News GMHBA Stadium Stage 5 Redevelopment

Now though, it's a world class complex. On par with the likes of Stamford Bridge, Old Trafford and alike in the EPL, and many of the stadiums across the NFL in the US.
Cant quite tell if you are being serious or not - Stamford bridge is well past its use-by date and there is talk of replacing it, or moving elsewhere, and Old Trafford is now considered a joke, leaky roof and all - equivalent of Moorabin back in the day. Would be an embarrassment to be on par with those.

Kinda my point.

If those stadiums are good enough for world class sport and big games, then why isn't ours? Plays into this weird philosophy that we have here that the standard of the stadium is more important than home field.

You're right though, ours probably exceeds those nowadays.

Anyone have an issue with the way the roof looks on the new stand? Compared to the rest of the stadium. Would have liked it to look the same right the way round. (Just an observation, very grateful we have a new stand)

Yeah I was gonna say the same thing but I didn't know how to word it. Looks a bit odd

Anyone have an issue with the way the roof looks on the new stand?
I was surprised to see this when it was first revealed it would align and continue, because it's always been this way through the many stages and designs released over the years/decade(s).

Looks great TBH.
Unique different quirky whatever way u wanna put it.
The stadium has been a work in progress over a long period of time and during that time things have most likely changed in engineering, design and above all costs involved.
I think the differing looks, angles and visuals are what will always make it unique across the Australian sporting landscape.
But everyone will have their differing views.

Yeah I was gonna say the same thing but I didn't know how to word it. Looks a bit odd

The roof is slightly higher to accomodate a commentary box for cricket. If the roof was kept same level, lots of seats would be taken out.

Honestly, they should have done the same thing in the brownlow stand because the footy commentary boxes take up a heap of real estate

The roof is slightly higher to accomodate a commentary box for cricket. If the roof was kept same level, lots of seats would be taken out.

Honestly, they should have done the same thing in the brownlow stand because the footy commentary boxes take up a heap of real estate
I agree. Surely would have been a budgetary issue.

Its what you get when funds for such change have to be found overtime (most stadia are built in one go). Thank goodness for govt help yes, but the club has also done a lot of heavy lifting over the years.

When you think that 4 premierships have been won while the overall project was brought to fruition ....its time to say....Amen and go cats!

Looks great TBH.
Unique different quirky whatever way u wanna put it.
The stadium has been a work in progress over a long period of time and during that time things have most likely changed in engineering, design and above all costs involved.
I think the differing looks, angles and visuals are what will always make it unique across the Australian sporting landscape.
But everyone will have their differing views.
Yeah I tend to agree. Stadiums that look the same the entire way around/have one continuous roof look boring imho

Oh ok wasn't aware of that, that explains it. Thanks. Wonder why they didn't do the same for the Brownlow stand..budget issue?

Makes it more unique which I like.

Better than same height stands around the whole ground, like the Gabba. Boring.

We're a unique case where we're a Vic club, but we're actually closer to the interstate clubs belief in terms of the #VICBIAS ideology.
Saw someone on r/AFL on Reddit (i think a Lions supporter?) say this exact comment.
Geelong are the red headed step child of the VFL when it comes to schedules.

Much more aligned with the non-Vic clubs in terms of scheduling.
I reckon the only ones who ever kick up a fuss about "capacity" are MCG tenant team fans.

Saw someone on r/AFL on Reddit (i think a Lions supporter?) say this exact comment.
Geelong are the red headed step child of the VFL when it comes to schedules.

Much more aligned with the non-Vic clubs in terms of scheduling.
I reckon the only ones who ever kick up a fuss about "capacity" are MCG tenant team fans.
Yep, in all truth, it's never really been #VICBIAS, it's really just #BIG4BIAS, although it's not nearly as catchy for the masses.

The Dogs, Norf, & St Kilda are all in a similar boat when it comes to finals, as all would prefer to play at Marvel if it was up to them, which is in a way similar to us.

The only real 'bias' that exists is Collingwood, Richmond, Essendon, & Carlton, and to a lesser degree, Melbourne & Hawthorn.

Particularly Collingwood & Richmond, where you get 9-11 'home' games at the MCG, followed by a further 4-6 'away' games also at the MCG.

You're essentially playing something like 14-17 'home' games a year, with another couple just down the road at Marvel (which they still manage to whinge about)

For instance, that Richmond run through 2019 was just ridiculous.

