Fixture Full 2024 AFL fixture released. News and leaks.

Hawthorn played one home game at Marvel against a Marvel tennant in 2023.

And 6 Sunday home games vs 5 on other days.

It's more fun to exaggerate though!

In all seriousness, we played some fun, attacking footy last year. A marquee Saturday night slot against a Collingwood or Brisbane at the MCG would be nice, considering how well we've matched up against them historically. Plus the Ginnivan and Mitchell factor, as well as Dacios vs Maginness for the Pies clash.

Glad it's not the Dogs or Blues, Shafted playing genuine away games in a neutral round. Looks like the AFL will rotate the away teams v Port v Crows in fairness though ...
I expect they will rotate through the Big Vic sides mostly. It helps solo games out and people already think those clubs get a good fixture anyway, so it limits the complaining.

its a totally vic-centric thing - cant have round 1 not with any games in victoria
hopefully they land on a split round and have the other 5 games the week after, thats the best we will get out of this now
That Vic centric thinking it what bankrolls your entire club.

Don't know if you were shafted, all you did was play one of your allocated interstate trips in gather round. It's not like you went back to Adelaide during the season to play Port there again is it.
This is certainly not correct. Carlton and the Bulldogs both had 12 fair dinkum away games compared to everyone else's 11 away games with 1 neutral game.

However, short of scheduling a Gather Round in every single state, it's hard to know how to make it fairer, and playing a Showdown in Gather Round won't solve that problem either.

Glad it's not the Dogs or Blues, Shafted playing genuine away games in a neutral round. Looks like the AFL will rotate the away teams v Port v Crows in fairness though ...
Carlton fans had more access to Gather Rd than Brisbane fans had access at the Grand Final

Maybe they should move the GF to Perth or Sydney where they don't have to worry about AFL/MCC members reserves and actually have more seats for fans.

Pretty sure we will see a Gold Coast hone QClash in round 2 (3rd game for both clubs. With Lions being in Perth round 1 would be stiff to give us 2 interstate trips in a row and we are home in round 3 which means Gold Coast away and doubt we're home in round 2 as it would mean of our first 4 at home and 1 of 4 for the Suns.

Due to the Olympics
Yep. Still if they wanted more footy they could have done it the right way and actually give us more rounds.

You know whats weird, Melbourne and Hawthorn have never played in UTAS.

Even weirder is that we haven't play the Swans at Accor .

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not begging to play West Coast at the MCG in desperate need of a win.

Just commenting on the quirky nature of not playing you guys at the G for 9 years.

Us not playing Brisbane at home since Optus opened (2018) is another one, though it sounds like that will be happening early in 2024.

March 7? Way too early for football to be starting. Still cricket season..
This round zero rubbish, gather round and pre finals bye are all sneaky ways of making the season as long as possible. March 21 would be the best starting date but there's zero common sense at AFL house

Us not playing Brisbane at home since Optus opened (2018) is another one, though it sounds like that will be happening early in 2024.
The AFL would be massive trolls, if they get the Lions to play Fremantle instead for our only WA trip.

This round zero rubbish, gather round and pre finals bye are all sneaky ways of making the season as long as possible. March 21 would be the best starting date but there's zero common sense at AFL house
Devils advocate. I’m guessing there will possibly be one less week of official practice matches. Last year I think there was a non designated informal game, then the official practice game. I reckon the official practice game coukd go. The first week in March has historically been at least a practice match / scratch match weekend with fans and media quite engaged and involved. I just think this weekend is being made top shelf official. So in effect, it is, but it isn’t really an extension of the AFL ‘season’.

I reckon the Easter Monday "blockbuster" is a big reason Hawthorn end up with a swag of early season Sunday games. Especially recent years when we've not been contenders.

Fixture hasn't really been "fair" for years. Probably never will be again. I wonder if I'll live long enough for The Q Clash to be money. Or get a decent name. Showdown XLIV or whatever getting a roman numeral always irked me slightly given they always try to shoe-horn in 2 a year. Plus a pre season game when we had a pre season comp. Always seemed a little silly, but would've worked if only 1 a year.

They really should keep an eye on these dead spots of match ups and locations to try and rectify a few per year. They won't though, because $ and TV ratings. X not playing Y at Y's home ground for 10+ years is a bit shite

Fixture Full 2024 AFL fixture released. News and leaks.