Review Good night season 2022

Hard to really disagree with anything King said to be honest.

“I look at Connor Rozee, he’s gone from a headache to a migraine this guy. Is he a contested possession player? Is he a fruit as a top 10 draft pick, or is this what he is? If he is, I think they’re in a bit of trouble".

What is happening with Rozee?
Rozee averaged 13 touches and 0.5 goals a game playing half forward in the u18 championships. Thats whats happening with him.

He's never going to be a big accumulator. He's more of a quality over quantity type player. His disposal was terrible against the Hawks though- 7 turnovers from 13 disposals. In 2019 he looked like he could be anything...

Hard to really disagree with anything King said to be honest.

“I look at Connor Rozee, he’s gone from a headache to a migraine this guy. Is he a contested possession player? Is he a fruit as a top 10 draft pick, or is this what he is? If he is, I think they’re in a bit of trouble".

What is happening with Rozee?
The media will do anything not have a go at our coaching group. The reality is that we have been so close to success that nobody wants to take a shot just in case we actually do win one, but you'll start to see that break down if we rule ourselves out of finals at some stage.
We've had so many players actually get worse, I just find it hard to lay the blame 100% at the feet of each of them. It's too much of a coincidence. A whole group of players don't decide to collectively not give a shit unless there's a bigger problem. He's also called out Dhursma. The media were all over these two a couple of seasons ago. How about asking the question "How many of our players have gone forward in the last few seasons?"
Ollie, Amon, Drew.......hmm..... not sure I can name many more. Butters?... the rest have gone backwards for one reason or another.

He's never going to be a big accumulator. He's more of a quality over quantity type player.
100% this. If he's going to be a superstar, it's going to be in the mould of somebody like a Wanganeen who didn't need a tonne of possessions to open up a game. To me, aside from the last couple of games, his quality has shone through when it counted in big games in the past. It's always been the quality and creativity of his possessions rather than pure numbers.
This is what makes Butters a freak though. He's insanely creative AND gets a lot of possessions. He's also still one of our generators when times are tough.

He's never going to be a big accumulator. He's more of a quality over quantity type player. His disposal was terrible against the Hawks though- 7 turnovers from 13 disposals. In 2019 he looked like he could be anything...
Hes not a quality over quantity player. He can't handball and his kicking is nothing special. But at half back his speed will make him dangerous.
He also averaged over 15 touches and 1.3 goals per game in the AFL as an 18 year old.
He can't lead or crumb so the goals dry up.

He looked like a superstar in the making in his first year at half forward, he has shown the potential to tear games apart up forward and has shown glimpses of what he can do in the middle.

As Rocky said on MMM post game, he desperately needs to improve his handballing to be a permanent midfielder.

Let’s not overreact to him stagnating under Stinkley, particularly after an injury interrupted 2 years.

Hi i'm new here found the forums from other people. i love this club but after that Performance against Hawthorn, i thought this was just such a joke the players looked so uncoordinated. Our Forwards weren't even pressing even the afl commentators were noticing the forwards lack luster performance. Finlayson seems to be a huge let down i don't know why we gave ladhams up. Also may be a bit of a unpopular opinion but i thought Ladhams during the end half of the year was starting to gain some really good form in 2021.

This loss has really made me lose motivation of watching this sport and the 2021 prelim but i thought maybe we could bounce back but i didn't think we would be this shit i think it's a huge wake up call for the port adelaide management and maybe put some pressure on Ken Hinkley as even after the 2021 prelim it seemed like he got let off the hook. I am sick of that happening.
Welcome to the forum mate - even though it's under such adverse circumstances. Hopefully your first week on bigfooty coincides with a win over the enemy.

Probably a function of being perennially injured and unable to train much during the week.

I love the season Jones is having right now but I lean towards using him up forward just to have a pressure forward up there.

Good point. He strikes me as being a bit naive even unsure and let's be honest a few 1v1's against Gunston was like a cat playing with a mouse.

