Frawley to Join Hawks. (Pick 3 to the Dees)

Do Hawthorn pay their players in peanuts? Surely a team cannot have all these gun players and then have even more room in the salary cap to poach other players. I get it that they have traded and not used free agency for players such as Burgoyne, Mcevoy, Lake etc. but they still have to PAY them. I also get they lost Franklin which freed up room but even when he was in the side they were chock full of stars.

I cannot fathom how we hear so often that teams are under intense salary cap pressure yet Hathorn never seems to be one of them, please tell me that they are currently under the salary cap with players like Hodge, Mitchell, Rioli, Burgoyne, Mcevoy, Lake, Gunston, Breust, Gibson, Lewis just to name a few...

Picks 18 and 26. Barely on the level of what posters are arguing about here.

Stop making the mistake of thinking that because we managed to develop a pick 18 and pick 26 well that we have been overly compensated for it. Would you make the same post if we took James Strauss and Jayden Pitt?

And Fraser McInnes hasn't even played a single game.
Didn't say you were overly compensated, acknowledged that you picked well and developed well. But you got picks ahead of all other teams two years after you had won the flag. Your OP listed all the compensation that Melbourne had been issued (multiple priority picks) as a reason for why this was not reasonable. Hawthorn, Carlton, Collingwood all had priority pick and so did WCE. If you are going to raise a point you should acknowledge that you have not be excluded in the process. That is all.

Picks 18 and 26. Barely on the level of what posters are arguing about here.

Stop making the mistake of thinking that because we managed to develop a pick 18 and pick 26 well that we have been overly compensated for it. Would you make the same post if we took James Strauss and Jayden Pitt?

And Fraser McInnes hasn't even played a single game.

Fraser McInnes was taken with the pick we got for Ebert too.:confused:

going by what most on here beleive, frawley is massively over-rated and not worth that much anyway....
Yep, only those ignorant, idiotic list managers from three of the four best teams who offered him over $650k a year for 4 years have no idea. The ones who have netted three out of the last four premierships. The ones who get lauded for their culture and their smarts. But BF posters, including me, we know know his true worth.

Lol pick 3 for Frawley is highway robbery.
Another charity gift.
Oh well Melbourne are just as likely to screw it up.

You clearly fail to grasp the definition of "charity" - here's a clue, when everyone else is bound by the same rules that have been applied to you it's not charity, it's equality.

The #3 pick for Frawley is ridiculous. The AFL has said the compensation is tied to the length of the contract and age... Well then why the **** did Geelong and Hawthorn not receive better compensation for Ablett and Buddy?! Did I miss something? When did the rules change?

Ablett did not leave as a Free Agent, it was a different system with different compensation AND you received two frist round picks.

Hawthorn received exactly the same comp for Franklin as we got for Frawley, Tier 1 compensation.

Hawks get pick 19 for a once in a generation player on the biggest contract in football history and melbourne get pick 3 for Frawley.

This is a priority pick by stealth.
Was my thought too

I feel like the AFL said "well give you a PP, but, you'll need to lose someone to cover it up"

That's like saying Melbourne finished in the exact same position as Hawthorn this year, top 18.

Actually it's exactly nothing like that whatsoever.

Why are Hawthorn supporters of all people getting their panties in a twist over this? You just went back to back for ****s sake and took one of the best young key defenders in the comp for nothing strengthening your chances of three-peating next year. Are you now so bored of winning that you can't even enjoy it, just bitch and moan about a club who has been on it's knees for the last 7 years getting an extra early draft pick as compensation?

Don't worry if we draft a kid at 3 who actually turns out to be any good you can just take him for nothing again in another 6 or 8 years and we can repeat the dance all over again.

Not sure why people are complaining
there's some serious overrating of draft picks going on
Melbourne getting pick 3 for losing one of their last decent players is easily fair..pick 3 could be a dud...
whilst the team whose been in the last 3 gf's shores up their team even more for free..
i'd be way more concerned about hawthorn then melbourne.

Draft picks are so over-rated in our sport it's not funny. Look at some of the top 10 hell even top 3 picks over the last 10-15 years who have turned out to be either busts or just good average players. The chances of picking up a Judd at 3 are once in a generation.

Fair point - but think hawks fans don't like being told free agency favours us when we received pick 19 for the best forward of the last 15 years.

So far we have lost out of free agency more than any club. We've had a good gain on Frawley and we were good enough to win a flag without franklin but it doesn't mean getting pick 19 for one of the clubs greatest ever players doesn't piss me off.

Seeing far lesser players get much higher picks makes no sense. The system is ridiculous.

Free agency stinks. For the rich clubs, the poor clubs, the successful clubs and the struggling clubs.

Hawthorn have done well out of great drafting, trading and above all development. But we are still well down when it comes to free agency. No other club lost the player we did for nothing.

All the whining in here is unbelievable. Melbourne don't "deserve" pick 3?

