Preview Geelong V Brisbane Prelim Final Sat Oct 17 7 40 pm @ Gabba

Yes but DazBroncos posted pregame direct quotes from Mathew Knights on K Rock ( which i enjoy reading each week just before the start of the game - either Knights /Enright or Scarlett - they interview pre game )

And Knights said amongst other things - they want to move the ball quicker ( and at training during the week they had placed a real emphasis on that ) and they didnt want to be timid

Obviously - you didnt read that mate

Didn't hear it before the game, I admit. But the comment about not being 'timid' makes even more sense to me than the direction to move the ball quicker. I thought the more noticeable improvement was not in moving the ball more quickly, but moving the ball more decisively. We looked settled from the first bounce, and not reactive or looking to ease our way into the contest.

Under the current game plan, this team is always generally happy to move the ball quickly if they can get in position to do so. Take the third quarter against the Power, for example. We got slaughtered around the ball, found it locked in our back half, and didn't show any ability to work the ball upfield with 'control' against an effective Port press.

If the defenders had simply decided to 'go quick' when we were under siege, we just would have kicked it back to them more and more often, with the prospect of greater and greater scores against as a result. We were trying to stem the bleeding of getting dominated around the ball and territorially, didn't work hard enough to create free options to move the ball forward, and ended up trapped and out of ideas in just vainly kicking the ball away. In a nutshell, the ball never got far enough upfield under our 'control' in order for us to be able to go quickly.

That aspect of the game was very different on Saturday night. We were able to exit the ball from our defensive area much more effectively (with judicious use of forward handball as a key improvement), and then got to positions on the field where we could go quickly to effect.

So, yes, it's all very well to say you want to move the ball more quickly. Unless you end up doing well enough around the ball and avoid getting dominated in the territory battle, that is just a vain hope and an invitation to keep giving the ball back to your opposition if you are not set up to contest for the ball further upfield.

This team can certainly play quicker when we win the ball at the source and play the game closer to the opposition's goals. When we don't do that, we are going to (like other teams in the same situation) look slow, indecisive and timid. And no amount of 'wishing and hoping' from the coaching staff (let alone posters here) is going to change that.

The other thing that really helped with that was that Collingwood's disposal forward was just woeful and so instead of winning the ball off a spoil, we were able to win it by marking, and really just go from there with an unprepared opposition.

Their forward entries and forward pressure were both generally poor, I agree. Certainly a luxury I don't expect we'll have offered to us from any of our prospective opponents from here.

Not with Daniel Rich and Lachie Neale distributing the footy, no.

This would be a tantalising matchup if they get Daniher and we get Cameron next year.

We play attacking football like in the first half against the pies we win.

try to win this through precision hold and control football we lose.

basically we need to get the coach out of the way to win.
did you not see how he implored Selwood to make sure the team was on the front foot against Pies just pre the start?
CS is not the reason we don't play attacking footy- it's 100% the players being able to assert their authority from the get-go.

Cats by 20+ if we kick straight and Scott doesn't try implement a sh*t defensive minded game plan. Need to play attacking, fast flowing football and take our chances. Lions will be hungry but our experience should prevail.
did you not see how he implored Selwood to make sure the team was on the front foot against Pies just pre the start?
CS is not the reason we don't play attacking footy- it's 100% the players being able to assert their authority from the get-go.

7 goal 3rd quarter got the job done last time we met them at the SCG.

That game aside, the two teams have held the advantage at home each time we've met in recent years - although we got mighty close the last time we faced the Lions at the Gabba.

I reckon our midfield matches up reasonably well against theirs.
Their forward line is dangerous but our troubles them too.

Someone has to engage Harris as best as possible to keep him from floating around the backline unchecked.

Don't let the likes of Robinson and Zorko get under our skin; we've got the group to match them man-for-man, just have to remain disciplined and focused to give ourselves a chance.
Im shocked about this post. In a very humble way. I mean i feel like we should be no where near Geelong.

But for you to say your midfield matches up reasonably well with ours shows me how far we have come and the respect showen by opposition now is so totally different to the norm.

Selwood may be playing his 10th? Prelim. But im going to my first. (Our last one i was 13). We are close to the same age. How crazy is that.

Kudos to your team. I watched them completely destroy Collingwood live last week. I hope for a different result.

Here's to a cracking game.

I'm just going to hide this in here if its ok.
2-3 years back I was watching 360 and i thought 'bomber, what drug are you on?'

I haven't watched it for a year. easily.
But i'm watching it right now.

What is robbo on? he cant even talk properly.
I like the guy. But he is cooked.

He's had a lot of work done on his fangs.

100% agree in a sense that when I say "here's to a cracking game" that means I hope we smash the living sh*t out of you guys.

So in saying that. Here's to a cracking game.
“Cracking”

Danger unleashed into the fwd line is the ace up the sleeve. No one expected it, no one planned for it, no one saw it coming. It's like flipping over the final card in poker and revealing a royal flush and you've gone all in. Bring it home boys!!
I loved it when crashed that pack , would love to see him do it again for the next few games if we are lucky

The defenders were worried all night after that

I loved it when crashed that pack , would love to see him do it again for the next few games if we are lucky

The defenders were worried all night after that
There is extra time should we have a drawn final. 2 games will be fine