Preview GRAND FINAL: Port Adelaide v Norwood

A true Port person speaking !
shits me that we lost a gf. the pafc lost a gf to our oldest rivals and you come on here and some kids say they dont care about the result. total rubbish, sure if you dont follow the sanfl as much fine, but dont come on here saying who cares, i guarantee you everyone at the club cares.

"Can you imagine what I would do if could do all that I can?" - Sun Tzu

Let this sink in for a moment. The reigning premiers in Norwood had to play the game of their lives to beat a team with most players under 25 (Ah Chee, Byrne-Jones, Mitchell, Young, Impey, Harvey, Shaw, Clurey, Newton, Flynn, Gray, Amon etc) and no recognized ruck. And they only won by 4 points.

What do they think is going to happen next season with another Burgess pre-season into those players? When our list in both competitions hits that magic 26 year old average sweet spot?

Port Adelaide wins premierships in every competition it plays. This year was unfortunately one of transition. But we'll be back next year.
Oh c'mon you didn't beat the reigning premiers, you beat a side that had 12 players missing from last years grand final.

If anything you will be weaker next year, you will delist players who have 3-4 years SANFL experience and replace them with kids.

As for playing out of our skin, we beat you 2 weeks ago as well.

have to say how awesome it was back at the club after the match to see wingard, wines, hartlett, carlile, white and the rest all there, all in the prison bars, all united in support for the boys, we have a great club with great blokes who will drive this club to where it belongs. great stuff.

even more stoked the restrictions they placed on our club worked and the whinging crybabies won. it was like 1990 today, except this time the sooks won. can you believe this mob that beat us three times this year went crying to the sanfl about us. bunch of weak pricks.

... and we get called cheats by South and Norwood supporters. They had to force rules upon us to keep our side at less than full strength just to stroke their egos. Played against a side full of inexperience and designed rules so that the sanfl side continuously remains as a young inexperienced team. Definitely a bunch of weaklings. Ah Norwood supporters, how's your team going to go when it wins promotion into the AFL? Oh wait ... you don't get promoted, you never get promoted.

Oh c'mon you didn't beat the reigning premiers, you beat a side that had 12 players missing from last years grand final.

If anything you will be weaker next year, you will delist players who have 3-4 years SANFL experience and replace them with kids.

we will struggle next year, no doubt about it.

This could quite possibly have been Port's last ever Grand Final. What a weekend :(
Last time I checked the PAFC is alive and well. Could be in the GF next year at both AFL and SANFL level.

Well done, we'll have to console ourselves with being in the AFL

Norwood's firsts beat Port Adelaide's next 23 to 40 listed players, and only just. Also, you beat a club that is restricted to field a handfull of players that are not up to sanfl league level or are out of form. Given both of these, how much more of an advantage does your whinging president want? If you like to win it any easier we could just play with 9.

Last time I checked the PAFC is alive and well. Could be in the GF next year at both AFL and SANFL level.
Always alive! But restrictions similar to that of the crows, its hard to see the club playing in another SANFL GF anytime soon. Didnt grow up in the 80's and 90's dominant era, so might have a little less faith in the magpies, but time will tell I guess!

So you go for the crows and Norwood?

Who do you barrack for when the crows play Norwood?

I love Norwood - they have been great for developing afl talent.

Always alive! But restrictions similar to that of the crows, its hard to see the club playing in another SANFL GF anytime soon. Didnt grow up in the 80's and 90's dominant era, so might have a little less faith in the magpies, but time will tell I guess!
Who cares about more restrictions it was a damn young side today alot playing their first full year of SNAFL there will be natural progression and improvement from those guys. We wont drop off as much as they'd like. ;)

Well done, we'll have to console ourselves with being in the AFL
Elite crow is also in the afl. Thankfully for elite crow the Sanfl had a side created to make money for the Sanfl.

Sadly for elite crow, there is no Norwood in the Afl and never will be. But elite crows afl side has made plenty of cash for elite crows Sanfl side.

