spam.jpg

from an objective point of view:

my norwegian housemate asked:

"are they playing some final or something?"

the yellow and brown guy wearing number 9 seems to be "a personality"

this is in response to me being objective on the norwegian women's handball team when they won the gold medal in the olympics - ie the blond norweigian wearing number 10 (not caring if shes attractive or not) - is she the team's star player?

another thing to point out, this grand final wasnt even top story in the news here in sydney, let alone top story in the sports news. instead melbourne storm beating cronulla was top sports story instead, a preview to new zealand vs manly was also on before the news of the afl grand final

Hope someone can help me with this.

Who were the commentators for Saturday's AFL Grand Final on Channel 7?

Was Bruce McAvaney one? There seemed to be 2 main commentators and a summariser. They seemed different to the ones of the previous years, was that because of the change in channel?

I seem to remember Steve Quartermain being a commentator in the past.

Also, who commentated on the 2005 AFL Final and made the comment "Leo Barry, you star!"

Thanks!

Re: Grand final- geelong vs hawthorn

I think if you take the 2 best players out of a lot of teams, they would go backwards a fair bit, so that statement is not really all that relevant.

Look at West Coast without Judd and Cousins. Pretty massive impact. I think if you took Ablett and Bartel out of Geelong they would also go back a fair bit, because then their 2nd (I use the term 2nd very loosely) tier midfielders would have to step up (Corey, Selwood, Ling, Kelly). You will often find that guys like Judd, Cousins, Bartel, Ablett, Franklin and Hodge make their teammates look a lot better because of how awesome they are. They bring other players into the game.

I do agree with the bit at the end. If Franklin is the future of the Hawthorn Footy Club, Hodge would have to be the heart and soul of the club, and he should be captain. Mitchell is still a quality player, but I still would prefer Hodge as their skipper.

Great win for the Hawks though, considering 2 of their top 3 midfielders (Mitchell and Lewis - Sewell being the other) had very little impact, and their 2 power forwards (Franklin & Roughead) only kicked 4 goals.

Who knows how good this team will be during the era of Buddymania...
this response is to thirstymerc, you must not have seen the replay, mitchell nearly missed ablett, he took a dive and got straight up to take his kick, what about the geelong players trying to hurt hodge at the start of the game, even lonergan jumping in with his knees to his ribs, you would think a bloke who lost his kidney and nearly his life would not try this sort of thing, for such a good team to have lonergan as full forward is a joke, i dont rate him at all, yes he has done well to fight back and make afl again but is he really good. dont think so, perhaps he could hold down a forward pocket position at melbourne, but wouldnt get a spot in hawks forward line, as for mitchell, look at what he has done, no one would draft him so he played at box hill hawks and won b+f, then fought his way into side and truly deserves to be captain, look at his stats for the year, yes hodge is great but mitchell deserves his spot, he earnt it unlike judd at carlton, he is a great player but to walk into a club and take over as captain what a load of crap, and for the hit mitchell did, thats the tough hawthorn game style, bringing back a bit of toughness into afl, we won and were even crucified by the umpires, yes we will be around for a while yet so get used to it

Hope someone can help me with this.

Who were the commentators for Saturday's AFL Grand Final on Channel 7?

Was Bruce McAvaney one? There seemed to be 2 main commentators and a summariser. They seemed different to the ones of the previous years, was that because of the change in channel?

I seem to remember Steve Quartermain being a commentator in the past.

Also, who commentated on the 2005 AFL Final and made the comment "Leo Barry, you star!"

Thanks!

Channel 7 have Bruce McEvaney & Dennis Commetti as there 2 'main' commentators. Nathan Buckley & Leigh Matthews as there 'Expert' Commentators & have mysteriously stuck with David Schwarz & Tim Watson as the 'State the obvious' comments....Rick Olarenshaw is also a dud! HOPELESS.....

In this day and age is it too much to expect professionalism in the umpiring ranks. What had the chance of marring our great games showcase game was the decrepit and poor performance of those charged with administering the rules. As Tim Watson once so eloquently said "a fish rots from the head first", Its about time the umpires were coached/managed by someone who has been a success in their own right.

this response is to thirstymerc, you must not have seen the replay, mitchell nearly missed ablett, he took a dive and got straight up to take his kick, what about the geelong players trying to hurt hodge at the start of the game, even lonergan jumping in with his knees to his ribs, you would think a bloke who lost his kidney and nearly his life would not try this sort of thing, for such a good team to have lonergan as full forward is a joke, i dont rate him at all, yes he has done well to fight back and make afl again but is he really good. dont think so, perhaps he could hold down a forward pocket position at melbourne, but wouldnt get a spot in hawks forward line, as for mitchell, look at what he has done, no one would draft him so he played at box hill hawks and won b+f, then fought his way into side and truly deserves to be captain, look at his stats for the year, yes hodge is great but mitchell deserves his spot, he earnt it unlike judd at carlton, he is a great player but to walk into a club and take over as captain what a load of crap, and for the hit mitchell did, thats the tough hawthorn game style, bringing back a bit of toughness into afl, we won and were even crucified by the umpires, yes we will be around for a while yet so get used to it

..................... (found your missing full stops)

Just sipped a bourbon and read the thread.

Man that was enjoyable! :thumbsu:

Geelong 4.2 9.9 18.14 26.20 - 176
Hawthorn 3.3 4.6 7.11 8.8 - 56

Geelong: S.Johnson 6, C.Mooney 5, P.Chapman 4, G.Ablett 4, T.Lonergan 3, B.Ottens, J.Bartel, C.Ling, J.Corey

Hawthorn: B.Franklin 7.14

Norm Smith: Gary Ablett Jnr.

Bahahahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.