I'd say the premiers don't deserve to be able to take an All Australian key defender entering his prime without giving anything up.

I'd say the team that lost to the premiers don't deserve to take the best midfielder in this year's draft for pick 17.

Every team gets handouts in different ways, so stop ******* whining.

It's fair dinkum unbelievable isn't it mate. Only people who have any reason to be annoyed are Footscray supporters, maybe Carlton and Brisbane to a lesser extent but the rest of them, bloody hell.

Actually it's exactly nothing like that whatsoever.

Why are Hawthorn supporters of all people getting their panties in a twist over this? You just went back to back for ****s sake and took one of the best young key defenders in the comp for nothing strengthening your chances of three-peating next year. Are you now so bored of winning that you can't even enjoy it, just bitch and moan about a club who has been on it's knees for the last 7 years getting an extra early draft pick as compensation?

Don't worry if we draft a kid at 3 who actually turns out to be any good you can just take him for nothing again in another 6 or 8 years and we can repeat the dance all over again.
I'm not 'getting my panties in a twist' and I'm not 'bitching and moaning', they are the rules, the Demons need all the help they can get, good luck to them and good luck to Frawley. I wish the Demons success. I was just pointing out the ridiculous nature of the statements some people are making that the Demons got the same compensation for Frawley that the Hawks did for Buddy.

Fair point - but think hawks fans don't like being told free agency favours us when we received pick 19 for the best forward of the last 15 years.

So far we have lost out of free agency more than any club. We've had a good gain on Frawley and we were good enough to win a flag without franklin but it doesn't mean getting pick 19 for one of the clubs greatest ever players doesn't piss me off.

Seeing far lesser players get much higher picks makes no sense. The system is ridiculous.

Free agency stinks. For the rich clubs, the poor clubs, the successful clubs and the struggling clubs.

Hawthorn have done well out of great drafting, trading and above all development. But we are still well down when it comes to free agency. No other club lost the player we did for nothing.

The system, like everything the AFL does, is a half-arsed concoction brought in without too much thought or planning to appease an interest group/key stakeholder.

Having said that for all the pain Hawks are in over losing Buddy, you still went on to win the flag the very next year and got to rub it in his face on GF day.

The best forward in the last 15 years was only at Hawthorn because they got a priority pick in 2004. Every now and then the rules fall your way. And, yes you used both of them well, and he was great, and you brought him on a treat and Clarkson is a genius. But it is a bit of luck you got him. He won two flags for you and brought you great joy for nine years. You got a lot for that pick.

Do Hawthorn pay their players in peanuts? Surely a team cannot have all these gun players and then have even more room in the salary cap to poach other players. I get it that they have traded and not used free agency for players such as Burgoyne, Mcevoy, Lake etc. but they still have to PAY them. I also get they lost Franklin which freed up room but even when he was in the side they were chock full of stars.

I cannot fathom how we hear so often that teams are under intense salary cap pressure yet Hathorn never seems to be one of them, please tell me that they are currently under the salary cap with players like Hodge, Mitchell, Rioli, Burgoyne, Mcevoy, Lake, Gunston, Breust, Gibson, Lewis just to name a few...

AFL needs to make player salaries public to have any semblance of transparency, especially with FA and a history of salary cap rorts across the league.

I'm not 'getting my panties in a twist' and I'm not 'bitching and moaning', they are the rules, the Demons need all the help they can get, good luck to them and good luck to Frawley. I wish the Demons success. I was just pointing out the ridiculous nature of the statements some people are making that the Demons got the same compensation for Frawley that the Hawks did for Buddy.

This thread is overly populated with Hawthorn supporters and I don't get it. If Melbourne had just won the flag a week ago I'd still be celebrating and have the DVD on 24 hour loop.

I get that.
But there was going to an anomaly of some sort here, a crap team losing one of their best for pick 20, or them getting overs in pick 3. Someone had to eat the sh*t sandwich and the AFL decided to cut it up and feed it to Dogs, Lions, Blues etc.

I think you misunderstand. The anomaly is that Franklin's deal is significantly larger than many other players who are considered tier 1. Which team got screwed is irrelevant. The fact is that the AFL have the power to give a special compensation at their discretion if there is an anomalous result. There is no way that Franklin and Frawley being worth the same tier of compensation is not anomalous.

There were two options that the AFL should have taken:
1. Define tier 1 as contracts around the same size as Franklin, meaning Frawley, Thomas, etc. were all considered lower tiers
2. Use their powers to give Hawthorn a compensation that is more realistic in terms of compo vs contract size/length (as they have the power to do)

The fact is that they consider a 9 year, 10 million dollar deal as a similar deal to a 4-5 year 2-3 million dollar deal. Anyone with even the slightest level of intelligence can see that this is an anomalous result.

Frawley to Join Hawks. (Pick 3 to the Dees)