No Oppo Supporters General AFL Discussion #12 - Carlton Posters ONLY!

We're going to work on it?

Stability at board level with real pure football people having the monogram in the Carlton Football Clubs best interests . Not sacking Voss but add a layer , a nuance , a small change that could have a bigger impact. And players being braver and more instinctual in in game actions and execution.? I’m all for that .

Question: I’ve been speaking to a lot of blues fans and it’s almost unanimous that this has been the most disassociated and unemotionally invested with the club that they have been. Is this consistent with you?

We’ve gone through some hard times the last 20 years but I feel the clubs connection in the fans is the worst it’s ever been
Mate employed in the AFL says he's never seen Carlton fans so frustrated or uninterested and he deals with lots of exposure to fans!

Matches exactly how I and all the Carlton supporters I have asked. It’s not a good look for the club.

Vossy keeps talking about how much the fans mean to the club. Well he’s losing the fans very fast

The most disappointing thing has been the transformation from the exciting brand of last year, that was gifted the most prime time slots- to the ugly brand that has seen us sent back to off Broadway.

Hawks deserve to be punished worse then us for our salary cap rorts.

This has brought the game into disrepute far more than what we ever did imo. And possibly worse than *'s drug scandal.

Huh?
I don’t get the angst towards Hawthorn at all, a few things happened with Indigenous players and wanted to understand how they were going and what their experiences were in the name of doing better.

What they got back from that must have knocked them down with a feather, I just don’t think they knew some of the shit that was happening.

They had no choice but to take it to the AFL as every club is required to do. Doubt anyone at Hawthorn or the AFL leaked it to the press, absolute dynamite accusations that both Hawthorn and the AFL would have loved nothing more than to deal with under the cloke of darkness out of sight.

Just can’t see any reason why Hawthorn should be met with any sanctions

Last edited by a moderator:
Huh?
I don’t get the angst towards Hawthorn at all, a few things happened with Indigenous players and wanted to understand how they were going and what their experiences were in the name of doing better.

What they got back from that must have knocked them down with a feather, I just don’t think they knew some of the s**t that was happening.

They had no choice but to take it to the AFL as every club is required to do. Doubt anyone at Hawthorn or the AFL leaked it to the press, absolute dynamite accusations that both Hawthorn and the AFL would have loved nothing more than to deal with under the cloke of darkness out of sight.

Just can’t see any reason why Hawthorn should be met with any sanctions

Is the question of sanctions for HFC for how they handled the review or for the behaviour of their staff the review was focussed on?

In terms of the review it doesnt seem they have done much wrong.

Last edited by a moderator:

Being frustrated means you are interested isn’t it🧐

If you weren’t interested at all you wouldn’t be frustrated…I’m not going tonight because I want to be able to change the channel before the frustration is taking out on the TV and a stubby goes through it.

But I’m interested to see if a miracle unfolds….

It's because of the utterly incompetent way that they ran the investigation, which has then brought disrepute upon the AFL

Maybe, clearly they weren’t expecting what they got back at all.

Doesn’t mean they should be sanctioned for trying to do better

Being frustrated means you are interested isn’t it🧐

If you weren’t interested at all you wouldn’t be frustrated…I’m not going tonight because I want to be able to change the channel before the frustration is taking out on the TV and a stubby goes through it.

But I’m interested to see if a miracle unfolds….

The fans that are interested are more frustrated than he's noticed and the rest are just done - was just short handing my wordcount

Because of who they got to do it, and the framework they put around it, terms of reference etc.
The whole thing has been a debacle.
I think they could have done a better job around who was interviewed but the biggest issue was it found its way to the ABC journo, i dont imagine HFC would have been responsible for that.

Hope those players and families get the justice and or closure that they need.

Sure. It'll be fine for Clarko et al to make squillions sueing out of this debacle. But God forbid any indigenous players get compensation.

It's because of the utterly incompetent way that they ran the investigation, which has then brought disrepute upon the AFL
It's kind of like they found a hornets nest at their front door and decided that the best way to deal with it was to take their clothes off and whack the nest with a stick a lot of times.

Can't help but feel we probably have seen the last of Nic-Nat at AFL level, which really sucks, cause at his prime/best was probably my favourite non Carlton player to watch, and alas we didn't get see him enough at his best (he missed our on their memorable 2018 premiership)

He and Matty Kreuzer were two enormously talented big men who deserved a lot better from the injury gods :(

Can't help but feel we probably have seen the last of Nic-Nat at AFL level, which really sucks, cause at his prime/best was probably my favourite non Carlton player to watch, and alas we didn't get see him enough at his best (he missed our on their memorable 2018 premiership)

He and Matty Kreuzer were two enormously talented big men who deserved a lot better from the injury gods :(

Maybe a few games at the backend of next year Elmer. Carlton is what concerns me though.

TBH I forgot we were playing last Friday night and I did tune in but tuned out due to us not playing that great. The same thing happened the week before. I really don't understand how the team has dropped off so massively after the WC win. I'm ok with Harry getting the yips because it happens but I'm not ok with the team not turning up and playing with desire and intensity. Probably us not winning is why I haven't been posting and I also don't want to read crap from drive by posters.
Oh and good evening everyone. Oh and I do read the match here so I get to read what is going on and if we are doing better I will tune in.

Not sure where to say this, this thread feels about right, MENtal Brekky has it's keynote speaker for 19/10/2023:

Tom Boyd

To be held at the Nursery of Champions, St Patrick's College, Ballarat. Cost is $75 per seat, $750 a table of 10, includes breakfast, coffee/tea, bonus door prizes, silent auction, raffle.