Toast Grand Final food and drink preparations. What are you doing?

A bottle of Anniversary JD was given to me on my 21st..... 21 years ago.

This has sat above the oven/fridge/whatever for the last 21 years.

Told the misses that it will never breathe until we win.

It has been the bane of my existence since.

I will win. I will consume. I will have the holiest of hangovers.

And it will be worth every moment.

A bottle of Anniversary JD was given to me on my 21st..... 21 years ago.

This has sat above the oven/fridge/whatever for the last 21 years.

Told the misses that it will never breathe until we win.

It has been the bane of my existence since.

I will win. I will consume. I will have the holiest of hangovers.

And it will be worth every moment.

Enjoy! I reckon you may be cracking it in a weeks time.

In a perfect world with a 2:30 start it's beautifully structured day and better than Xmas.

Grand Final breakfast at my parents house. We bring the coffees. Old man whips up a feast usually involving breakfast wraps and hash browns.

Back home by around 11am to start food prep, sort out the esky etc.

First beer at midday. Usually a sessionable offering such as a GOAT or a Furphy.

Guests start arriving at 12:30.

Down to the closest pub for a schooner and to place a few bets (which I only do once a year. Melbourne Cup sucks).

Back home by about 2.

Serve up all the food for everybody to help themselves throughout the day. In days gone by it's been the regular offering of sausages rolls and pies. In recent years we've bought a pizza oven so we just lay out a bunch of ingredients and let everybody build their own.

Beer has now become Weihenstephan Hefe Weissbier in honour of the 2016 Grand Final that I watched from Munich. These were breakfast at 5:30am and thankfully show up cheap at Aldi every year around Oktoberfest time.

Yell at the TV to try and win the Grand Final sweep.

Kick the footy outside at half time.

Descend into chaos the afternoon wears on. Usually onto some super strong craft beer by now.

Backyard cricket or more footy as the sun is going down following the game. If Hawthorn have won it's a run down the street which became tradition after 2008.

Back to the pub for dinner and more beers until eventually crawling into bed by around midnight. If the game was a belter i'll try and watch some of the replay.

So now it's a goddamn night game and I have no idea how to structure the day anymore.

Will report back next Thursday when this goddamn regional lockdown should hopefully be over and an actual plan can be devised.

If you aren’t doing Eggs and bacon and beer for breakfast, Snags in bread and beer for lunch, cold snags and beer for afternoon tea, more beer and a quick spew before tea, skip tea and just drink more beer, then get on the bourbons just before the game starts and have absolutely no memory of the rest of the night whatsoever, you’re doing it wrong.

My usual. Bratwurst from Elmars along with some of their sauerkraut inside a length
Of baguette lined with German mustard with a little grated cheddar & caramelized onion.
Not being a drinker I will have a fever tree ginger beer over ice with sliced lime
I may smoke some opium ;)

Elmars!!! my god, living on the east coast for ten years there is nothing even close. not even a half decent substitute. I get to munich once r twice a year in non covid times so I enjoy the good stuff there - but back in Australia Elmars is the only player. every trip to Perth I bring back about 5 packs frozen. only trouble is choosing 5 out of so many regional varieties.

It’s the bomb isn’t it? I used to live just around the corner from the Highgate store & Saturday morning they used to setup a BBQ outside & grill a selection. Heaven!

yeah it was the big round pan like the Imbiss bratwurst in germany.

Back in the 90s, some mates of mine used to live in an old house in Caufield. Two of them worked in abattoirs and they would supply fresh meat which would be cooked slow over coal from about midnight the night before. The house was huge with a big backyard. They would put up a huge telly, spread beanbags all over the backyard, provide shelter from the rain if needed and feed us all. All you needed to bring was your drinks. They would also have a gimmick - one year it was a PA and you'd be announced to everyone at the party when you arrived. Another year, they had a smoke machine and you'd get to enter the backyard like KISS going on stage. There would be around 50-60 people.

Best parties ever. I'll follow suit but there's no way I could do the meat as good as those guys used to do it.

