List Mgmt. Geelong at the 2013 AFL National Draft - live Selections Nos. 16, 36, 41

THP , I have not been a long time advocate of his. Its rare that players that look like lefties appeal to me. But it sort of crystalized with me the last couple of days , talking about footballers and their eternal ties to clubs. Getting the right kids , with the right personality into clubs is so important.

I was talking to a non footy person about how clubs used to concern themselves more with ability than character , about old Geelong , GAsr etc and the how it change for us. The discussion sort of started after to listening to the media reporting on a current court case , you do get my drift.

And I started to look at Dunstan.

AFL website says:
Highly touted for his ability to play the game, Dunstan also boasts leadership credentials likely to see him selected inside the top 20. The Woodville-West Torrens product was captain of the victorious South Australian team in the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships, also winning All-Australian honours. Dunstan averaged 23 disposals of which almost 40 per cent were contested, making him a joint winner of SA's MVP award. He has been sidelined of late by a leg injury, marking a disappointing end to a solid year, but it is an injury which will have little bearing on his draft position.

Our DT&FA board Phantom experts say:
Quigley :
..He is one of those players who you don’t fully appreciate from watching on TV and I thought he was more impressive live where I got a better impression of how he worked on and off the ball and how he interacted with his team mates. He was lauded for his leadership abilities on the AIS tour to Europe this year and I can understand why. He leads both by voice and example and if I was going to pick anyone in this draft to be a future captain at AFL level it would be Dunstan. He makes his team better and that is an underestimated quality in a game which many casual observers reduce to stats. If I was looking to add some leadership to my playing group I would have no trouble reaching a bit for Dunstan.

Knightmare :
Has future captain potential having captained SA through the u18 championships and is highly regarded for his leadership abilities. Has played plenty of senior SANFL footy and has played some strong footy. He’s a big time accumulator and a natural inside ball winner with the ability to win the clearances......

Chris25 (who is a gun on SA)
The captain of the South Australian side, if a team was after leadership and a future captain then Dunstan would likely be the first player picked in the draft. I'm finding him to be one of the harder players to place in the draft. His peformances over the last 18 months would suggest him to be a very early pick, in the SANFL U18s in particular he has just dominated. Consistently picking up 30+ touches and being named in the bests pretty much every week, as a 17 year old he was often overshadowing his older teammates......

>>>>

There probably has been a leaders as good as Dunstan since Selwood , but he reads right up there. Will that make him a Wells pick. I don't know. But if you read what very good judge say as right , he should be top 10. He just doesn't look like a top 10. In a way it reminds me Guthrie. There were others that looked prettier , but substance goes a long way.

Thanks Turbo,

That was a great post and a true indicator of Luke Dunstan who I believe is the best SA in the draft bar none.

If ever I've seen a young player that fits the Selwood mould we have him here in Luke Dunstan, have no doubts about his talents and his ferocity in a contest, this guy is like a tank with his attack on the ball.
He truely is a beast midfielder!
But he has polish and class as well, a massive inside/outside ball winner has the ability to bring those around him into the game, 30+possessions every week and totally irrepressible at state level saw him installed SA U18 Captain.
The result was the same "dominance" against all level 1 state squads across Australia at the Carnival.

I saw a casual interview with him and another from the U18 winning SA side, Luke Flemming on Youtube, if you get time have a look, Dunstan's just so impressive.
It was quite funny how they both chuckled about the "Rolls Royce" James Aish and Matt Sharenberg both touted as at least top ten.
"But according to their coaching staff" it was a line ball as to who the most valuable player was that delivered the championship to SA, Sharenberg and Dunstan shared the accolade, proving to be arguably the two best U18's in Australia.
"Certainly on pure stats alone it would've been Luke Dunstan."

I think Dunstan made Aish and Sharenberg in those Championships to a point, constantly winning first use of contested ball, that made the difference with team confidence and either winning or loosing.
His numbers are supreme over Dumont who is also a quality SA player.
If we do ourselves the favor of picking him I reckon he'll be the best first pick choice we've made since Joel Selwood.
After state duties he played 3 senior games averaging 22 possessions, 3goals and many score assists before being injured which put West Torrens on the backfoot for finals contentions
He had instant and amazing immediate impact at senior level.

http://www.bing.com/news/search?q=woodville west torrens football club luke dunstan&qpvt=woodville west torrens football club luke dunstan&FORM=EWRE

I would love us to draft one of his SA teamates as well, afterall winning teams are that way because they have winning players, now that's an easy rule of thumb!
Throw in Cameron Giles a 195/93 CHB and I'd be wrapped.

