates would regular go and get beer at games... sometimes the oldest looking one just paying for it at the counter and other times he just grabbed it left some money on the side and walked out with it, as simple as that.

Dont ask why we did it, we were young and stupid.

It was ridicolous how accessible it was, so if I could do it as a 15 year old private school boy sometimes still in blazer I wonder how easy it must be for blokes to keep their mouth shut (if they are completey drunk) and just pay for the beer and walk out.

In 2003 I was king hit in a standing room section after we beat one of our rivals in a close game. It started an all in brawl, cops involved and all. I was left dazed and dizzy but could of been a lot worse. Thankfully I had mates who protected me during the brawl.

I was a pretty skinny 19 at the time, and not drunk as I was working that night. Neither I, or my mates, had done anything to provoke the attack during the game. The bloke that king hit me was in his late thirties and at least twice my size.

Pretty sure nothing ever came of it, but the cops did look after me at the time.

This is the only time I've encountered serious violence at the footy and I've been going for most of my life. I've seen pushing and shoving, stupid banter and abuse but nothing like this.

Sadly though, having worked in hospitality for many years now, the trend towards violence is not over hyped in the media, it is there for all to see. I'm not surprised something like what happened on Friday night occurred, and I sadly think it will happen more often.

Thankfully for the most part most football followers are level headed. But it only takes a handful to ruin what we have.

I hope the man recovers well and I hope those responsible are caught and dealt more than a slap on the wrist.

The anti-collingwood vibe in the main board thread is over the top atm.

My prayers to the Blues guy who was set upon.

Someone mentioned having a alcohol-free round. That could be interesting, but will never happen because of the $$$$$$ the AFL will miss out on or have to compensate alcohol for loss of income.

Another poster mentioned how scared kids get when witnessing yelling, swearing and at times, physical violence whilst watching a footy match.
Today at the Dees / Lions game, 3 Dees supporters (who weren't drinking) were over-the-top (including a lot of swearing) with their verbal attacks on the Dee players, the Lions players and the umps.
Quite a few families were there and some kids were actually crying due to these ******* antics.
They were told to calm down by a few of us (including me), but continued with the antics. MCG staff told them to quieten down and ONLY then did they behave.

So it isn't always alcohol that causes these issues, just idiots with small brains.

Another thing about the incident is that you're talking about 5 guys or so out of a crowd of 90,000, yet they give the entire club a bad reputation. Sure there would be more idiots at the crwod but you're still probably talking about 1 in every 1,000 or something that cause problems. It's a small number but enough for people to remember.

Is the fan confrontations typically a big deal with violence at AFL matches? I was in Australia about a year ago, got really into the sport, hooked on me I still follow it at home, but I remember being over their I chose the Pies to follow (Beginning of 2010, weird luck, even when a fellow in melbourne told me not to, as the pies "are the biggest fail team in the AFL" haha), and I remember wearing my jersey around and no matter where I went people would shout at me, call me "bogan" (Which I later found out was an insult, but imagine a new Canadian confused as to what the hell he's being yelled at for), but my point is most of the time I couldn't tell the intentions of the hecklers. I'm not going to say here in Canada there's no fan violence, hockey being the main one, but it seemed like it wasn't a fun heckling experience, it was more a legitimate hatred. Here you poke fun say yeah, your team is shit, and have a good laugh, but over there it was a whole new experience. Guess I'm just wondering is are these acts a regular occurrence? Or just a bunch of losers who can't handle their alcohol and a rare, isolated incident? Upsetting to hear about it, ruins the game when you take rivalries too far. Hope the family is able to recover quick and still be able to go to games without worrying about people around them.

The article didnt state what teams these bozos followed it could be non collingwood or carlton supporters. Also most people follow clubs like collingwood carlton by following their parents. My dad came from Greece and followed collingwood cause he lived there. I hope this guy has a full and speedy recovery and i applaud him for going to the aid of the 2 elderly ladies.

Digusting act, and I really hope these guys were just bandwagon supporters and not members of our great club. Stuff like this really damages the reputation the rest of us try to build. Hopefully the police come down on them and treat them to the full extent of the law (knowing this won't happen, would love to see the MCG ban them for life and Collingwood ban them from any form of membership.)

As much as this frustrates me as a supporter of the club and how I have outlined the points above, the bigger issue is how this once again demonstrates the alcohol fuelled violence culture of Melbourne. Most of us can go out and overindulge on drinks and then you get clowns like this this not only verbally harass vulnerable people, but also physically assault a person trying to help these people.

As a passionate Magpie I would love to apologise on behalf of our club.

Mate no need for you to apologize!
This goes beyond the Car v Coll tribal rivalry.I hate the pies as much as anyone but to bash a supporter at the footy in front of his kids,now that is a special group of individuals!
Forget the bans from the footy,give them 10 years gaol each and lets see how many pea-hearts think about bashing people again!

As I said this goes beyond the club rivalry thing,and as for the onlookers ,I cant imagine how they might be feeling today!!

Bunch of w@nkers. Most likely band wagoners.
I go every week and I have 3 kids with me.
The last think I would want is pricks like that attacking me for no reason.
I along with the rest of my family are AFL Members and most people in that section are well behaved. I go to matches because I enjoy the game. I hate Carlton, but would never physically attack another supporter.
I would have these pricks locked up and banned for life from attending another match.

My thoughts exactly mate!
I have my 5 y.o. with me most games and I dont know what I'd do if I was attacked in front of the little bloke and no one stepped in or at least called the police. Can you imagine the effect on the kids???

I was there when that happened and it is NOT what happened. I don't know what I am allowed to say On here but there were no elderly people involved.[/QUOTE]

You're allowed to tell your version of events.

Roast Footy Fan Bashed At The MCG