Geelong's qualifying final will be on the Saturday

Oct 17, 2006
NSW
Manchester City, Western Sydney W
Since the Pies and Bulldogs and Saints all play on the Sunday, Saints v whoever (most likely Dogs) will be on the Sunday. We wont play on the friday as the Pies and Dogs both play on sunday.

So that means we are gonna be saturday at the MCG most likely against the Pies. Would we prefer night or day? personally i dont care but i reckon the boys would prefer day as it suits our style better. The slick quick movement of the ball would work better when there is little due on the ground which happens at night. May not be a big deal but i think we need every advantage we can get.

Looking forward to the game and i am confident we can beat the Pies if we do playu them, in fact im hoping we play the Pies!

Re: Our finals game is definitely gonna be on the Saturday

Wow it has been a long time since Geelong have been the underdogs but i like it. Although it wouldn't surprise me if betting odds still had us at a better chance.

Anyways yeah i would prefer it was a day game too.

Prefer day to night.

Its hard to believe we will go into this match as "underdog".

I dotn care if we are underdogs or overcats :D WE ARE GEELONG! we will be getting a lot of players back and they will get some miles in their legs this saturday against Freo.

I honestly think the boys have been waiting for finals. and u kniw the results havent been as bad as we make out.

We lost ot st kilda in the game of the season by 6. We lost to the bulldogs a top 4 team by 14 and we were not that good. We lost to Brissy Lions but we had so many out that day. The only real performance of concern was cartlon but the blues are 5th. So i dont know why people are panicking.

We will be fine i am confident come finals time. Lets look at the positives, Mooney and hawkins are comign good, add Johnson and Chapman and we will be looking good up front.

Makybe Diva Stakes Day during the day, so make it the night!

That being said, I don't go to the Collingwood game each year and give my tickets to others. Simply cannot stand their fans.

I'd prefer day but it'll be Pies at the G on Sat night as I've said all along.

It's confirmed our match v Pies or Dogs will be 7.50pm Saturday.

... sounds like a home game for the Pies, doesn't it? :(

hehe relax mate :) we have been there done that at the MCG before :)

we have beaten the pies numerous times at the MCG in big games. I know times are different now but i keep telling people, we are SECOND!

WHo have the pies got that worry us? didak and davis. We can take care of them dont worry :)

It's confirmed our match v Pies or Dogs will be 7.50pm Saturday.

... sounds like a home game for the Pies, doesn't it? :(

Confirmed by who?? Would have thought that the interstate game may be at night if that senario eventuates..

Have been waiting for this game since the GF.This is the first step to redemption, lift for the occasion, put in a solid four quarter performance, WIN, and earn the week off.I'm pumped.

Is the the finals ticketing same as the GF ticketing arangements !! = 1 membership to 1 ticket...

Who confirmed it??!!
I think you'll find it will be a day game.

Was reported in The Age today. Plus look at 2nd v 3rd from previous years - always at night (Hawks v Dogs last year, Port v Eagles in 2007) while the top team gets the Sunday arvo slot.

FWIW I would much prefer an arvo match!

Was reported in The Age today. Plus look at 2nd v 3rd from previous years - always at night (Hawks v Dogs last year, Port v Eagles in 2007) while the top team gets the Sunday arvo slot.

FWIW I would much prefer an arvo match!

Right...
Hate night finals. Atmosphere is great but the actual footy is nowhere near as good quality IMO. Mind you, a repeat of 2007 PF would be sweeet!!!

confirmed my bollocks. as said, if brisbane get a home game, that will be saturday night. geel/pies sat arvo. carlton/whoever friday night, saints dogs sunday.

I hope you're right... would feel a lot more confident going into a day game, as crazy as that sounds.

Geelong's qualifying final will be on the Saturday