Geelong are cooked

Reminder to the numbnut posters who think they're clever by talking down the Cats' success - Geelong have won 4 premierships this century and have THE highest number of wins by a significant margin. Is it any wonder the great Leigh Matthews said this, "To me, not much doubt that the Cats have been the champion club so far - and I’m talking club, not team, a whole club - this century."
Yeah but we haven't won back to back premierships this century so it's null and void.

Interesting that you rate Leigh’s opinion

But seem to ignore his views in Dustin Martin lol

Can’t have both mate; you see it makes you a hypocrite and you lose any credibility you had , which wasn’t”t much to start with to be fair lol
Matthew’s views on Martin are irrelevant to this thread. Can you not turn every thread into a Martin is GOAT thread?

I just don't get how he doesn't see the logical problem with his argument, when it comes to hypocrisy?

It works in reverse too. If he believes Matthews when it comes to Martin, then he believes Matthews when it comes to us being the 'Champion Club of this century.' Can't pick and choose when it suits him, either.

Either Dusty is the best player of the modern era and we're the best club of the modern era, or Dusty isn't the best player of the modern era, and we're not the best club. Logic 101.

I just don't get how he doesn't see the logical problem with his argument, when it comes to hypocrisy?

It works in reverse too. If he believes Matthews when it comes to Martin, then he believes Matthews when it comes to us being the 'Champion Club of this century.' Can't pick and choose when it suits him, either.

Either Dusty is the best player of the modern era and we're the best club of the modern era, or Dusty isn't the best player of the modern era, and we're not the best club. Logic 101.

So Leigh is right ?

Dusty is the goat ?

Is that what your saying ?

That’s just made 10000 posts by Geelong supporters completely irrelevant on the dusty thread

I was right you are all triggered

So Leigh is right ?

Dusty is the goat ?

That’s just made 10000 posts by Geelong supporters completely irrelevant on the dusty thread

This warms the cockles of my heart knowing how Geelong has left you so emotionally devastated

So Leigh is right ?

Dusty is the goat ?

The thing is there’s a tonne of (translation: irrefutable) evidence to support his claim about Geelong.

There’s none to support his tongue in cheek comment about Martin.

Using the word ‘triggered’ doesn’t help your non existent argument either

Hawthorn did us a huge favour taking out the Dogs today. We're falling upwards, all these supposed up-and-coming teams are pissing a shot at finals away and hand-delivering it to us for being a little less s**t than them. Funny season.
Yeah it looks like two of the three results we were after will happen, including the Hawks coming through yet again, our frenemies seem to have a knack of doing us these huge giant killing late-season favours over the past five years.

So now IF we win both of our remaining games we have to overtake the Bulldogs. We'll overtake St Kilda unless they beat Brisbane at the Gabba. It looks like we'll finish above GWS (assuming no huge comeback today) unless they beat Essendon AND Carlton. We overtake Essendon unless they beat GWS AND Collingwood. We'll overtake Sydney unless they beat Adelaide away AND Melbourne.

If we win both games, we overtake the Bulldogs and I'd say 2-3 of those other teams (at least) and sneak into 7th or 8th.

Yeah it looks like two of the three results we were after will happen, including the Hawks coming through yet again, our frenemies seem to have a knack of doing us these huge giant killing late-season favours over the past five years.

So now IF we win both of our remaining games we have to overtake the Bulldogs. We'll overtake St Kilda unless they beat Brisbane at the Gabba. It looks like we'll finish above GWS (assuming no huge comeback today) unless they beat Essendon AND Carlton. We overtake Essendon unless they beat GWS AND Collingwood. We'll overtake Sydney unless they beat Adelaide away AND Melbourne.

If we win both games, we overtake the Bulldogs and I'd say 2-3 of those other teams (at least) and sneak into 7th or 8th.

If we do make it we've got a reasonable chance of having Hawkins/Blitz and Cam Guthrie as well, so will probably be able to field close to our best side (though looks like Henry is done for the season).

I just want to flag it right now: if we happen to sneak in, we reek of being that team that everyone assumes will win their elimination final, the narrative before the finals even start is "Look out <<loser of qualifying final>>, Geelong's waiting for you in the semi!" and then they get their pants pulled down in the Elimination Final. It's either that, or a team that's been in poor form improbably turns it around with a massive elimination final boilover.

You can imagine the Richmond fans' reactions last year when I guaranteed that Brisbane would win their first final (I was spruiking this theory immediately after Brisbane got smashed by Melbourne in the final H&A round, before Richmond was even locked in as their opponent). It was Sydney in 2021. West Coast in 2020. Bulldogs in 2019. Maybe the Cats in 2018... seems to be an annual event to me. And if we do make it and have all these big names to come back in, I'll be expecting us to get rolled by the Dogs, or St Kilda or Sydney, someone of that ilk.

Seems to be the standard response form Geelong supporters in this thread on their lack of quality youth isn't "here's a list of all our quality younger players" (i suspect because they cant pull one together) but its instead "we've never been crap before, so it won't happen in future".

Just like the age old adage.. past performance is a perfect indication of future performance.

Seems to be the standard response form Geelong supporters in this thread on their lack of quality youth isn't "here's a list of all our quality younger players" (i suspect because they cant pull one together) but its instead "we've never been crap before, so it won't happen in future".

Just like the age old adage.. past performance is a perfect indication of future performance.

Holmes, Ollie Henry, Sam de Koning and gryan Miers is a decent start, at least, if nothing else.

Even someone like Stengle is only 24 and made the AA team last year with 53 goals. He's been down this year, no doubt a broken arm early season hasn't helped but he still has plenty of footy left in him. Opposition fans are reluctant to accept the fact that our youth stocks are in the best shape they've been in probably a decade. Can't underestimate how huge our most recent off-season was after just winning the premiership while still managing to bring in two 20 year olds in Bruhn and Henry who've effectively played every match this season as well as pick 7 which we took to the draft, the first time we've taken a single figure pick since 2006. Huge effort from Wells and Mackie.

Can people stop bringing up Bruhn …….. he is average has done little to suggest that he will deliver or come anywhere near a replacement to a Selwood Danger or Duncan. As a mid he struggles to touch it 20 times and when he does its nothing special. I think he plays his 50th this week? His progress is very flatline.

No one on Hawthorn's list projects to reach Selwood or Dangerfield level either. You're setting the bar unrealistically high because you got burned by the kid choosing Geelong over Hawthorn. Either that or he kicked your dog, because every second post of yours in these threads is about Bruhn.