List Mgmt. Geelong at the 2013 AFL National Draft - live Selections Nos. 16, 36, 41

Fair dinkum this is just not going to plan!.....because where our picks are we're under pressure to go the conservative route
They won't roll the dice a little with P16 they'll do the easy and pick a mid/utility, I think Wells wants to get it right with minimal risk this year, wouldn't surprise me if we end up with 3 of em.

I think we can kiss McStay goodbye, some of the talls in this draft aren't as bad as was suggested, as we thought. :(

I think you are right in the sense Meto that we needed a pick in the 20s to get a guy like McStay or one of the other rated talls. Next year's draft supposedly has better depth in good talls also so this could be part of the thinking where we don't overreach for one this year, unless they're a star basically. I hear you thinking Lobb or McStay might be stars, but we are in a very speculative position. We have a pressing need for mids too IMO given some of our own kids may not make it so I am not against Wells and the club taking a more conservative approach if that turns out to be the case in a strong midfield draft this year.

If we are picking next best at 16 it's very likely to be a mid.
With a few of those talls gone, it's more than likely to be the same case at 36.

Then again, draft history suggests decent tall rucks (Simpson) and guys like Kersten and Vardy can slip into the 30s and 40s so I wouldn't give up all hope at this stage on someone a bit taller going at 36 or 41.

The first 20 are going to be pretty interesting.

But with all the mad scrambling for mids we may see some interesting sliders.
I actually dont mind Jake Kolodjashnij at 36 if he is still there. And I reckon he might be.

I think you are right in the sense Meto that we needed a pick in the 20s to get a guy like McStay or one of the other rated talls. Next year's draft supposedly has better depth in good talls also so this could be part of the thinking where we don't overreach for one this year, unless they're a star basically. I hear you thinking Lobb or McStay might be stars, but we are in a very speculative position. We have a pressing need for mids too IMO given some of our own kids may not make it so I am not against Wells and the club taking a more conservative approach if that turns out to be the case in a strong midfield draft this year.

If we are picking next best at 16 it's very likely to be a mid.
With a few of those talls gone, it's more than likely to be the same case at 36.

Then again, draft history suggests decent tall rucks (Simpson) and guys like Kersten and Vardy can slip into the 30s and 40s so I wouldn't give up all hope at this stage on someone a bit taller going at 36 or 41.

If I'm speculating correctly, the mood of the draft has swung back to some of the talls to be as near to first round picks as you can get, you'd have to agree 20 to 30 is still an impressive position.
The talls that are there abouts could possibly go first round now, I'd have no doubt a player like McStay would be a fantastic aquisition for a club in need of a key defender, like us.
He's got all the hallmarks of a high quality CHB.

I won't complain if we get Dunstan either, because he's hard as nuts, possess accumulator and also fills a current need imo.
I hear what you're saying, I'm also a little less confident than many others regarding the so-called future star status bestowed by the media on our reserve boys.
One can only hope but I'm not convinced as yet, I believe the midfield could do with fresh talent.

Check him out on YouTube, Luke Dunstan and Luke Reynolds interview, gee he's got massive arms!.....hate to think what he could be. He's trying to hide the guns but they're just to big. :D

I'm liking the look of Crouch. Has been rated the best ball-getter in the draft, has aggression to boot too and is physically built. The only downside is he has no tank, but that is fixable.

Also, when I read about Acres, he sounds like Fyfe, 190cm with good overhead ability, good long kick, wins his own ball and a has the shoulder injury ala Fyfe....

The problem with Geelong right now, is we have a lot of pressing needs as the snr's retire, so I can see everyone's concern with the gaps, as I don't believe the hype around most of our kids.

I would like us to take an inside mid,KPD and ruck in this draft. Although it won't surprise as I have said before if we target ready made KPD and rucks. (Even KPF's if we can) as we currently have decent cap space that will get bigger, so we can target other ready made players.

If that's the clubs thinking (Which they have already shown) than someone suggested a small defender which I would agree with and a latter pick to let Guthrie play up the ground.

I'm liking the look of Crouch. Has been rated the best ball-getter in the draft, has aggression to boot too and is physically built. The only downside is he has no tank, but that is fixable.

