Free Agency

Oct 8, 2011
Hobart
Tasmania
Our recruiting department have mentioned on several occassions that they are "preparing for free agency". I wonder if this means we are just going to protect the players we have (starting with Lids) or are we actually gonna go out and nab someone from another club?

If we were to target a player, I don't think they would be from any draft earlier than 2004 (Lids' draft), and I don't think we'd go for a high profile player like Goddard.

I've gone through the 2004 draft and one player caught my eye who I think we could target.

Chris Knights

He is out of contract at the end of next year and he would fill a need as a HFF and add to our midfield rotations. I also remember us being interested in him in 2010.

I think we were looking at Knights last year but couldn't get the trade done or he resigned, not sure.
Not much to pick from in the 2004 draft, it was a shocker
Will be interesting to see who they target

2004 dRaft would be the latest we could target as the player would have had to be at their club for 8 years to qualify for free agency, also you are only likely to get someone from a club under salary cap pressure as the players current club has the option of matching the salary offered.

You probably have to target a second tier player from a top 4 club, maybe someone like a Jordan Russell, or Leigh montagna?!?!

Hard to say how it will play out.

Free agency, i'd target Goddard. I dunno who else would qualify. Montagna or maybe a Milne type as well? We'll see i guess.

Going to be interesting to see if we can lure a big name. Last I read us and Melbourne were the only teams with significant cap space, and a mate of mine who worked at the AFL said they will be not allowing "Judd" type deals. So the AFL may well be looking at putting their own price tags on players who look to move using the free agency situation.

Free Agency? - I would be targeting NicNat with all guns blazing. Get him back to the big smoke and in yellow and black. His brand needs him to be in Melbourne and in front of a roaring tiger army. ;)

To sign an 8year player in FA we would have to better the deal of their current club. The good news about this is unless Lids is offered something ridiculously stupid then he can't be 'taken' for at least another 2 years (at 10 years a player can go to the club of their choice for any offer). The bad news, or downside is that if we're going for that 'big fish' and looking at an 8 year player so they better suit the age of our playing group, they're going to cost an arm and a leg probably.

I think we are going to be active in free agency, not sure if that means going out for a big name or some solid players like Knights- but the club have mentioned it for some time. It actually reminds me of how we got Grigg and Houli, two years ago we thought ahead, chatted to them, convinced them to leave their clubs even though by seasons end both could hve been happy to stay, all because we planned ahead.

signing a super star might be a stretch, but signing a very good player who is maybe 6th or 7th best player on their clubs list and not getting what they deserve because of salary cap pressure could be an option.

ruckman, small forward or inside mid.

I posted about this in Y+B a couple of weeks ago and the one player who keeps coming to mind is Goddard. He ticks all the boxes for me. He would still only be 28 entering the 2013 season and given he's managed to stay reasonably injury free over his career, he'll be a young 28 rather than a battered, broken 28.

He ticks every box: you can send him forward where he can play tall or small, send him back or throw him in the middle.

He is also at a club where he has given everything but may feel haven't given the same amount back. And he's a good Gippsland boy. Ticks every box.

It may be up to the Tigers to make the 8 this year to prove to him, and every other Free Agency target that we are finally a club worth coming to with an expectation of success. If the Tigers have properly prepared their list strategy and front loaded contracts of all key players, the Tigers could be gunning for a flag in 2013/14/15. Improbable? Before I fully understood Free Agency I would have said impossible. Not so anymore.

I was a Tiger sceptic like many of you out there (with a healthy dose of delusional Tiger - Ben Cousins taking us to finals anyone?!). It's too hard to ignore our past but the more I look at our future, the more optimistic I become. And as jko'neal said, it's probably only us and Melb who are primed salary cap wise to target big names.

Deledio will stay. I'm very confident of that. He's been saying all the right things and I cant help but feel that there is a steely resolve that has formed over a large amount of this group that is growing and growing in the same vein as what has happened at Geelong, Brisbane + Collingwood where blokes simply didn't consider moving clubs no matter what the money. Ablett with 2 flags in his pocket could be excused. Dustin Martin is a perfect example of that. He could have easily did what Scully did and put of contract talks also and lets be honest, when you're trying to crack the 'tough as guts' rugby market, who would you rather sign as your marquee player: a bloke who looks and plays like he's ready to go to war or a guy who looks like he's ready to go to church? He probably would have commanded the same money as Scully. But he stayed. Deledio will too....

Good post Fargo...I can't bloody wait for Free Agency!

Agree 100% on Goddard. Everyone else from that draft is plod and from earlier drafts they're getting a bit old.

On the footy show when they quized him about GWS I think he suggested (or said) that he wanted a premiership, more so than money. The way he said it suggested he didn't just mean a flag at the Saints.

2012 might be seen as one last crack for the Saints and if they fail or fall in a heap he might be looking for emerging clubs that will give him a chance over his last 5 years.

