List Mgmt. Geelong at the 2012 AFL National Draft (selections Nos. 16, 77 and 92)

I didn't mean to start this as an exercise, but I'll come back to you shortly. In the meantime, I'll give you a chance to fit Hocking and (if you like) Nankervis into your draft.
HOCKING, #3 picked, very OOPS!
Bews ahead of Ian Nankervis for me, Bews has more versatility, more spunk.
Ablett snr at FF ahead of Wade for me.
Not sure we can have all of Farmer, Newman, Ottens, Stoneham, but I have.

Guys , keep the posts specific to the OP or a mod will have to start cleaning it up.
If it a subject worth exploring create another thread
Fair point, but you do sound like my mum when we were kids, and she'd say, wait til I tell your father about this, HE'LL deal with you!

Getting this thread back on track it was suggested on SEN today that we are interested in Tom Clurey. Not sure how reliable that information is but with Gillies now gone it would make sense in taking a young KPD.

Again ...
Seems Clurey is hotting up a bit. The guy from inside Football seemed to think there will be a bit of interest even before us. Perhaps the demand for quality KPD in the Trade Period is driving that.
I know the testing for him was good but was not over awed with the clip. I don't see the Taylor comparison.

Again ...
Seems Clurey is hotting up a bit. The guy from inside Football seemed to think there will be a bit of interest even before us. Perhaps the demand for quality KPD in the Trade Period is driving that.
I know the testing for him was good but was not over awed with the clip. I don't see the Taylor comparison.
Yep, I heard that, maybe #9 to Tigers?? or something like that. Does Geelong go for best available, or a specific need?

I think Wells has shown before he is more need based than some Recruiters. Taylor the year lost Egan for eg.
It will get down to how the failure of Gillies to be a replacement V FA . Id say we have our KPD's covered for the next 3-4 years but we are thin on backups. Bathie perhaps but after that is it Brown?

My opinion is we take on board need but we must pick the player that has the best chance of making an impact. So if Clurey , Stringer , Menzel2 , Jessie Lonergan are there at 16 who do we pick? Id go Menzel2

Again ...

I'm with you Turbo. Haven't seen him play but the clip was a bit uninspiring to me. Seemed to just lack a bit of class or polish but happy to be corrected. One thing though he did seem to at least be able to nullify most of the contests shown - would like him to back himself though to mark rather than spoil a bit more.

Still prefer a Garlett or Vlastuin if they were available myself.

Has anyone looked at Taylor garner? Seems like the type of player we normally pick (underrated smokey, strong overhead and wins his own ball).

Would be very happy with any of stringer, menzel, garner, clurley, Vlastuin followed by garlett (in that order).

but how many of these-types do we have in the side who are 24yrs of age and under?
Now look at our defenders and how many of them are 6'ft4 and under 24yrs of age?

Our 2007 team is a very good blue print imo, the discrepancy of age for our defenders now and then is a little concerning.
Back then we had Mackie/Egan 22-23yrs, Enright/Hunt 24-25yrs, Scarlett/Harley 27-28yrs and the oldest was Milburn at 29.
2013 it will be Murdoch/Guthrie 20-21yrs, Taylor/Lonergan/Mackie/Rivers 26-28yrs, Hunt/Enright 30+

We need to draft one if not two solid key defenders within the coming year or two as a 6 year gap is a little too extreme if we are to go again in 2015 as the club has said.
you make a good argument, but I don't think you can have too many match-winners in your list - except maybe from a salary cap POV.

I think that the Menzels are a level above the others we have of the same type. I would hate to see us walk past that amount of raw talent.

First time contributor...Longtime reader..
Love this site!!!!
At pick 15.
For me... Josh Simpson is a special player....
Outstanding individual .... Brings more to the table than just football abilities....
Leader stamped ALL over him....
Lock me in Eddie .....
I know you copped a bit of flack but I think there's a serious chance of this. He's obviously more a winger at this stage but that sidestep is superb and he looks as if he's got real strength through his hips. The leadership stuff is interesting well - reckon one of the reasons we picked up Hamling last year was cause he'd showed a lot of character off field. Think I'd still prefer Garlett or Vlastuin at this stage but would be pretty stoked if he ended up at the Cattery.

I can actually see TMenz dominating as a midfielder and DMenz dominating in the forward line.
I think we're reasonably well stocked in most areas so we'll just go best available talent - TMenz if available will probably be that.
As far as backs go, I think any of the following can develop into backmen (not all KPP admittedly):
Bews, Eardley, Bathie, Brown, Cowan, Guthrie, Hamling, THunt, Murdoch, Varcoe(hbf?), Walker - 10 or 11.
I can count about the same number again in the forward line, some doubling up.
The fact that we were able to bring in Caddy helps out out midfield future.

I can't see any glaring deficiencies on our list (that others seem to see), so I think we'll just go for someone versatile again, and TMenzel fits that. There is definitely a spot for him IMO.

So basically he is just like Bundy then?
There are certainly some similarities. On paper you would argue Garlett is the better prospect in that he is a better size, stronger overhead, at a guess I'd say he's quicker, and probably a longer kick. But as we all know, it's not how they look on paper, it's what they produce on the ground. If everything comes together for this kid, we could be looking another Harley Bennell...

On Simpson . looks a classic 2nd round pick , would have been the sort of pick if we had done the 16 for 25,26.

Basically Right Foot only? He ran himself into and out of trouble. Certainly would set the hearts a racing.
My concern would be how he would handle the heavier hits of a far most contested game. He runs with the confidence that he gets away from everyone , well in the AFL e wouldn't and he would pay for it at times.
He did show glimpses of Varcoe , Motlop type play so he certainly will play good footy for some one.

I know you copped a bit of flack but I think there's a serious chance of this. He's obviously more a winger at this stage but that sidestep is superb and he looks as if he's got real strength through his hips. The leadership stuff is interesting well - reckon one of the reasons we picked up Hamling last year was cause he'd showed a lot of character off field. Think I'd still prefer Garlett or Vlastuin at this stage but would be pretty stoked if he ended up at the Cattery.

I saw a couple of side steps that impressed me. I did see him kick one long left footer under pressure and that made me think that he was a lefty until I watched the Vid again. He is prepared to run and carry and I just loved his second effort at about the 2 minute 40 second mark.

His low flat pass to a team mate under pressure that hit him on the tit was nice work (2 min 10 sec mark).

And as I said earlier, I was very impressed with his second effort at the (2 min 30 -45sec) when he hand passed to a team mate who failed to intercept it, so he went back and won the ball on the boundary and streamed down the ground bouncing the ball. Fantastic stuff.

Like the look of Simpson.
Almost looked GAJ-like at times as he accelerated out of packs while somehow evading all the outstretched arms. Pacy, too!