Well as far as good draft pick slipping down to us I keep remembering Selwood. Now GFC would not have expected that most likely but when he slipped to pick 7 we obviously did not select who we thought we might have and jumped on Selwood.

Now the Grundy non-selection might mean that we always wanted Thurlow and one else that we rated slipped to our first pick so we went with Thurlow even though Grundy did slip. We just rated Thurlow more than Grundy.

Surely Wells and Co. have a little black book from picks 1-41 (this year) and pick accordingly. If a player slips to us that they rate higher than the player they think they will get they select them. Cannot see how else they could do it. You do not have much time in the ND for discussing and amending.

But then again I have no idea of what they really do - its just that this approach makes the most sense to me.

I am aware that in our dealings with Adams it is said we know who we want at pick 16 and we would have had to assess whether that player was worth more to us than Adams if we were to trade pick 16 for him - and whether it was likely he would be still there at pick 16.

That has mad many think I will be another Thurlow pick - picked well ahead of where he was supposed to go. And that has meant some of us has got off Acres and moved to players in the phantom drafts that are 20 + pick range - so they are very likely to be there at pick 16. Hence some suggest McStay.

But I assume there will be 1 or 2 that do slip - maybe Crouch or similar. GFC must have a way to then change their pick quickly if they thought that player would be gone (like Sheed) but somehow they slip thru to us like Selwood did.

That is one reason why I got off Acres and looked at Dunstan as our first pick. And I like all the assessments he is leadership material as well.

We could get McStay, then Honeychurch, in that order, and we'd be laughing all the way.

Think we'll be overreaching as McStay probably isn't worth a pick that high. Having said that, if we want him we'll have to pull the trigger on him at 16 as he more than likely won't be around for us at 36. If we don't select a mid, I'd be more than happy for us to pick a KPD like McStay as we are really light on in this area. I would prefer McStay over Gardiner due to his size. I'd be disappointed if we selected Gardiner with pick 16 tbh.

I suggested that for Boyd this year, and was declared a heretic; people were asking what would it take, and after Selwood- NO WAY, and Harry,who's just signed LT, who do we have ??
On Apeness, I really like him too and have discussed his F's & A's, but seems not too many here have seen him or rate him.

SJ would not get us Boyd mate, you're dreaming...If you take out the players you mentioned, then there is no player on our list that would get pick 1, possibly only a fit Hawkins as well which would be a mute point. We either have stars in the twilight or up and comers

What do we think about Zac Jones?

CT thinks there is interest from clubs around the 12-18 range. He has sort of snuck up me. Seems very early but there you go. Would he be an adequate R1 pick for us. Having a look on AFL.com at his highlights , he is a robust little tyke , although he seems more a 181 defensive rebound small , rather than a pure mid which I and most of us have been focusing on. Wouldn't say his kicking is elite or his speed supreme but both are good and he does a lot right at the right time. In that he reminds me of Guthrie. Picking the right option to get the ball away is not a skill all have. But he is more line breaking than Guthire and not as tall.

When I look at him , and compare him to his brother , I see a different player and a less painted one. I wonder if thats a permanent choice , or one just pre drafting.

I'm affected by seeing up close young but accomplished and very unheralded Daniel Welsh (ER) demolish him when it counted. Hope SW saw what we saw.

After rethinking Dunstan , I thought Id have another look at this kid as well.
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/nathan-jones-brother-keen-for-afl-success-20131113-2xh5s.html

Couple of nice little lines in that article.

his coaches had to pull him out of warm-up drills before the last few TAC Cup finals because they were worried he would hurt one of his teammates.

Working as a labourer, for his father, he was getting up early and living some long days. He decided that if he was going to work hard, he might as well work hard playing football. ''It gave me more of a drive,'' he said. ''I could see the lifestyle I could have playing footy, and the life I could have outside of it, doing something else, something less rewarding. Being able to watch Nathan was a pretty big insight. I could see how good it could be, if I made it there one day

There was one game where we were getting beaten pretty badly, so we threw him into the middle and he won the next three centre bounces in a row. From there he really found his mojo.''

