List Mgmt. Geelong at the 2013 AFL National Draft - live Selections Nos. 16, 36, 41

Wasley-Black sounds the most intriguing...Hmm another Hyphen on the list perhaps?

Now that is a name that might be called out by Wells....
Top 20 talent b4 the 2013 season... Played for a rabble(NT)... Non competitive team.
Has probably more to offer/upside than half the boys going around picks 25-50.

But the hyphen I look at is the boy from the Chargers

Darcy Byrne-Jones... Best small-medium defender in the draft IMO.
Did some things in the Champs that pricked my ears...

Wouldn't disappoint me at all... Will he last till 36?? NO....
So at Pick 16 it is then... ??

But the hyphen I look at is the boy from the Chargers

Darcy Byrne-Jones... Best small-medium defender in the draft IMO.
Did some things in the Champs that pricked my ears...

Wouldn't disappoint me at all... Will he last till 36?? NO....
So at Pick 16 it is then... ??

How certain are you he won't last till 36? If there was a draft where guys could slide, it seems to be this draft. And he looks like he's still quite a skinny kid, thats enough to put off some. But hey if Wells likes a kid enough, plucking a surprise is nothing new to him. Thurlow wasn't considered top 30 last year either by most....

My Dad has the occasional chat with an ex-Geelong player who worked in the TAC system for years, who reckons Zak Jones is a dud. Just passing it along.

Good call Meto
Big article in todays paper on him. Has missed a lot of footy with injury but at 191cm and 91Kg looks an absolute beast and might be there at 36 or 41. Very mature , articulate and strong character - with that going for him he might be on the radar of Mr Wells ;)

Robertson is one big unit but is also a fabulous athlete for his 191/91kg, His running is a weapon having posted the third fastest 3km combine trial of all time, 9:46s, is ultra elite.
I'm looking at him to fill the void as a Joel Corey replacement, with his frame and reputation for liking the hard contested ball he could well do.
I believe he's an option late pick with big talent....what did the article say in ref to that injury F2G,
is he "ok" now, that is, no after effects? With his running talent foot stress fractures could be an issue

Just a suspicion. More than likely miles off the mark.
I don't usually say this to people on here but I really do you you are right about being wrong. :D

Conlon has some nice attributes but I'd slit my wrists if we used pick 16 on him.

I imagine most 17 year old kids around pick 16 already feel like they are pretty handy footballers. But it must be pretty sweet feeling and the ultimate boost in belief when Geelong, who has such a huge reputation for getting the draft right, call out your name first. Alternatively, those 17 year olds who get called out by someone like Melbourne....

Here's some insight on Lewis Taylor from a good friend of mine who's watched a lot of him:

Lewis Taylor absolute monster, gets a f***load of it and uses it really well. Apparently the 'best thing out of the Geelong Falcon's factory in 17 years'So that means he's rated higher than Hodge and Bartel (2 off the top of my head)

31.5 disposals avg
at 75% efficiencyCaptained Vic Country

Hodge, Bartel, Dangerfield, Boak, Jonathan Brown, Ling, Scarlett, Maxwell, Rohan, ... and of course G Ablett Jr ... does your mate know the Mayor of Toronto by any chance? :p

Robertson is one big unit but is also a fabulous athlete for his 191/91kg, His running is a weapon having posted the third fastest 3km combine trial of all time, 9:46s, is ultra elite.
I'm looking at him to fill the void as a Joel Corey replacement, with his frame and reputation for liking the hard contested ball he could well do.
I believe he's an option late pick with big talent....what did the article say in ref to that injury F2G,
is he "ok" now, that is, no after effects? With his running talent foot stress fractures could be an issue

Shoulder injury - damaged in a tackle apparently. Looks to have done a lot of work on his upper body and shoulder has recovered very well according to the article. Agree with your comparisons to Corey , the way the game is trending with respect to the size of mids would feel comfortable with one or two around the 190cm mark.
All the talk is around Fyfe , Barlow and Mundy but we pioneered it with the likes of Ling , Corey and Rooke.
I love the way Stokes and Bundy go about it but you also need the big mean fockers to protect and intimidate.:thumbsu:

OK - I've held off ... but here we go!

