AFL Club Focus

Oct 30, 2007
West End Redbacks, Cleveland Browns
Data from footywire. To check the draft order see the thread here.

Footywire says: "While we make every effort to keep up to date with player contracts, it is likely that our data may at times be out of date, incomplete or inaccurate. If you find any player contracts that need updating, please let us know using our brand new contract submission form."

It’s been reported that both Alex sexton and brayden fiorini extended another year to smooth out some money.
Their new contracts finish end of 2024

Couple of massive signatures to get done.
IMO, only Noah Anderson is a massive signature.

Flanders seems happy but still not cemented best 22. It's probably about how he goes in 2023. Rosas the same. Sharp could leave as he tried in the off-season, but he is in and out of line-up. Then role players Farrar and Holman. Sexton and Fiorini extended. The rest potential trade/de-list material.

Rosas will resign.
Building nicely.
Should get a lot of games this year if can stay in decent form given absence of Rankine.

Darwin games and a number of team mates from Darwin.

I think he is in for a good year.
Can certainly see why his agent hasn't made the move to sign just yet. If he has a good first half of the year and can keep hitting the scoreboard, whilst continuing to provide good pressure he'll add a few dollars to his contract.
IMO, only Noah Anderson is a massive signature.

Flanders seems happy but still not cemented best 22. It's probably about how he goes in 2023. Rosas the same. Sharp could leave as he tried in the off-season, but he is in and out of line-up. Then role players Farrar and Holman. Sexton and Fiorini extended. The rest potential trade/de-list material.

Rosas will resign.
Building nicely.
Should get a lot of games this year if can stay in decent form given absence of Rankine.

Darwin games and a number of team mates from Darwin.

I think he is in for a good year.
Can certainly see why his agent hasn't made the move to sign just yet. If he has a good first half of the year and can keep hitting the scoreboard, whilst continuing to provide good pressure he'll add a few dollars to his contract.
Yeah, I am optimistic about re-signing all players we want to keep. The only one I doubt is Sharp, if he continues his sulking. Obviously, I am nervous until Noah re-signs.

Mac Andrew

Former pick 5 from the 2021 draft (taken in between Daicos and Rachele). Has only played 10 career games, shown some promise down back.

Has just received his second club imposed suspension for the year. Touk Miller revealed it was due to a cumulation of behaviours over a number of months. Doesn't sound good.

He is a huge talent, but obviously not fitting in. What's he worth in a trade?

For a 202cm bloke that’s built like a twig, it’s pretty impressive that he’s in our best 22 as it is. I didn’t think he’d crack it into the team until his 3rd/4th year.

Made one big mistake in the off season, which has probably led to him getting dropped after a not so big mistake.

But maybe worry about his trade value when his contract is up in 2025.

For a 202cm bloke that’s built like a twig, it’s pretty impressive that he’s in our best 22 as it is. I didn’t think he’d crack it into the team until his 3rd/4th year.

Made one big mistake in the off season, which has probably led to him getting dropped after a not so big mistake.

But maybe worry about his trade value when his contract is up in 2025.
Touk Miller said yes, he'd missed a recovery session, but that the leadership group really decided to suspend him on the back of little things "over the past six months". Your footy manager said "we believe Mac needs to understand the demands of playing AFL football".

For this to come six months after a drink-driving charge, following which he was supposed to be doing community work and winning back the trust of the club, is a pretty bad sign. Given his talent, clubs back home will be on him like flies. A definite watch for me.

Touk Miller said yes, he'd missed a recovery session, but that the leadership group really decided to suspend him on the back of little things "over the past six months". Your footy manager said "we believe Mac needs to understand the demands of playing AFL football".

For this to come six months after a drink-driving charge, following which he was supposed to be doing community work and winning back the trust of the club, is a pretty bad sign. Given his talent, clubs back home will be on him like flies. A definite watch for me.
If he prefers to just take the easy option and go home it says everything you need to know about his mentality,

If he digs in, listens and learns and comes back a better team mate - it tells you everything you need to know.

Plenty of good players have had difficult times. I hope he works through it.

If he prefers to just take the easy option and go home it says everything you need to know about his mentality,

If he digs in, listens and learns and comes back a better team mate - it tells you everything you need to know.

Plenty of good players have had difficult times. I hope he works through it.
It's my opinion that backing up a huge mistake with six months of barely going through the motions probably says everything you need to know about his mentality.

Of course you're right, he can still turn it around. It's good leadership from the Suns to go so far as to suspend him again if he's not meeting standards. I just won't be surprised if he's putting up his hand come October, though.

All jokes aside, who is this years Jack Bowes?

We have an abundance of salary cap and almost need to bring in some guys to absorb it. If we can do a potential Geelong style/Jack Bowes first/mid first for say an Elijah Hollands + 60% of said players salary, that would be a big win:win for both parties.

We’ve made no secret of our salary cap space, we have made it clear we’d only trae in guys we would rate/need.

From players that would be handy additions regardless of salary. Sam Flanders and Elijah Hollands, Alex Davies another money all option. Obviously King would be a brilliant get but i hope he does stick fat, Suns are building something nicely and he’d be a key pillar to the buy in from that age demographic.

We have an abundance of salary cap and almost need to bring in some guys to absorb it. If we can do a potential Geelong style/Jack Bowes first/mid first for say an Elijah Hollands + 60% of said players salary, that would be a big win:win for both parties.

We’ve made no secret of our salary cap space, we have made it clear we’d only trae in guys we would rate/need.

From players that would be handy additions regardless of salary. Sam Flanders and Elijah Hollands, Alex Davies another money all option. Obviously King would be a brilliant get but i hope he does stick fat, Suns are building something nicely and he’d be a key pillar to the buy in from that age demographic.

Hollands is not a salary dump. Someone like a atkins maybe might be.

How would Hollands and a 1st in any way be a win for the Suns? Even they aren’t that stupid. He wouldn’t even be on half what Bowes was owed and is very much still a player for the future once Dew ends the trying to turn him into a wing experiment.

After Bowes left and Fiorini/Macpherson restructured, the Suns cap is not a complete mess. Maybe Sexton is the only player I can see being moved on. It will be more players like Flanders and Sharp who want to go home for opportunity.

No one will ever get the deal Cats got. AFL will tighten the rules after the reigning Premiers benefited. Well played Cats👏

Sounds like the salary cap is under control now.

Doesn't mean players won't leave. Reckon Flanders will go. Sharp a certainty. Hollands I hope he stays and improves, but I doubt he is on enough money to cause a problem like Brodie and Bowes were.

Reckon GWS is the place to look now. Get Whitfield and one of their firsts for his whole salary maybe?

It looks like Hollands is still on his initial contract so... no real dump involved. Probably need someone on a high contract that is expendable and is about to be replaced by the kids they bringing in. How much is Chol on for example? With Walter coming in..do they still need him?

My guess that unless they are really in a corner .. a pick like last year will not happen without something coming back pretty good.

Sounds like the salary cap is under control now.

Doesn't mean players won't leave. Reckon Flanders will go. Sharp a certainty. Hollands I hope he stays and improves, but I doubt he is on enough money to cause a problem like Brodie and Bowes were.

Reckon GWS is the place to look now. Get Whitfield and one of their firsts for his whole salary maybe?
Whitfield would be great on a wing.
He’s still got it hey?

Club Focus Gold Coast SUNS 2023