The pressure of defence against a rampaging Hawks who were kicking them out of their arses would put the frighteners on anyone.

Up forward at least he can have some clear air to show his strengths and get his confidence up.

If things work out for the lad he might be a good midfielder. As for Sinn sheesh 1st game and people are jumping on him.

Skinner I had high hopes for and will cut him some slack but he looks crazy slow and in the modern game that's a loud alarm bell.

Finlayson is not a ruckman.

Given what we haven't got out of him and Marshall is it time to blood Ollie Lord?

Good sized key position player who has done a fair bit of ruck work for The Maggies. Solid kick and some mongrel too.

OK he hasn't set the world on fire but who knows. I reckon he's worth rolling the dice on. Give Todd a rest imo.

At least we've made progress in 1 key area we've gone from having 1 goalless quarter in a game, to 2 on Saturday night. Maybe we can take the next step next week against Melbourne, and make it 3.......
Do you think a "professional sports journalist person" might put the question to Ken about our goal-less quarters? Do you think any of them actually watch the game?

Do you think that any of them might consider the fact that, because it's happening so often, it might suggest a problem with the game plan? Of course not - it's all down to the players, right?

Hi i'm new here found the forums from other people. i love this club but after that Performance against Hawthorn, i thought this was just such a joke the players looked so uncoordinated. Our Forwards weren't even pressing even the afl commentators were noticing the forwards lack luster performance. Finlayson seems to be a huge let down i don't know why we gave ladhams up. Also may be a bit of a unpopular opinion but i thought Ladhams during the end half of the year was starting to gain some really good form in 2021.

This loss has really made me lose motivation of watching this sport and the 2021 prelim but i thought maybe we could bounce back but i didn't think we would be this shit i think it's a huge wake up call for the port adelaide management and maybe put some pressure on Ken Hinkley as even after the 2021 prelim it seemed like he got let off the hook. I am sick of that happening.
Welcome. Be sure to join in the Game Day thread, which captures the agony and ecstasy (should we experience any in 2022) in one mature, professional and moderated conversation each week. Normally started early morning on every game day.

(the above may or may not be totally accurate. But join in anyway ;))

The media will do anything not have a go at our coaching group. The reality is that we have been so close to success that nobody wants to take a shot just in case we actually do win one, but you'll start to see that break down if we rule ourselves out of finals at some stage.
We've had so many players actually get worse, I just find it hard to lay the blame 100% at the feet of each of them. It's too much of a coincidence. A whole group of players don't decide to collectively not give a shit unless there's a bigger problem. He's also called out Dhursma. The media were all over these two a couple of seasons ago. How about asking the question "How many of our players have gone forward in the last few seasons?"
Ollie, Amon, Drew.......hmm..... not sure I can name many more. Butters?... the rest have gone backwards for one reason or another.

The problems definitely seem more systemic than individual. Boak has also improved but most of that improvement is because Hinkley was playing him out of position. Motlop cops a lot of flak but we saw at Geelong that he can play, but he's definitely one of those players that has underperformed/gone backwards.
From memory the whole reason we scrapped our run and gun style of footy was because it was thought that we didn't have the skill level or the cattle to execute it. Players like Pittard and Kane Mitchell were used as the poster boys for why it was too risky.

Looking over the Hinkley period our development has been a problem. Take forwards as an example. We've never been able to develop quality forwards and we've never really tried to recruit them. Jesse Palmer, Nick Salter, Billy Frampton etc. all failed in our system. So we've had to recruit ready made ones like Schultz, Dixon, Monfries etc. Players like Gray and Westhoff were already developed before Hinkley came to the club.

We couldn’t afford to start the season with key forwards all being injured at the same time.
Throw that in with our best defender out and with Ken in charge we couldn’t beat an egg.

2.7 in total from our 3 tall forwards in 2 rounds of footy. Awful.
At least we've made progress in 1 key area we've gone from having 1 goalless quarter in a game, to 2 on Saturday night.