Here are my picks

16 - D Gardiner, Negating fullback - A bit of a Lonergan replacement for next year or the following. However, some of his footage reminds me a little of Scarlo
36 - C Giles, Looking for a Boris/Mackie replacement down the track
41 - J Tippett - Risky take but a lot of upside. Not sure if his personality is better than that of his brother - but the mature age is attractive as a potential hole plugger if we have a couple of injuries down back.

I've gone with the assumption that the footy dept will be happy enough with our available mids and forwards for the moment. It's our backline that is thin on the ground and has impending retirements of Boris, Domsy, Rivers and Mackie coming up

Shoulder injury - damaged in a tackle apparently. Looks to have done a lot of work on his upper body and shoulder has recovered very well according to the article. Agree with your comparisons to Corey , the way the game is trending with respect to the size of mids would feel comfortable with one or two around the 190cm mark.
All the talk is around Fyfe , Barlow and Mundy but we pioneered it with the likes of Ling , Corey and Rooke.
I love the way Stokes and Bundy go about it but you also need the big mean fockers to protect and intimidate.:thumbsu:

I like that last line F2G, a man after my own heart.

Is he honestly that big?......because I'm blown away by the run time, that's just something special.
If we can inject those big bodies again Stokes and Bundy will just rake up the stats, even more than they do now.
I've been talking up Dunstan for P16, he's built like a bull and knows it, he reminds me of Michael Voss.
Then if we got your bloke Robertson would be amazing.

OK - I've held off ... but here we go!

Here are my picks

16 - D Gardiner, Negating fullback - A bit of a Lonergan replacement for next year or the following. However, some of his footage reminds me a little of Scarlo
36 - C Giles, Looking for a Boris/Mackie replacement down the track
41 - J Tippett - Risky take but a lot of upside. Not sure if his personality is better than that of his brother - but the mature age is attractive as a potential hole plugger if we have a couple of injuries down back.

I've gone with the assumption that the footy dept will be happy enough with our available mids and forwards for the moment. It's our backline that is thin on the ground and has impending retirements of Boris, Domsy, Rivers and Mackie coming up

Not sure we'd take Gardiner and Giles, I suspect we might pass on both and take Sully a bit later.

Gardiner probably projects to a third tall in the AFL, and I just don't think he has the offensive game to make it worthwhile.

Would be extremely disappointed if we took Tippett. Still a long way off understanding how to play at the next level.

I understand we need a little bit of KPD help/depth, but I strongly, strongly doubt we would use all 3 of our picks on KPDs...

Hodge, Bartel, Dangerfield, Boak, Jonathan Brown, Ling, Scarlett, Maxwell, Rohan, ... and of course G Ablett Jr ... does your mate know the Mayor of Toronto by any chance? :p

Why not just compare all their stats when they were 17/18yo Falcons. And see how it works out?
No one so far as done that. I can't be bothered :D

Comparing guys 10 years plus into their career to a kid never tried at AFL level is ridiculous though.
Regardless of how unlikely it is Lewis Taylor will be better than all that lot, it's still absurd.

16. Dunstan
36. Gardiner
41. Bourke*

We need an inside animal basically, and this Dunstan will be loyal and have leadership.

Slightly undersized Gardiner, and I think he will slip like Kersten in a strong midfielders' draft.

*Had Garlett at 41 but the Hawks have pick 38 so no chance he will drop that far I think.
Bourke is that utility sized mid we love to get, home grown, lot of upside to develop.

PS Not expecting to get any of those right. I never do!

Why not just compare all their stats when they were 17/18yo Falcons. And see how it works out?
No one so far as done that. I can't be bothered :D

Comparing guys 10 years plus into their career to a kid never tried at AFL level is ridiculous though.
Regardless of how unlikely it is Lewis Taylor will be better than all that lot, it's still absurd.

I certainly can't be bothered either!! I just thought it was a huge call!

16. Dunstan
36. Gardiner
41. Garlett

We need an inside animal basically, and this Dunstan will be loyal and have leadership.

Slightly undersized Gardiner, and I think he will slip like Kersten in a strong midfielders' draft.