Also, when I read about Acres, he sounds like Fyfe, 190cm with good overhead ability, good long kick, wins his own ball and a has the shoulder injury ala Fyfe....

The problem with Geelong right now, is we have a lot of pressing needs as the snr's retire, so I can see everyone's concern with the gaps, as I don't believe the hype around most of our kids.

I would like us to take an inside mid,KPD and ruck in this draft. Although it won't surprise as I have said before if we target ready made KPD and rucks. (Even KPF's if we can) as we currently have decent cap space that will get bigger, so we can target other ready made players.

If that's the clubs thinking (Which they have already shown) than someone suggested a small defender which I would agree with and a latter pick to let Guthrie play up the ground.

Except better disposal (Y). Has a lot of x-factor which is why I hope we can pick him.

Having read most of the Phantom drafts most seem pretty confident that Acres is a Wells type and he will be available at Pick 16 - and we will pick him. Not that in the past that has meant that much but surely the guys that follow these things professionally must start to get a bit better with their selections.

I keep thinking on the comment that Geelong knows who they were going to pick at 16. Which means a player the know will be available.

Acres wreaks with the talent hat Wells normally drafts... but I wonder.

Some have Acres going just before us. its possible that he may but its also a good chance he will be there but does have everything that we are looking for. There is one or two other criteria that Geelong built its Flag teams on.

Leadership and ability to win your own ball.

While Acres is a Duncan/Thurlow/Menzel type... and Id love to have him. I have no idea at all about his personality/leadership potential.And baring injury he would be a top 10 pick imo. Is he inside? Probably a bit but you don't drive a Ferrari to the tip. He will be a his best in the open for a while.
But is this the only thing the Wizard looks for?

Our Captain right now is hardly a Acres utility type. When one looks at him he is hardly the best at anything on the field. Very good at most but at AFL level..is he a brilliant mark? A long penetrating kick? No but gee he is a very good footballer and he has Element L in plethora proportions. From his first days at the club , he was predicted to be Capt one day , all due to his obvious maturity and leaderships abilities. Of course the way he plays is just so "come on boys this is how its done".

So while Acres is the obvious Wells pick , maybe the less obvious one with the added value is what we should look for. On this score is anybody more likely to be picked than Dunstan. He seems a bit one sided to me (how many left footers are), he seem to be less than blistering in pace , haven't seen him take a hanger but he appears to play like a Capt , he wins hard ball but can also make position. And for those that would like an immediate selection chance he seems he would be in the mix.

I don't know , perhaps others can can quell my doubts. But when we have so many experts are picking Acres as a Geelong type/a Wells type.. its just then that Wells usually finds a way to surprise.

I keep thinking on the comment that Geelong knows who they were going to pick at 16. Which means a player the know will be available.

Some have Acres going just before us. its possible that he may but its also a good chance he will be there but does have everything that we are looking for. There is one or two other criteria that Geelong built its Flag teams on.

While Acres is a Duncan/Thurlow/Menzel type... and Id love to have him. I have no idea at all about his personality/leadership potential.And baring injury he would be a top 10 pick imo. Is he inside? Probably a bit but you don't drive a Ferrari to the tip. He will be a his best in the open for a while.

Our Captain right now is hardly a Acres utility type. When one looks at him he is hardly the best at anything on the field. Very good at most but at AFL level..is he a brilliant mark? A long penetrating kick? No but gee he is a very good footballer and he has Element L in plethora proportions. From his first days at the club , he was predicted to be Capt one day , all due to his obvious maturity and leaderships abilities. Of course the way he plays is just so "come on boys this is how its done".

So while Acres is the obvious Wells pick , maybe the less obvious one with the added value is what we should look for. On this score is anybody more likely to be picked than Dunstan. He seems a bit one sided to me (how many left footers are), he seem to be less than blistering in pace , haven't seen him take a hanger but he appears to play like a Capt , he wins hard ball but can also make position. And for those that would like an immediate selection chance he seems he would be in the mix.

I don't know , perhaps others can can quell my doubts. But when we have so many experts are picking Acres as a Geelong type/a Wells type.. its just then that Wells usually finds a way to surprise.