We pretty much played most of the season with no ruckman and 1 KPD (No Hoon either) There is plenty of room to improve.
If injuries are kind to us we will be always around the mark.

shits me that we lost a gf. the pafc lost a gf to our oldest rivals and you come on here and some kids say they dont care about the result. total rubbish, sure if you dont follow the sanfl as much fine, but dont come on here saying who cares, i guarantee you everyone at the club cares.
I ****ing care!!
Before today I'd been to 9 Grandfinals for 9 premierships.
When you pull on the Port Adelaide guernsey you give 100%. In that first quarter some of our players didn't want it enough.
Hearing those Norwood/crow supporters yell 'ball' all the time did my head in.
Pissed off!!

Doesn't surprise me. It's probably hosted on a Commodore 64.

F@%k Apple...

img_5504.jpg

What's all this "we" stuff? I'm guessing you're not a crows reserves supporter?
Might want to add "Norwood" to your other teams part of your profile.

What's all this "we" stuff? I'm guessing your not a crows reserves supporter?
Might want to add "Norwood" to your other teams part of your profile.
We as in the team I've supported since I was 5 and been a member since I was 15. Look have a crack all you want but Janus's post was incorrect and I just pointed that out.

Hated Norwoods play in the last quarter . 26 minute quarter due to Norwoods chip around keeps off , not just the last few minutes but mostly the whole quarter , man that's shocking to watch , .
Thought we did well really , having no recognised ruckman because it's just bad luck if our rucks get injured .
Norwood definitely won it through experienced players and bigger bodies .

The time in the last quarter was correct. I said to my mate around the 15 minute mark that we'd need to kick a goal quickly as I'd be surprised if it went for any more than 23 minutes. A that point there had been 1 goal and about 5 stoppages in 15 minutes. It was continuous play for a long part of that quarter.

Its disappointing but the saddest part for me was I had very little feeling after the game. I dont know if its because I was still emotionally wrecked from yesterday but as the siren went, I shrugged and gave a 'oh well' whereas normally i'd be inconsolable after losing a GF by 4 points to Norwood.

Norwood should have finished the game off in the first 15 minutes of the last. They were peppering the forward 50 and credit to our defence for standing strong. Flynn in particular had 3 or 4 really good moments in the last quarter. But as we've seen with our AFL side all year, our finishing in front of goal under pressure is absolute pants. Should have made Norwood pay in that last 6-7 minutes and couldnt.

In the end, the best team of the year won. They were the most consistent and beat us on 3 occasions. Cant begrudge them anything

ARRGGGHHHH!!!!!

Had a pretty random day. Bumped into a few people I hadn't seen in 20 years at Macca's Bar. They were all barracking for Norwood.

Sitting with mates and mates-of-mates. They all barracked for Norwood. So it was pretty much just me flying the flag in our row. Dunno if it came across on TV but the crowd was overwhelmingly pro-Norwood. Dunno if that was Legs fans rocking up en masse to battle the old rival or if neutrals, including the "No AFL in the SANFL" brigade, jumped on board. If the latter is so, the irony.

Oh, the irony.

Norwood were the better team on the day. That first quarter blitz. Oh, man, it looked like being a long day. But we fought back. And then it was a typical Grand Final.

Tough. Hard. Ugly. Scrappy. Lots of pressure. Lots of mistakes. Heroes. Villains. Agony. Ecstasy. Heartbreak.

Sheeeeeeeeeeeit!

And geez, you can't blame Norwood for shutting the game down in the last quarter. Smart footy. They didn't allow us to break free for most of the day. Even then we almost pinched it. Had our chances. Alas.

Siren blowing at 26min took us by surprise. Thought we'd have another minute or two. But there were only two goals kicked in the last term. Lots of stoppages. And the Legs slowed the play down brilliantly.

Hell, I was at a Central v Norwood game once where the final siren blew at approximately 23min. Legs won by a point. There was almost a riot at Elizabeth that day. Late legendary Norwood fan Brian was poking the bear like you wouldn't believe.

Dare anyone to tell the players out there today that it didn't matter...

Preview GRAND FINAL: Port Adelaide v Norwood