Good Friday footy - what's the pass mark for the crowd?

Medallion Club and corporate seats will probably be the deciding factor over whether it's a good crowd or a great one.
I'd say pretty confidently it will get over 40k.

People will probably bitch even if there is 45-50k.

Once it dawns on people - aka after this year - you can go out and have a few beers and then see the footy on Good Friday, the most boring day of the year, it will sell out every year.

Same as once people worked out you could have a few beers and go to the footy on Friday nights, they became big.

The same pattern as Friday night is evident here. Sniping petty Essendon supporters will bag the concept. But once is proven to be a success, they will whinge and moan and to get some of the action.

Unfortunately, as was demonstrated when 34 of their players were suspended for systemic drug cheating, Essendon cannot be relied upon to provide reliable large crowds, so their argument is moot.

Collingwood don't go to Etihad for some reason.

North and the Dogs will make it work perfectly, just alternate between who has the home game every year.

Are there any supporters who are non bulldog or north planing on attending?
I'm going, although I am attending with my Bulldogs supporting family

40k minimum...both teams coming off bad losses so it maybe smaller. It should reach 40k, but footy fans are a fickle bunch! What timetable are the trains running on? The weather looks crook? So who knows, but anything less than 30k would be a major disappointment for the AFL

IMO they need to get 40,000. Should there be a call to get this game to the MCG in the future?

The longer term aim is to grow it big enough for the G, yep.

Once it dawns on people - aka after this year - you can go out and have a few beers and then see the footy on Good Friday, the most boring day of the year, it will sell out every year.

Same as once people worked out you could have a few beers and go to the footy on Friday nights, they became big.

The same pattern as Friday night is evident here. Sniping petty Essendon supporters will bag the concept. But once is proven to be a success, they will whinge and moan and to get some of the action.

Unfortunately, as was demonstrated when 34 of their players were suspended for systemic drug cheating, Essendon cannot be relied upon to provide reliable large crowds, so their argument is moot.

North and the Dogs will make it work perfectly, just alternate between who has the home game every year.
:D yeah you're not emotionally invested in us.

You are the saltiest poster on bigfooty I reckon. Looking through your post history is a pisser. Did an Essendon fan shag your mrs?

It's at such a shit time though. For any religious fans, church/mass/whatever you wnat to call it, will clash. I'm going to go to the footy because I'm not overly religious but there will be other things on at the same time that people may favour. Still hoping for 45k but i can see it being disappointing

I'd have thought it perfect. Go to morning mass and then plenty of time to head to the game?

Wtf?

45k - it works, let north and bulldogs have another shot next year
40k - it might work, not with these teams, give it to someone else
30k - failure in Melbourne, move it interstate

I want Adelaide to claim Easter Thursday as our own. We want TNf. Go for the most convenient in the process!!

on the first Anzac day match in its current format there was a literal sell out. Over 95k turned up, and that's what made it the occasion it is now. I was literally sitting on the stairs in the aisle on the top deck of the Southern, along with scores of others.

Petty club sniping aside (although that EFC rant is hilarious) the supporters of both these clubs absolutely owe it to their hard working administrations to turn up in their droves. If they don't, they put at risk everything.

Oh the AFL should and will give them a second run at it, but really, why wouldn't everyone just show up and make it something special from the start? For the record, that's what I think will happen. Pretty handy for everyone involved the bullies won the flag, and North have been agitating for a big occasion for a long time. They got it, they deserved it. Now it's up to their fans to make it work.

Good Friday footy - what's the pass mark for the crowd?