Good Friday footy - what's the pass mark for the crowd?

the supporters of both these clubs absolutely owe it to their hard working administrations to turn up in their droves. If they don't, they put at risk everything.
Spot on. Nothing said on here will change this. Every Bullie and North supporter needs to make every effort to go

enormously important game for these clubs. Seriously, if they don't sell it out there's something badly wrong. The supporters need to make sure they do their bit now and if they don't, they don't deserve the fixture. Simple as that.

Agreed in principle, but give it a few years to really settle in.

That said, I'm tipping it will get a lot closer to 50, if not exceed it, than 40.

Oh the AFL should and will give them a second run at it, but really, why wouldn't everyone just show up and make it something special from the start? For the record, that's what I think will happen. Pretty handy for everyone involved the bullies won the flag, and North have been agitating for a big occasion for a long time. They got it, they deserved it. Now it's up to their fans to make it work.

Agreed on all. Can't imagine why any North fan wouldn't go.

I also think the AFL need to swap it between us and the Dogs as "home game".

Is that what happens between you and Collingwood on Anzac Day?

Agreed on all. Can't imagine why any North fan wouldn't go.

I also think the AFL need to swap it between us and the Dogs as "home game".

Is that what happens between you and Collingwood on Anzac Day?
we split the gate every year. It's the only way to do it imo for the big, fixed blockbusters. That way it evens out the small variations due to weather and form etc.

It's still listed as a home or away game, obviously, which impacts where you can sit and how much (if you're not a full reserved seat member like me) but the profits are shared and I think that makes sense.

I know it's probably preaching to the converted here, but if there's a genuine North fan who lives in Victoria then they absolutely need to get along to the game, in person. There is zero excuse not to, surely, outside of weddings, family stuff etc. Oh, and I guess the religious, but yeah...

Except Sooz, she's flat out cutting up fruit and vegies

agree on both points

I suspect it will very rapidly become a major part of the footy calendar.

It is ridiculous that it has taken this long to happen.

I'd actually love North and Essendon to have something similar. It wouldn't need to be on a "special day" - your fans would make it that hur hur - but simply on the same time every year.

That's how traditions and rivalries are built. I'd love us to play a classic Saturday arvo game in the depths of midwinter every year. Kind of thing you'd arrange stuff around.

I know it's probably preaching to the converted here, but if there's a genuine North fan who lives in Victoria then they absolutely need to get along to the game, in person. There is zero excuse not to, surely, outside of weddings, family stuff etc. Oh, and I guess the religious, but yeah...

Except Sooz, she's flat out cutting up fruit and vegies

For my sins I was educated in pretty Catholic fashion up until I was smart enough to escape it, and I don't recall Jesus anywhere saying that footy couldn't be played on Good Friday.

In reality, Easter Sunday is THE big day of Christianity - Christ is risen and all that.

The real sacrilege is playing on Easter Sunday.

Also disappointing people haven't leapt on the very obvious tin rattling jokes to be made.

BigFooty is losing its edge.

North have been banging on about this for ages.
Now they finally get their chance to prove to the football world that they aren't as irrelevant as most people think.

Etihad has a capacity of around 54,000

Surely North will be able to pull a crowd of 50,000 - minimum

Only game in town

Public Holiday

No Excuses - would be the message from Gill

47k last year, average 29k over the last 11 which were all at Docklands. Dogs finalists 2010, 2015/16, North finalists 2012, 2014/15/16.

Dogs going OK and reigning premier, North playing OK but 0-3 and in a rebuild phase. Ordinarily I'd expect 25-30k, with maybe Friday boosting it to 35k. I'm going to estimate 35-40k but hope for 45k. Bit of a shame that by the time the AFL finally gave the fixture the go ahead North are in the bottom 4.

Is there much promo going on or have the AFL basically left it alone? Each year there is more airtime dedicated to the ANZAC Day match lead up ads, pre-game etc. than the actual game. I haven't heard too much about this game over here.

We keep hearing how great it is that Richmond vs Carlton pulls 75k even when both teams suck, or that ANZAC Day is always a sell out etc. so it will be annoying if this game doesn't attract a bumper crowd. Has the potential to put a lot of pressure on the 'blockbuster = big 4 or Haw vs Geel' thing, but by the same token has the potential for the AFL to say 'well we gave you Good Friday and no one turned up, so back to Sunday twilight for you'.

North have been banging on about this for ages.
Now they finally get their chance to prove to the football world that they aren't as irrelevant as most people think.

Etihad has a capacity of around 54,000

Surely North will be able to pull a crowd of 50,000 - minimum

Only game in town

Public Holiday

No Excuses - would be the message from Gill

Strong location to post linkage.

You are the saltiest poster on bigfooty I reckon. Looking through your post history is a pisser. Did an Essendon fan shag your mrs?

Nah, he's just bitter that despite going through 4 years of hell we still averaged more supporters at our games last year than North have EVER in their history.

The four funniest years of my footy life. God they were great.

Why is there a game on good Friday. Showing absolutely no respect.

There's plenty to do on that day....
Amen

*EDIT*

I'm being sarcastic
You heathen bast***! Damn you to hell....

It's funny isn't it? We all arc up when so called political correctness types tell us that we can no longer call it the Xmas Holidays, Nativity scenes are no longer allowed, can't have Easter egg hunts in kindys, annual Xmas Carroll nights are cancelled etc, all for the fear of offending a minority religious group in this country. Our argument is that this country was founded on Christian principles and if "they" don't like it they can get stuffed. We are Christians first and foremost, damn it! Never does our Christian heritage come to the fore until someone tries to take away or modify a custom associated with a religious event.

And then we go and play footy on the most sacred day of the Christian calendar and no-one says diddley.

I wonder if the sport was run by Gil Mohammed McLabeeb if we would be so accommodating...

You do realise the irony coming from a supporter whose club has one of the biggest blockbuster timeslots of the year, right?

Who wants to see a match which has
Potential Premier vs Potential Wooden Spooner

In fairness to Kangaroos they have been competitive and ok to watch but no one wants to see a 60 pt win by Bulldogs

Good Friday footy - what's the pass mark for the crowd?