They fully deserved their flag, and probably win it anyway, but 7 games in a row to finish the year all at the MCG certainly helps, particularly when the premier is almost always the team playing the best footy during that time period.

Imagine if we ended the year with 7 straight games at Kardinia Park, after already playing 4-7 there earlier in the year too.

If we just won all our home games, we're virtually guaranteed top 4 even if we sucked everywhere else.

As awesome as it would be for us, it wouldn't be fair....but that's the deal they get.

This precisely the BS that sh*ts anyone with a brain about the competition. Our home will finally be complete, in time one would hope we'd eventually get a decent fixture, and all the MCG-based w***ers will sook to no end...despite years of this for them.

Truth be told those interstate clubs that spend weeks on the road and planes have it pretty crap. That said, it's also no excuse. After all it's not stopped the likes of West Coast and Brisbane from winning flags.

This precisely the BS that sh*ts anyone with a brain about the competition. Our home will finally be complete, in time one would hope we'd eventually get a decent fixture, and all the MCG-based w***ers will sook to no end...despite years of this for them.
They still like to say WE are in fact the ones who have it easy.

Don’t know how many times I’ve heard “bUt YoU GeT tO tRaIn On yOuRs”

Over the course of the season to the flag Collingwood played 17 games at the MCG and 3 at Marvel. Yet god forbid we get a couple of extra home games. Last year we got 9 at GMHBA. I think the interstate teams should be channeling their frustrations on every Melbourne based team before us.

There was a comedian on SEN recently saying Collingwood are the greatest underachievers in world sport.

It was toungue in cheek, and clearly being talkback radio it set a cat amongst the pidgeons with angry Collingwood supporters losing their minds over it...but there's a kernel of truth in it too.

- You're playing 14-17 games in your home state every year, sleeping in your own beds, driving 15 minutes to the stadiums.

- You're the biggest club in the land.

- Every game you play has the crowd in your favour.

- You've got the best facilities in the league

.....and you've won 3 flags in 70 odd years?

We got the perfect example in 2020, when most people were of the belief that if Brisbane, West Coast or Port won the premiership, there would be an asterisk as they hardly had to travel all year.

The circumstances those clubs played under that year, are the exact same circumstances Collingwood play under EVERY year.

It came to a head for me when Darcy Moore (who I actually really like) was talking about the challenges of winning a flag, and said "all those away games, all those interstate trips" play a huge part.

I'm sorry Darcy, how many? 3 or 4? Good heavens!! How will you survive the treachery of that?!?

Imagine for a second if the West Coast Eagles got 17 games in Perth, or Geelong 14 at Kardinia Park, and 3 at the MCG/Marvel.

They'd be a lock for top 4, probably top 2 every single year.

Both clubs (along with Hawthorn) have been the benchmarks of the AFL era already, and would almost certainly have another couple flags as well if those were their circumstances.

There was a comedian on SEN recently saying Collingwood are the greatest underachievers in world sport.

It was toungue in cheek, and clearly being talkback radio it set a cat amongst the pidgeons with angry Collingwood supporters losing their minds over it...but there's a kernel of truth in it too.

- You're playing 14-17 games in your home state every year, sleeping in your own beds, driving 15 minutes to the stadiums.

- You're the biggest club in the land.

- Every game you play has the crowd in your favour.

- You've got the best facilities in the league

.....and you've won 3 flags in 70 odd years?

We got the perfect example in 2020, when most people were of the belief that if Brisbane, West Coast or Port won the premiership, there would be an asterisk as they hardly had to travel all year.

The circumstances those clubs played under that year, are the exact same circumstances Collingwood play under EVERY year.

It came to a head for me when Darcy Moore (who I actually really like) was talking about the challenges of winning a flag, and said "all those away games, all those interstate trips" play a huge part.

I'm sorry Darcy, how many? 3 or 4? Good heavens!! How will you survive the treachery of that?!?

Imagine for a second if the West Coast Eagles got 17 games in Perth, or Geelong 14 at Kardinia Park, and 3 at the MCG/Marvel.

They'd be a lock for top 4, probably top 2 every single year.

Both clubs (along with Hawthorn) have been the benchmarks of the AFL era already, and would almost certainly have another couple flags as well if those were their circumstances.
I didn't hear him say that. Poor Collingwood lol his hair must get frizzy after a long flight.
Massive underachievers if you put it like that.

News GMHBA Stadium Stage 5 Redevelopment