Review Freo Overrun Against the Dogs

Just an inexperienced team running out of puff. Need the bigger mids to get to 50+ games. Pretty simple. No point in melting too hard, we just aren't ready and won't be for 2-3 more years. People have unrealistic expectations on what we should be doing this year.

Look at who we beat ... Hawthorn, Sydney, Essendon ... they are all teams where the prime movers are in the low 180cm range, just like us. So we match up well. Geelong minus Danger/Guthrie/Duncan and Melbourne minus Oliver.

We have lost to teams like North, Brisbane, GWS, Richmond, Dogs that have big units in the midfield like LDU, Dunkley, Green, Taranto, Bont (plus a few more per side). Jackson was MIA today (crook?), Fyfe is cooked, Chapman injured, NOD out of sorts, Johnson a greenhorn and Erasmus even moreso. There's only so much Serong and Brayshaw can do at their size.

The main issue for me is how poorly we start basically every game. Buckley said he was surprised how quiet and introverted the group was before the Melbourne game, and to me it is obvious that they are never fired up enough to start a game, and not doing anything to rectify it.

Meh, bigger, more experienced team won an arm wrestle, we butchered the ball at key moments, a couple of bullshit frees (well taken goal mind), plus some obvious missed ones all adds up to a loss. Still not all doom and gloom:

1) We came back to take the lead; a bit more nous and we keep that.
2) Amiss is a ****ing gun, and only 19.
3) Treacy is not on the same trajectory as Amiss, but really liked a lot of his game today.
4) We had a lot of opportunities to win that. These are the kind of swing-around games we win next year. Probably with an easier schedule.
5) Ras got a lesson, will serve him well.
6) Got another tough, contested, high pressure game into some growing stars.

Also it's school holidays, so not even the Dockers can **** with my zen. Namaste mother****ers.

On SM-G955F using BigFooty.com mobile app

just a flattening end to the game, we had more shots on goal than the dogs but lose by 5 goals…wasteful

terrible last 10 mins, ras gets called for what had been happening at the contest genuinely every ball up, does not make sense to me, but after that we drop the heads and start to take more risks which we did not execute

shoota had a really really poor game, has not been very good for some time now, not much in the reserves tho

great game from amiss, johnson was impactful, darcy was good, serong as well. not the end of the world

It had all the signs of a team that got off the bus late, had to work harder to catch up and then ran out of effort in the tank because of it.

We need to have someone else motivating the players before they run out, they start too slow.

The work required to come back means we have to take opportunities late otherwise we are gassed.

That combined with the sheer stupidity of playing Ras and Johnson with Treacy at pivotal CB is a killer.

JL and Pearce need to sort out first quarters. We ended the first close enough to level, but I thought we should have been down a couple at least.

How do we reckon Henry did? A shitload of the ball but some of his kicks were soul crushing stuff. No point getting lots of kicks if your kicks are ratshit.
33 disposals, 26 of them were effective disposals. He went okay. Makes a few silly error's but credit to him for developing his game.

Was a quantity over quantity game.
Ice Cube What GIF

Seems a very similar year to Port last year tbh. Dropped too many at the start of the year then playing catch up where we occasionally look close to the 8 but aren’t good enough.

Frustrating year though
Several issues were highlighted today.
Don’t know why Ras is the sub? I’d rather have Brodie to inject into the game for a quarter and a half and Ras playing a full game at peel, if he’s not in the B22.
Hughes turned back to calamity Hughes when the pressure rose in the last. Chapman can’t come back quick enough.
Brayshaw and jackson, two of our premium players were off form today.

But the biggest issue, for the umpteenth time - we simply do not have enough class in attack.
Switkowski needs a spell at peel, big time. That was dire today from him and he’s been off for weeks. Non goal kicking small/medium forwards are an absolute killer to carry on the team.
Frederick/Schultz/Treacy/Switta these guys are not good enough in front of goal. In a tough away game in Melbourne, games that we need to be winning to win a flag, we are relying on amiss and Walters to kick 10 goals between them to win because the rest of the forwards butcher chances and can’t be trusted. Not sustainable.
That’s why Sturt needs to be backed in and see can he kick 15 goals from the last 8 games. At least he somewhat resembles a competent forward in front of goal.

How do we reckon Henry did? A shitload of the ball but some of his kicks were soul crushing stuff. No point getting lots of kicks if your kicks are ratshit.
A lot of them are good though. He is always trying to hit a team mate..rarely he just kicks down the line to a contest. We need someone to do his role if not him.

Anyway, how good was Amiss? 29 goals for the year now, kicked 4 today. Easily on track for a 40+ goal season in just his second year.

He's special.

lol, I just watched Howe go up way too early in a marking contest, just get a hand to it and no call. Not even a comment from anyone that it would even be possible that might be a free.
Yep - BS call at a pivotal moment. Unfortunately for us we downed tools after so it won't be viewed as crucial to the game. Momentum swinger.

The challenge for us is keeping it all together - we have what we need to challenge
Do we though?
We are at least one high quality forward short and probably 2 after Walters goes in the next couple of years.
We don’t have the forwards on the list right now to win a flag. You are literally relying on Amiss to kick nearly 100 goals a season (completely unfeasible) as the likes of Schultz, Switta, Treacy, Frederick, jackson, Sturt, Banfield - none of these players can kick more than 30 goals a year. Most of them won’t even kick 15 or 20. Fyfe is not a forward either.
We have no mids with a natural eye for goal.
Against the top sides, it’s just so easy to keep freo to 10 goals a game and that won’t win too much.

That's literally every team. 90% of the time when you lose the contest you lose the game.
Is it though? There's turnover game, rebound D50 game, there has to be a Plan B when you don't win it at the stoppage. You have to be able to find ways to win when you don't win clearance.

Missed the game as it was a pre-5am start. Looking at the stats, how long can Fredrick get away with being average? Sturt gets dropped for better performances. 1 goal, 8 touches and 0 tackles. The concern is the 0 tackles.

Contest applies in literally all those situations? Rebound games are generated by winning contests down the line.
'The contest' is stoppages.

just a flattening end to the game, we had more shots on goal than the dogs but lose by 5 goals…wasteful

terrible last 10 mins, ras gets called for what had been happening at the contest genuinely every ball up, does not make sense to me, but after that we drop the heads and start to take more risks which we did not execute

shoota had a really really poor game, has not been very good for some time now, not much in the reserves tho

great game from amiss, johnson was impactful, darcy was good, serong as well. not the end of the world

Thought Schulz, Switkowski and Frederick were yet again very poor when the game was in the balance

Review Freo Overrun Against the Dogs