Acres to me would be more of a Bartel replacement if anything, rather then the answer to our mid problems. Can play mid, fwd and back, which seems the way the club has gone this year with a fair amount of players playing more than one role.

I'm not sure if he is what we need either, but I do admit I like the look of the kid, especially if he did become a bit like Fyfe.

I would prefer a Crouch/ Dunstan/Dumount, but I would be happy if we got Acres.

Here's some insight on Lewis Taylor from a good friend of mine who's watched a lot of him:

Lewis Taylor absolute monster, gets a f***load of it and uses it really well. Apparently the 'best thing out of the Geelong Falcon's factory in 17 years'So that means he's rated higher than Hodge and Bartel (2 off the top of my head)
Yep he's copped a lot about his height or lack thereof
But I've seen him play
I legit couldn't tell if he was right footed or left
Drills one onto the chest of a forward with right, then rebounds 50 with a 40m kick to find a wingman with the left

31.5 disposals avg
at 75% efficiencyCaptained Vic Country

Been trying to make a similar point myself but I like how you have put it all.

Very good point also. Sel has the captaincy for as long as he wants it and I suspect he will be one of those guys who has it for close to a decade. At which point drafting someone now that had huge upside in the leadership stakes would or at least could be something the club would be considering.
I mean you want leaders every year, but sometimes someone special does come along. A quick time-line makes perfect sense for a guy like Dunstan, and we get the benefit of that ready made too.

Here's some insight on Lewis Taylor from a good friend of mine who's watched a lot of him:

Lewis Taylor absolute monster, gets a f***load of it and uses it really well. Apparently the 'best thing out of the Geelong Falcon's factory in 17 years'So that means he's rated higher than Hodge and Bartel (2 off the top of my head)
But I've seen him play
Drills one onto the chest of a forward with right, then rebounds 50 with a 40m kick to find a wingman with the left

31.5 disposals avg

Then I read something like this!

I am glad I don't have to be the one who makes the pick, as there is going to be a lot of discussion about why this year. Lots of guys could be picked in the range of 16. Going to be fascinating.

I've said before. The biggest weapon Taylor needs is a decent handball.
Best thing out of the falcons in 17 years.
LMFAO

I've said before. The biggest weapon Taylor needs is a decent handball.
Best thing out of the falcons in 17 years.
LMFAO

I would assume that to mean at the time of his leaving the Falcons.
Comparing Taylor to current day Ablett, Hodge, Bartel etc makes no sense really.
But to the 2001 versions might be a more interesting exercise.

Been trying to make a similar point myself but I like how you have put it all.

Very good point also. Sel has the captaincy for as long as he wants it and I suspect he will be one of those guys who has it for close to a decade. At which point drafting someone now that had huge upside in the leadership stakes would or at least could be something the club would be considering.
I mean you want leaders every year, but sometimes someone special does come along. A quick time-line makes perfect sense for a guy like Dunstan, and we get the benefit of that ready made too.

THP , I have not been a long time advocate of his. Its rare that players that look like lefties appeal to me. But it sort of crystalized with me the last couple of days , talking about footballers and their eternal ties to clubs. Getting the right kids , with the right personality into clubs is so important.

I was talking to a non footy person about how clubs used to concern themselves more with ability than character , about old Geelong , GAsr etc and the how it change for us. The discussion sort of started after to listening to the media reporting on a current court case , you do get my drift.

And I started to look at Dunstan.

AFL website says:
Highly touted for his ability to play the game, Dunstan also boasts leadership credentials likely to see him selected inside the top 20. The Woodville-West Torrens product was captain of the victorious South Australian team in the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships, also winning All-Australian honours. Dunstan averaged 23 disposals of which almost 40 per cent were contested, making him a joint winner of SA's MVP award. He has been sidelined of late by a leg injury, marking a disappointing end to a solid year, but it is an injury which will have little bearing on his draft position.