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/nathan-jones-brother-keen-for-afl-success-20131113-2xh5s.html#ixzz2klH6ov9J

Again , just like Dunstan... I think there others more talented. But someone who wants it this much is a characteristic that shouldn't be underestimated. Think Rooke. Yes I know he was not an early pick but his burning competitive desire is what made him such an animal in big games.

And the last line , to me seem like he is a work inprogress. As much as he has been a rebounding type perhaps at AFL level he will be a an in and under with a bit of pace. No matter where they have been playing I feel we will draft at least 2 guys who we think could be mids in the future

Is it just me or is this years draft as open as any in the last ten years

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/nathan-jones-brother-keen-for-afl-success-20131113-2xh5s.html

his coaches had to pull him out of warm-up drills before the last few TAC Cup finals because they were worried he would hurt one of his teammates.

Working as a labourer, for his father, he was getting up early and living some long days. He decided that if he was going to work hard, he might as well work hard playing football. ''It gave me more of a drive,'' he said. ''I could see the lifestyle I could have playing footy, and the life I could have outside of it, doing something else, something less rewarding. Being able to watch Nathan was a pretty big insight. I could see how good it could be, if I made it there one day

There was one game where we were getting beaten pretty badly, so we threw him into the middle and he won the next three centre bounces in a row. From there he really found his mojo.''

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/nathan-jones-brother-keen-for-afl-success-20131113-2xh5s.html#ixzz2klH6ov9J

Again , just like Dunstan... I think there others more talented. But someone who wants it this much is a characteristic that shouldn't be underestimated. Think Rooke. Yes I know he was not an early pick but his burning competitive desire is what made him such an animal in big games.

And the last line , to me seem like he is a work inprogress. As much as he has been a rebounding type perhaps at AFL level he will be a an in and under with a bit of pace. No matter where they have been playing I feel we will draft at least 2 guys who we think could be mids in the future

A couple of great posts there Turbo. Both make for some compelling reading.
I have Dunstan in the lead at the moment, but there are plenty of decent second place getters.

I am the same as you, I can't ever recall a draft this open for a long time.
Not just the top 20 picks as some were saying at first, but the top 15-40 could go anywhere.
When you start slotting in all the names, its amazing how many others slip down to lower picks.
I am starting to be more confident a decent tall, if we go that way, will be there later on too.

Geelong are quite well placed to do something very useful with there 3 picks I believe.

Well as far as good draft pick slipping down to us I keep remembering Selwood. Now GFC would not have expected that most likely but when he slipped to pick 7 we obviously did not select who we thought we might have and jumped on Selwood.

Hawthorn were expected to take Selwood.
We were expected to take Boak.

Very interesting. Quayle seems to think sheed could be available at our pick and due to his links with WC I never thought to consider him.

After looking at sheed's highlights I would have him as our no.1 choice in front of dunston and acres (who is more a wing/outside mid in the Mitch Duncan mould).

Sheed was capt of WA and could take over after selwood in 5/6 years.

Of the rest Quayle mentioned that we are considering, I would be very happy with dunston for the reasons you mentioned above.

I would be a little disappointed of we spent a R1 on a back pocket in Zak jones. Despite his competitiveness he reminds me of Taylor hunt, and these types of players can be found later in the draft.

Cutler has played 2 games in 2013, and didn't do much in same. Far to risky to use a R1 IMO.

Was also interesting to read that crouch could possibly slip to 36. Imagine if we took sheed and crouch with our first 2 selections.

Just been reading some history on it.
Brisbane were really keen on him at pick 4. And Carlton were discussing taking him at pick 1 instead of Gibbs.

""This year is a bit different. It's fair to say it's very difficult. There's four players who have been talked about, and have been right up there, and Joel Selwood is the other one we're looking very closely at."

Here's some insight on Lewis Taylor from a good friend of mine who's watched a lot of him:

Lewis Taylor absolute monster, gets a f***load of it and uses it really well. Apparently the 'best thing out of the Geelong Falcon's factory in 17 years'So that means he's rated higher than Hodge and Bartel (2 off the top of my head)
Yep he's copped a lot about his height or lack thereof
But I've seen him play
I legit couldn't tell if he was right footed or left
Drills one onto the chest of a forward with right, then rebounds 50 with a 40m kick to find a wingman with the left

31.5 disposals avg
at 75% efficiencyCaptained Vic Country

GWS would be made to look stupid in passing up a player considered better than Ablett Jnr, with their 1st pick.