Old mate in his presser @1:24 says "Our offense has been building as we continue to go... but not tonight"

Is this gibberish a defence mechanism, snowing us with BS or a delusional half wit scrambling to justify the unacceptable?

On a night we paid homage to a club legend you oversaw an unforgivable cluster f*ck. In short you disgust me.

I'm left with nothing but contempt and a deep loathing for what you've done and what you've taken from the PAFC.

Hinkley’s Finals record:

EF: 2-1 (2013/14/17)
QF: 2-0 (2020/21)
SF: 1-1 (2013/14)
PF: 0-3 (2014/20/21)

Total: 5-5 in 5 seasons.
DNQ: 4 times (2015/16/18/19)
Hinkley's record in knockout finals post 2014 PF 0-3, all at home, double chance finals 2-0 both at home.

The problems definitely seem more systemic than individual. Boak has also improved but most of that improvement is because Hinkley was playing him out of position. Motlop cops a lot of flak but we saw at Geelong that he can play, but he's definitely one of those players that has underperformed/gone backwards.
From memory the whole reason we scrapped our run and gun style of footy was because it was thought that we didn't have the skill level or the cattle to execute it. Players like Pittard and Kane Mitchell were used as the poster boys for why it was too risky.

Looking over the Hinkley period our development has been a problem. Take forwards as an example. We've never been able to develop quality forwards and we've never really tried to recruit them. Jesse Palmer, Nick Salter, Billy Frampton etc. all failed in our system. So we've had to recruit ready made ones like Schultz, Dixon, Monfries etc. Players like Gray and Westhoff were already developed before Hinkley came to the club.

The Steven Motlop who played at Geelong is a different player. The Steven Motlop playing for us looks the same, has the same name but it is not the same explosive player that kicked goals from the boundary at Geelong. Admittedly he has been used down further up the ground at times but at Geelong Steven kicked 44 goals in a single season and has struggled to kick that many for us in four seasons. If Motlop were delisted tomorrow it would not bother me. He is out of contract at the end of this season and hits 32 in March next year, that should see him out.

You are right about players not going forward though. Ken keeps talking about our poor defensive effort and he is probably right but our forward line was dysfunctional and a 33.3% conversion rate from the opportunities we had is a disgrace. Kicking at goal has been a failing of ours ever since Jay Scultz retired and it has never been addressed.Todd Marshall, Connor Rozee are prime examples of players who have marked time under the current regime.

Todd Marshall is a 198 cm player who has managed just 4 marks and one goal in 8 quarters of football. It will be interesting to see if Todd survives this week. If he does there is something seriously wrong with the selection criteria. I would drop both Marshall and Motlop and put Rozee on notice, in fact I would put most of the forward line on notice. Ken and Co would probably see that as a panic move and decide to show faith. I can just imagine Ken saying something like, We will not panic, these are the players who have got us into two Prelim Finals we know they can do the job we just have to show a bit of faith. Something like that, or has he said it already?

This game reeked of our 2018/19 pseudo tough guy game style. Felt like a massive overcompensation for the soft efforts in the Prelim.

even after the 2021 prelim it seemed like he got let off the hook.

He was deliberately hidden. My guess... the club's inner sanctum know he's a net negative to membership and attendance.

Our next home game crowd will be watched very closely. Under 25k says he's goneski and our morning TV blowhard El Presidente

will be left wiping egg off his face. No sugar hit finals cameo for us this year. We'll be lucky to avoid the wooden spoon.

Hinkley's record in knockout finals post 2014 PF 0-3, all at home, double chance finals 2-0 both at home.

Season: 13/14/15/16/17/18/19/20/21

WL/WWL/…/…/L/…/…/W-L/W-L
aa/haa/…/…/h/…/…/h-h/h-h

Home: 3-3
Away: 2-2

We haven’t played Finals away since the 2014 PF.

Review Good night season 2022