Gary Ablett crying a river over Crowley's tactics

Well, even without being damaging, I wouldn't mind a midfielder who can get to 28 disposals without being tagged...

Off the top of my head I'd say there's only 3 midfielders going around at the moment who could do that, two we've faced so far (Ablett and Watson) and the 3rd we face next week, Dane Swan.

This is assuming you meant "whilst" instead of without.

My whole point. Ablett had heaps of disposals. Damage=0%. Thanks for coming , here's yer coat!
This is because of the GC factor though IMO If he played for Geelong still (or Pendles plays a similiar game next week) you would find much more damage would be caused.

It's a bit like Judd at the blues no where near as damaging as he was at WC (even before injuries) but still very good player. They can only win the ball where it is and unfortunately for them due to the poor teams they're in that's not often in a position to cause a lot of damage.

Recall Abletts 53 possession game and how he was knocked for causing stuff all damage. Well of course he didn't his team got smashed he could only win the ball where it was which happened to be in the back half the majority of the time. Doesn't mean it wasn't a ****ing good effort.

He's a terrible coach imo. And I had that impression when he coached in the WAFL.

Quarter and three quarter time he was at the players like Teddy f***ing Whitten, red-faced, eyes-bulging.

Just bullshit to a young group on the up and up.

Playing young guns clearly out of position.

How is that developing young players effectively?

And after the game, sitting in the box looking like a lost child.

He'll be gone at years end I reckon.
I was thinking the same thing.

Off the top of my head I'd say there's only 3 midfielders going around at the moment who could do that, two we've faced so far (Ablett and Watson) and the 3rd we face next week, Dane Swan.

This is assuming you meant "whilst" instead of without.

I thought he wanted our head to head midfielders to lift by 10 possessions a game, given that they aren't being sat on,

He's a terrible coach imo. And I had that impression when he coached in the WAFL.

Quarter and three quarter time he was at the players like Teddy f***ing Whitten, red-faced, eyes-bulging.

Just bullshit to a young group on the up and up.

Playing young guns clearly out of position.

How is that developing young players effectively?

And after the game, sitting in the box looking like a lost child.

He'll be gone at years end I reckon.

Agree, Guy is totally out of his depth .

Gaz beat Crowley easily tonight. Can only win the ball by being where the ball is which unfortunately for him isn't often in an attacking position these days.

Still won plenty of ball, used it well, kicked a goal and had an assist despite his team only kicking 7 goals in total.

He even layed 6 tackles 2 more than Crowley. To say Crowley did a job on Gaz tonight is just ridiculous.

Mate what are you talking about. Did you even watch the game? Yeah GAJ had possesions but his creativity was nullified. Usually when he found possession he was under pressure and did not set up play as he usually does. WIn to Crowley. Just curious do they teach crying to the ump when you dont get your own way as a tactic down at Pussy Palace?

Bennell is overrated.
He played the game of his life against us last year and hasn't got near it since.
Who would you leave out of Freo for Harley ?

Tend to agree. He has tremendous upside, but doesn't bring it to the table nearly often enough.

I get the impression that he is still not happy over there, regardless of what the Suns are saying.

He's in his 3rd year mate...and to answer your question I'd have him in over Danyle Pearce in a heartbeat.

We have plenty of kids under 3rd year that I would prefer to play than harley.
As for Danyle, he has come from a team where he had a completely different match role, in a losing team. He is still coming to grips with the Lyon game plan and this is having an effect on him.
Danyle's career stats are not to be sneezed at and we all know he can play far better than he currently is; after all it took most our side 14-15 games last year to begin to understand the new plan under Ross.
Harley is definitely a talented player but is still getting pushed on a freak game last year.

Just imagine Bennell under Ross Lyon though, absolutely mouth watering prospect. He hasn't been consistent but he's played in an absolute rabble of a team to be fair.

It's a possibility. He's walked out on the club once so far and, for mine, he is stagnating and not developing.

On a pure one-on-one matchup I'd give it to Ablett on points. But for a team effort I think Freo nullified his impact.

My thoughts exactly. I still remember the 1st quarter when Crowley had a 1st shot at goal but missed. Crowley was that influential that when crowley did go to the Freos forward line, GAJ was forced to tag him at that end... Not bad.

good banter from both on twitter, all in good fun.

can't ever expect to keep Ablett away from the ball, it's just a matter of limiting effectiveness and pushing him away from the more damaging areas of the ground, which Crowley did an ok job of. obviously if he was surrounded by better quality you would have a harder time containing his attack, which is where a team like Collingwood could expose Crowley.

Gary Ablett crying a river over Crowley's tactics