Our DT&FA board Phantom experts say:
Quigley :
..He is one of those players who you don’t fully appreciate from watching on TV and I thought he was more impressive live where I got a better impression of how he worked on and off the ball and how he interacted with his team mates. He was lauded for his leadership abilities on the AIS tour to Europe this year and I can understand why. He leads both by voice and example and if I was going to pick anyone in this draft to be a future captain at AFL level it would be Dunstan. He makes his team better and that is an underestimated quality in a game which many casual observers reduce to stats. If I was looking to add some leadership to my playing group I would have no trouble reaching a bit for Dunstan.

Knightmare :
Has future captain potential having captained SA through the u18 championships and is highly regarded for his leadership abilities. Has played plenty of senior SANFL footy and has played some strong footy. He’s a big time accumulator and a natural inside ball winner with the ability to win the clearances......

Chris25 (who is a gun on SA)
The captain of the South Australian side, if a team was after leadership and a future captain then Dunstan would likely be the first player picked in the draft. I'm finding him to be one of the harder players to place in the draft. His peformances over the last 18 months would suggest him to be a very early pick, in the SANFL U18s in particular he has just dominated. Consistently picking up 30+ touches and being named in the bests pretty much every week, as a 17 year old he was often overshadowing his older teammates......

>>>>

There probably has been a leaders as good as Dunstan since Selwood , but he reads right up there. Will that make him a Wells pick. I don't know. But if you read what very good judge say as right , he should be top 10. He just doesn't look like a top 10. In a way it reminds me Guthrie. There were others that looked prettier , but substance goes a long way.

The fact we chased Adams and Shaw seems to suggest to me we are likely to use at least 2 of our picks on a small/med defender or utility/midfield types. Possibly a ruck to replace West, but most seem like major works in progress, so unless one of the better ones is still there at 41, we might wait till rookie draft to nab one. Less risk involved as well.

I like Acres and Jones but the fact we've been linked to them, probably means they will either be gone or we aren't even looking at them. Wells keeps his cards to his chest better than anyone. I have no idea who we will draft, but I'm confident we will get some good players long term.

I'll have a stab in the dark and say;
pick 16 - Patrick Cripps. Seems like Joel Corey 2.0 for mind, just needs to improve his tank.
pick 36 - Nick Bourke. Geelong lad, 188cm and athletic, strong overhead, bit like Menzel or Bartel.
pick 41 - Thomas Hodgson. Sounds a bit like Josh Hunt but with more pace.

For rookie draft I'm hoping for Sully, I don't think he will get picked up in ND so hopefully we can convince him to join our rookie list. Other than that I'll guess for Peter Steffe as a ruck project, raw as but could be a beauty, or a dud.

Not sure I'd be all that happy taking a speculative ruckman (Lobb) or a KPD (Gardiner or McStay) with our first round pick. People saying we should because we'd only get the leftover mids, the 8th, 9th or 10th best mid is not a great way of looking at it. Who's to say the mid we select at 16 won't be better than a lot of the mids selected before hand? He could even be better than the lot. I'm sure when Freo selected Nat Fyfe with selection 20, they didn't have the same line of thought thinking he was just 'leftovers'. A mid at 16 could be absolutely anything. Just because a Dumont or Dunstan isn't rated as high as some others, doesn't mean they won't become a better player in the long run.

We could get McStay, then Honeychurch, in that order, and we'd be laughing all the way.

But I've seen him play

31.5 disposals avg

ABLETT jnr??

Are you suggesting we trade out Johnson?

Vdubs even Mike Apeness whom I was on about 3 weeks ago has now firmed as low as 20th in some estimations, looks like we were right on the money from the start.
Since we're mid focused, this will create a nice buffer for our later options..

I suggested that for Boyd this year, and was declared a heretic; people were asking what would it take, and after Selwood- NO WAY, and Harry,who's just signed LT, who do we have ??
On Apeness, I really like him too and have discussed his F's & A's, but seems not too many here have seen him or rate him.

I did a bit of research on Luke Dunstan after a bit of talk about him. Really like how he plays but his described leadership skills could be a really great asset. He ticks a lot of boxes.

Something like this seems to happen every draft......"don't pick him he's got a possibly career ending injury".....I wonder if we advised Melbourne to get the scans done, in the hope he might slide to us ;P

Mirrors my thoughts exactly. Its not like we need a player to perform from round 1, I'd be happy to give him six months to get his body right.