Grand Final 2008 - Geelong vs Hawthorn

Re: Grand final- geelong vs hawthorn

If Geeng are looking for scapegoats to find after the grand final humiliation, they won't need to look very far. Cam Mooney had a shocker, Bartel was hardly sighted, Ottens was terrible (fancying missing that shot at goal in the 2nd quarter-it summed up Geelong's performance). Gary Ablett was the only Cat player who stood out for his performance.

Good to see karma kick Scarlett in the nads ( Assuming he's as big a w***er as he seems ).

Harvs will be having a quiet beer and toasting Crawf I reckon.

Well done Hawks!

MArk Blake..ahahah

Great stuff hawks. out played geelong in everything in my opinoin.
hodgey what a legend... its like the dipper story in 89 awsome stuff...

Re: Worst miss in AFL GF History!

Simple Mooney - Crap kick from a crap player from a crap team ...... simple isnt it !

If Geeng are looking for scapegoats to find after the grand final humiliation, they won't need to look very far. Cam Mooney had a shocker, Bartel was hardly sighted, Ottens was terrible (fancying missing that shot at goal in the 2nd quarter-it summed up Geelong's performance). Gary Ablett was the only Cat player who stood out for his performance.

A bit rich mate!

Bartel was ok, Selwood was great, Johnson worked hard and Scarlett did the job on Buddy! Also Taylor easily beat Roughead!
Obviously plus Ablett who was the Cats best.

well dome hawthorn.

thats 2 boring grand finals in a row.
hawthorns celebrations were shit too.

yeah dunno if it was just channel 7 but it came across like that 4 me too.

Sort of just like a home and away win type celebrations really.

Oh well...

From a neutral view (bomber supporter) i think the umpiring was shit, those blokes are control freaks over umpire the game, so many soft free kicks, let the physical shit play on! geelong had the better of it, also kicked themselves out of the game,bad luck! bad kicking is bad footy! well down to clarkson was only few years ago the media was sacking him now they love him! he wanted stewie dew in the side for a reason and he repaid the faith today i thought! i believe he was the one that broke the game open when it was in the balance! well done stewie dew shows there is a place for the fat blokes still! :p

What was the name of the song playing just before the bounce, when the big screen had "Let's make history"or something written up there??

Well Geelong blew that game big time just like the Roos did against the Crows in 98. Can't stand the Hawks but give them credit they hung in there, and Luke Hodge is a champ. - just wish he played for the Saints.

That is now the third time in 5 yrs that the premiers have beaten the Saints in the prelim. Must be our turn next.

yeah dunno if it was just channel 7 but it came across like that 4 me too.

Sort of just like a home and away win type celebrations really.

Oh well...

I was a the G today and it was anything but shit.

And their appearance at Fed Square was fantastic. Buddy and Shane and 16,000 people openly worshipping Luke Hodge.

well dome hawthorn.

thats 2 boring grand finals in a row.
hawthorns celebrations were shit too.

Somehow I doubt you and I were watching the same game..........

Well done Hawthorn. I was totally gunning for them to win.

I loved what mitchell did to ablett, how Dew and Rioli stepped up and how crawford got the premiership he deserved.
The umpiring especially early on in the first half was shocking. So many soft free kicks and fifty metre penalties. It was almost the turning point of the match. But thank god it had no bearing on the outcome

It wasn't the best grand final that I've seen but it was certainly better than last year's disgrace.

"Bring back the Biff"

To all those Geelong supporters that made everyone feel like crap because they were winning, suffer in your jocks. I spose you guys will come back big and better than ever but the comp will also now realise that the cats have faults and can be exploited. The cats are gonna find it bloody tough next year and I reckon about 5 or 6 teams can win the flag next year. But to all those arrogant cat fans that thought they had the flag won mid way through the season HAVE A GREAT NIGHT SLEEP LOL, yes you beat us dogs but you were meant to and today on the biggest stage you were shown up and found wanting. GO THE DOGS AND WELL DONE HAWKS. THATS WHAT IM TALKIN ABOUT!:thumbsu:

Well done Hawks. You were hungrier, ran harder and were more physical and your deserved premiers.

However, I cant believe people are predicting geelongs demise. This was only the 2nd loss in 45 games or something and their worst performance in two years. If anyhing they are going to be more hungry next year and even more scary to play than what they are now.

I also think the game was a lot tighter than people have made out on here. If Geelong had converted better, they could have had a stranglehold on the game at halftime.

The one thing i don't like about HAwthorn winning the flag is that they were a flash in the pan side last year and this year they have won the flag. Where is the struggle and the pain in the striving for the elusive premiership? Makes me think Hawthorn will think flags come easy and will be over confident and cocky next year. They played well as a team today but I think overall you take out Hodge and Franklin, they will come back to the pack a fair bit.

Also, Sam Mitchell is a sniping **** and played an absolute shocker. How the **** is he captain and not Luke Hodge. He will spend a couple of week s on the sidelines come the first few rounds of 09 i think.

DEWY - doing it for fat blokes everywhere - very quiet geelong supporters!!!!