Making the finals is pretty important next year in terms of free agency.

Agree 100% on Goddard. Everyone else from that draft is plod and from earlier drafts they're getting a bit old.

On the footy show when they quized him about GWS I think he suggested (or said) that he wanted a premiership, more so than money. The way he said it suggested he didn't just mean a flag at the Saints.

2012 might be seen as one last crack for the Saints and if they fail or fall in a heap he might be looking for emerging clubs that will give him a chance over his last 5 years.

My money's on Goddard heading to Carlton. I don't think he'll come to us as we aren't a top 4 club and I think he wants to win a premiership sooner rather than later. I also think 28 is too old for us.

Carlton is the other team that springs to mind when Goddard is mentioned for me also. I think he supported them when he was a kid also? I don't like the Saints chances of keeping him either way.

I don't think he's too old for the Tigers though and I'm not sure the Blues will be able to fit him into their salary cap (I certainly hope they can't). We wont be a top 4 team next year but I think if we improve enough to make finals and preferably win one, it will be enough to show players like Goddard a window to our future. Don't forget the allure of playing in front of the Tiger Army!

relax lids is going nowhere. he wont go to an existing club as we would be able to match money with our low cap. gws is the only chance but i just cant see him going there for another 4 years at the bottom.

I agree 100% with that.

Big component in whether we can prosper under the system along with our available funds and cap.

Guys like Grigg and Houli are happy to take the bigger money and guaranteed spot in the team but its about time we addressed why guys like Carey and Judd have straight out dismissed with "Dont Bother"

Carlton is the other team that springs to mind when Goddard is mentioned for me also. I think he supported them when he was a kid also? I don't like the Saints chances of keeping him either way.

I don't think he's too old for the Tigers though and I'm not sure the Blues will be able to fit him into their salary cap (I certainly hope they can't). We wont be a top 4 team next year but I think if we improve enough to make finals and preferably win one, it will be enough to show players like Goddard a window to our future. Don't forget the allure of playing in front of the Tiger Army!
Free Agency will make the pot very interesting next October.

Next year's climate is one of the primary reasons that Carlton did nothing during this years Trade Week (in order to free up money for next year). The word around the traps was that we had enough money at the time to accommodate for Goddards salary this season (approx 600k, if you believe some of those in the know), yet we were waiting for Brock Mcleans salary (400,000) to be scrapped from the books in order to bump up that figure.

I have a strange feeling Goddard and Deledio (due to both their ages and backgrounds) will be targeted by us. Not saying that either would join us, but it will certainly make for an interesting scenario.

Free Agency will make the pot very interesting next October.

Next year's climate is one of the primary reasons that Carlton did nothing during this years Trade Week (in order to free up money for next year). The word around the traps was that we had enough money at the time to accommodate for Goddards salary this season (approx 600k, if you believe some of those in the know), yet we were waiting for Brock Mcleans salary (400,000) to be scrapped from the books in order to bump up that figure.

I have a strange feeling Goddard and Deledio (due to both their ages and backgrounds) will be targeted by us. Not saying that either would join us, but it will certainly make for an interesting scenario.

Yeah, at least with the Tigers, we are still paying minimum. Can definately see Delidio recieving a bucket load of offers. I have this weird vibe of trade wars like the 80's making a cameo again. And i think your right on your numbers about Goddard. I'm tipping $800k for BJ. And if you guys can back up again this year with a relatively successful season, I reckon it will be enough to get him over the line (and i reckon Collingwood will have a decent crack at Lids. GWS may have some unfinished business).

Deledios old man played for Carlton and I would think both the Blues and Essendon would be the major two concerns.

I don't think there will be much on offer free agency wise in 2012 and we are better off keeping our list together and waiting until 2013/2014. Obviously if someone comes along that is a good player pull the trigger but it actually seems like other than Goddard it's pretty bare.

Carlton may target both Lids & Goddard but they'll only be able to get one of them
Goddard is a more likely target given he wants to win a flag before he retires, he won't do it with StKilda or GWS

Lids is still only 24 so has time on his side with a Richmond team that is on the verge of pushing for finals already, can't see him wanting to start at the bottom all over again with GWS given we can probably pay him as much as they will offer him anyway. I'm sure Richmond can afford to pay Lids more than Carlton can also.

Bump.

I didn't want to create another "Free Agancy" thread so I bumped this one.

Anyway, if we are going to go for a high profile player I was originally saying Goddard. But if our forward line continues as it has over the last two games then I think we should switch our focus to Travis Cloke. The Magpies seem to be on the slide, Cloke has said he will be waiting to the end of the season to determine his contract, Collingwood has salary cap bursting at the seams at the moment, we are improving as a side and on the up and his old man used to play for us. While he may be offered more money by GWS, we can offer him more money then Collingwood and he will get the bonus of staying in Victoria and play in a team which should be playing in finals soon (with Collingwood on the way down and us going up).

Free Agency