I reckon Garlett is an absolute long shot, but if we got Gardiner, we won't take Sully, and we might just back our program and culture to get Garlett into line. Would certainly be best available at that pick.

PS Not expecting to get any of those right. I never do!

Suspect Gartlett will probably go to Hawthorn at 24. Would love to get him at 41, but I strongly doubt he'll still be on the board.

16 - Acres
36 - Conlon
41 - Christensen

Not sure we'd take Gardiner and Giles, I suspect we might pass on both and take Sully a bit later.

Gardiner probably projects to a third tall in the AFL, and I just don't think he has the offensive game to make it worthwhile.

Would be extremely disappointed if we took Tippett. Still a long way off understanding how to play at the next level.

I understand we need a little bit of KPD help/depth, but I strongly, strongly doubt we would use all 3 of our picks on KPDs...

I think we need a LOT down there. I accept that we could do with an midfield 'animal' as THP puts it but I think the club will be hoping Caddy and Schroder can do that for now + I can't see a genuine one at 16. Reckoning Dunstan will be gone.

We are seriously down to eight genuine defenders on the list (plus Hunt, Walker, Hamling and Bartel who shouldn't be there) - five of whom will retire within 3 years - given we often play a 7 man defence ... I'm just doing maths and reckon we'll go for two or three defenders.

I like that last line F2G, a man after my own heart.

Is he honestly that big?......because I'm blown away by the run time, that's just something special.
If we can inject those big bodies again Stokes and Bundy will just rake up the stats, even more than they do now.
I've been talking up Dunstan for P16, he's built like a bull and knows it, he reminds me of Michael Voss.
Then if we got your bloke Robertson would be amazing.

Our prognostications on our picks have centred around "knowing" what wells woes.. at least to a degree.

One thing he does not shy away from , is picking the damaged goods if he feels the goods are under valued. Roberston to me falls into this catogory. At 191 and his ability to run and play hard , he is better than a mid 30's pick. He could be another Menzel for us or he could develop into a blend of Rooke and Corey.

So the question we have to ask ourselves is ... do we feel lucky? What the risk?

Our prognostications on our picks have centred around "knowing" what wells woes.. at least to a degree.

One thing he does not shy away from , is picking the damaged goods if he feels the goods are under valued. Roberston to me falls into this catogory. At 191 and his ability to run and play hard , he is better than a mid 30's pick. He could be another Menzel for us or he could develop into a blend of Rooke and Corey.

So the question we have to ask ourselves is ... do we feel lucky? What the risk?

I wonder if they want to take Conlon as well, another player with significant injury history, if that will play into it... Surely you can't take two like that?

That was pretty much my logic with Joel Tippett - his brother's name and actions will no doubt count against him as will "failing" at Gold Coast. His results at the state draft camp were pretty impressive apparently and he's the right size and age.

And yeah - I'm just second guessing what a Wells might do. Though Wells seems more prone to picking up injured players rather than ones who've shown character faults

Pretty amazing specimen this kid, according to a news article the shoulder's now fine ,so I hope Wells has an extra close look because that sort of running in a big frame is freaky.

From all accounts he's pretty hard and likes letting others know he's there, could be a bargain for us.

I like a tall running mid who can take a mark - and that is Acres. He does look a Wells type to me being so versatile, tall and good decision maker.

I prefer Dunstan on need - more of bigger body, more an 'animal mid' that we need. And with good leadership skills.

I would be happy with either one. Acres is more a Thurlow type player in my book and Dunstan more a Corey but smaller in size.

I agree, and have been writing for a long time now, that we need a better midfield ahead of anything else. And soon Kelly will be gone as well. We need mids and more mids and a decent ruckman. Happy with Simpson - and I think Caddy will be an animal mid for us.

I just love the Cam Mooney type players who give 100 % and have a bit of aggression about them. Rooke is another. Just cannot have enough of these type of players.

Dunstan for me then is the best pick for us at 16 and I think he will be there - if you believe the phantom drafts going around. If he is gone then Acres will be there and we will take him.

Going forward we need a Dunstan type player and hope that GHS comes good - and Caddy becomes that animal mid we need as well.

Don't mind Tsitas either as then we could have a genuine midfield tagger that is hard. But think we will miss out on him.