Whatever beer on tap and half decent food they serve at Belmont Park racecourse from about midday, especially if the weather is fine!

Then a short walk over the bridge into the ground. Heard Gage Roads isn't allowed for the GF, supposedly will be forced to drink Great Northern or Carlton Mid 🤮 Hopefully a curry outlet is near our seats, sounds good for dinner.

Then another short walk to the Casino. Get a decent beer into me to wash away the filth they served at the game, then probably move onto bourbon and drys. By that stage eating would be cheating!

Some quality offerings in here 👍

Normally I’d have a decent platter with salami, prosciutto, pate and some nice cheeses - plus some obligatory pies and sausage rolls in the afternoon with footy franks for the kids. Then ideally some decent pizzas for the evening. Some decent lagers across the day - like broken shackles right now, but normally some European (peroni, Stella).

However, I’ve made a (more spicy) Chicken Tikka Masala the last two Saturdays and now my evidently superstitious young boys won’t let me think of cooking anything else for the game.

So I’ll be drinking beers across the day, probably some Pinot for game time then move onto the Maker’s Mark for the celebration or commiseration period. Washing down an Indian meal.

I might not know what the result of the game will be, but I sure as shit know what I’ll be doing the next morning. Repeatedly.

Will be doing the standard spread of party pies/sausage rolls, hot dogs to go, cheese and savoys, bowl of light n tangy chips, and bowl of lollies or m and m's. Will buy some Melbourne Bitter to drink throughout the day from about 1-2pm, and then have something crafty like a triple IPA or Imperial stout to bust out after the game win or lose.

Honestly don't how I'll feel if we do manage to win and not being able to experience it live or with family or friends, but it'll be special in it's own way. Go dees!

Whatever beer on tap and half decent food they serve at Belmont Park racecourse from about midday, especially if the weather is fine!

Then a short walk over the bridge into the ground. Heard Gage Roads isn't allowed for the GF, supposedly will be forced to drink Great Northern or Carlton Mid 🤮 Hopefully a curry outlet is near our seats, sounds good for dinner.

Then another short walk to the Casino. Get a decent beer into me to wash away the filth they served at the game, then probably move onto bourbon and drys. By that stage eating would be cheating!

That must be a joke about Gage Roads? Surely you won't be subjected to piss water because of some strange contractual agreement?

People I usually watch with like their nibblies and dips and all that garbage. During the pregame some of that and a drink or two. But as soon as the match starts no food for me, only casuals eat during games really, especially a GF.

At least that is my day GF routine

probably some bacon sandwiches for lunch
nice mate, nice!!!
how u make a bacon sammich?
gruyere cheese or craft single, brioche or wholemeal? or just chuck the bacon in a waffle?
bechemal sauce? maple syrup?

nice mate, nice!!!
how u make a bacon sammich?
gruyere cheese or craft single, brioche or wholemeal? or just chuck the bacon in a waffle?
bechemal sauce? maple syrup?
Two pieces of bacon in between toast with tomato sauce. Very fancy

That must be a joke about Gage Roads? Surely you won't be subjected to piss water because of some strange contractual agreement?
Yep, contracted to serve that crap. I did hear Pirate Life is involved too but I'm certain that will only be for the corporates.

They also aren't allowed to write PERTH on the oval. How petty is that.

Yep, contracted to serve that crap. I did hear Pirate Life is involved too but I'm certain that will only be for the corporates.

They also aren't allowed to write PERTH on the oval. How petty is that.

What a joke! I looked through the Optus stadium beer menu recently and was impressed. I'm surprised the WA government haven't raised a fuss about this. You'd think they'd want to support their hometown businesses on such a massive occassion.

Gage sponsor Optus oval and that’s all there is to drink at the games. No Carlton draft or anything CUB. It’s a nightmare.
For bourbon all they sell is Bulliet which equally depressing.

The only hope is to get into the Camfield pub next to the ground for a real drink. Unfortunately if don’t get there early you’ll be lining up with 500 other punters because the 3000 capacity quickly fills up.

Toast Grand Final food and drink preparations. What are you doing?