Can a big man such as Franklin take a lead up contested mark in a pack of three like Carey or Sticks would have done if they had have the sit? ;) :confused:

Scarlett got him with a beautiful hit. :thumbsu:

And he stayed down.

Looking for a free?

Buddy and Williams started smiling when the latter's goal from the square tied the score.

Wait until the game is over and you've won before you start your celebrations...

Mitchell is a dog.

OMG.

What, you mean they SMILED after their side kicked a goal IN THE GRAND FINAL. The sheer audacity.

Bahaha, you are a pathetic poster.

Ellis and Young (Young would of had NS and Hawks would have doubled the margin if he didn't get injured half-way through the match) stepped up in the midfield when Mitchell and Lewis didn't have thier greatest game and when Bateman was off the ground.

In defence Gilham had a solid game as he usually does. Guys like Hodge and Brown are noted for thier toughness but you'd have to put Birchall right up there with some of the 'head-over-the-ball' and 'back-with-the-flight' stuff he does (he hit Ling hard in the 1st).

And in attack Rioli played with the courage and desperation that wins you Grand Finals yet still had the composure to slot a few home and read the ball well, along with his pace he is something special.

Ellis, Young, Gilham, Birchal and Rioli are all very young players who are all only in thier 1st or 2nd year and have all had a standout game in a GF. Very good signs for the Hawks.

Question, how the **** did McLaren make it to the Grand Final? He is possibly one of the WORST umpires in the whole game!

Because he can bounce the ball straight at the start of the match.

Honest to god, that was the explanation given by the boss of the Umpires on SEN... Because he can farqing bounce the ball straight.

Sam mitchell you're a disgrace, tried to take out Mackie with a head high elbow at one stage too.
Filthy ****

That wasn't Mitchell ******* it was Osborne.

And his hit on Ablett was fair anyway. Get it right, and cop it sweet.

Actually, it was Mitchell. It was a bit like the one against Richmond where he nearly cleaned up Ellis. Went in to lay a huge bump and when it was getting away from him, the elbow got lifted. Was very lucky he missed (Mackie and Mitchell).

He missed and then Changa came in and layed a huge bump on Mackie. The ball spilled to Selwood and then Renouf came in and layed a huge bump on him.

I knew right then we were up for this game. Wasn't sure we were going to win, but knew we were going to use all our petrol tickets trying.

The one thing i don't like about HAwthorn winning the flag is that they were a flash in the pan side last year and this year they have won the flag. Where is the struggle and the pain in the striving for the elusive premiership?

You are kidding, aren't you? 17 years since the last premiership? Off-field issues that led to a failed merger attempt? Being shunted from the home ground where so much work had been done to establish a presence in the area? Recurring concerns about financial viability? A sustained period on the bottom half of the ladder, including two seasons where they won no more than 5 games?

You reckon Hawthorn people haven't experienced a fair bit of pain over the last decade? And you reckon that the success this year doesn't come at the end of some significant struggle? That it is merely a 'flash in the pan' rather than the implementation of a plan that involved both pain and struggle?

Mindblowingly stupid assessment.

I was overseas without internet (though thankfully some Oz ex-pats came in and hooked up a pirate satellite card to my hotel's tv system in Noumea, so I got to watch it)

Just spent 90 minutes reading the whole thing with a couple of CC and Drys. Nice!

Hawks!!!!!

I lay in bed for an hour on Sat afternoon, with a couple of biftas, and read it all as I watched a replay...

My body was desperately trying to sleep but it was just so darn entertaining!

:D

Cats will win today. Make no mistake about that.

The Tassie Hawks couldnt beat the wooden spooners, and yet their supporters are under the illusion they will beat the reigning Premiers. :confused:

Time for a reality-check people, this is Geelongs day and they WILL win back to back Premierships in 2008. :thumbsu:

GO CATS

One word for someone like you. Idiot :D

Sponsored by the TASMANIAN ****ING GOVERNMENT. ****ing classic :D:thumbsu: A "Victorian" team sponsored by another state. Are you ****ing serious?

Who won the flag idiot. Not only are we the best team on the field we are now the richest club in Victoria. Not too mention we are a fair bit younger than your mob. 2nd youngest list in the AFL if I recall corectly.:p

How do you spell DYNASTY idiot... I think it's H-A-W-T-H-O-R-N. Go f*** yourself moron

The one thing i don't like about HAwthorn winning the flag is that they were a flash in the pan side last year and this year they have won the flag. Where is the struggle and the pain in the striving for the elusive premiership? Makes me think Hawthorn will think flags come easy and will be over confident and cocky next year. They played well as a team today but I think overall you take out Hodge and Franklin, they will come back to the pack a fair bit.

Also, Sam Mitchell is a sniping **** and played an absolute shocker. How the **** is he captain and not Luke Hodge. He will spend a couple of week s on the sidelines come the first few rounds of 09 i think.

Flash in the pan side? We went through the biggest cleanout you could imagine and re-built the club from the ground up. Hawthorn and Richmond we're in exactly the same situation in 2004 but you choose Terry Wallce and his plan of building a team of running short people. We chose Al Clarkson who had a vision, a grand vision. You chose short people like Deledio and Tambling in the draft. We chose two of the top 3 goal kickers for the year Franklin and Roughead. Richmond have made their decisions and are going nowhere fast. More pain next year buddy and the year after and the year after and the next year and so on, so on. That's the life of a Richmond supporter. Flags do come easy for Hawthorn because we are winners. 10 flags in 47 years buddy. Not bad at all :p

For a team that has not had a draft pick better than 7 in the last 10 years, we have done a pretty good job. Bring on 09

You had a few Father Sons that would have gone top 3 though - handy when you can take them with a third round pick....