Every expert now in 2001 thought Jnr was going to be the player he is today from his Falcon's form.
He must have been averaging well over 40 possessions back then too?

Five years later in 2006 too. Kid looked a dual brownlow medallist.
That's why all the Geelong players in 06 were high fiving him at player meetings :D

If Taylor comes to Geelong hopefully he gets 2 or 3 games before ppl write him off.
It took young Gaz 5 years but that's all in the past now.

That is perfect. Goes into the intangibles section as a player asset but you can't teach desire and will. Selsy has it, Rooke had it...

A great asset. Those that want it and know they need to play like it are instant favourites...

Go Catters

Very interesting. Quayle seems to think sheed could be available at our pick and due to his links with WC I never thought to consider him.

After looking at sheed's highlights I would have him as our no.1 choice in front of dunston and acres (who is more a wing/outside mid in the Mitch Duncan mould).

Of the rest Quayle mentioned that we are considering, I would be very happy with dunston for the reasons you mentioned above.

I would be a little disappointed of we spent a R1 on a back pocket in Zak jones. Despite his competitiveness he reminds me of Taylor hunt, and these types of players can be found later in the draft.

Cutler has played 2 games in 2013, and didn't do much in same. Far to risky to use a R1 IMO.

Was also interesting to read that crouch could possibly slip to 36. Imagine if we took sheed and crouch with our first 2 selections.

Yep, I was surprised to see that too. Thought he was a lock for the Eagles at Pick 11. Maybe the question marks over his pace will see him slide to us. I'd love to have him at the Cattery.

Seeing as we love our injury prone forwards, how about Cameron Conlon with pick 41? Article on him today sounded interesting:http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-11-16/drafts-man-of-mystery

Pass, looks like a Mitch Brown clone, even has the same haircut!

Reading the blurb , he sounded interesting ...

CAMERON Conlon has the all the attributes of a first round draft pick.

He stands at an imposing 198cm, can leap like a flea off a wet dog, has a strong pair of hands, deft touch in the ruck, and is accurate in front of goal.

The only problem? Thanks to an untimely run of injuries, he hasn't played a single game of football in almost 18 months.

So I watched the clip. Clone , almost. There are elements that are very similar. As you said s13 even the hair. Add injury concerns and if not clone he could pass for a sibling.

Id say this though. He is a tad taller. He looks to have a better leap although not Howe/NicNat like. He is doing some ruck work so that tells you he is a bit different to Brown.

For us we have other needs. We have elevated a KP player and a OutMid/FP type. Our needs are more KPB, Ruck and InMid. So for the Conlon type Id prefer Leslie. He covers both areas. Plays back and has played in the ruck.

Like the WetDog line though.

Brisbane were really keen on him at pick 4. And Carlton were discussing taking him at pick 1 instead of Gibbs.

""This year is a bit different. It's fair to say it's very difficult. There's four players who have been talked about, and have been right up there, and Joel Selwood is the other one we're looking very closely at."

And in one sense he is like Scharenberg this year. Injury concerns can mess with Recruitment Managers heads.

I know Sheed is a West Aust pin-up boy, I was all over him and still are, and although his numbers are great, they're no better than Dunstan, and personally in a one on one, I'd pick the Dunstan boy to win the pill.

And of course with all these West Aust kids you've always got the go home factor, that's why I'd much prefer the South Australian.
Dunstan will play midfield with Selwood next year if we pick him, on the other hand I couldn't say with the same confidence that Sheed could do the same.
Dunstan is the model "I'll lead by example player", very much in the order of Selwood.
Still No1 inside mid for me.

You'll never see a 205-206 ruckman run 10:15 for 3km and sprint as fast over 20 mts as he can, and who wants a green ruck kid who'll take 3-4 years in the VFL, Lobbs done the equal of that in his first year playing senior WAFL and killing it.
Rory Lobb will be AFL ready some time next year, mark my words.
Why pass him up for a run of the mill medium sized kid especially when we'll need a ruck very soon imo?
I'll be surprised actually shocked if HMac plays more than a dozen games next year.

No need to worry about this guy, the swans or the giants will pick him at 14 or 15.

I was talking him up well before the media started pumping. It never took me by surprise that he could end up there!

My point on Lobb was, how do you stop 206cm that sprints 20 in 3sec and can keep repeating that based on a fantastic aerobic capacity, 3km in 10:12.
He's athletically the most gifted tall in the draft easy.

Could you link me to that article?