Preview Grand Final Preview: Collingwood vs West Coast [DaVe86 Ultimate Preview #512]

It's not a bad preview by Pierik but he has to be another know-nothing to suggest that. Honestly, that theory is so easy to disprove it isn't even funny. The two game styles are as different as chalk and cheese with the possible exception of pressure which has been the hallmark of Collingwood for years. Have a look at the stats on Footywire here and in particular the stats for disposals, clearances, kick to handball ratio, disposals per score, bounces and a few others and it is absolutely clear that there are massive differences in the two teams game styles. Pierik has to be one of the sheep journos who look to MvAvaney for insight! :rolleyes:

Yeah I raised my eye brow at that one. We focus heavily on winning the contest. Richmond concede it and focus on turning it over and moving it forward quickly. They're fundamentally different.

This is going to be a midfield battle and a game plan battle.

Two very different styles. It's going to be about which team can implement their style and whether they take their chances when they have the ascendency.

On the bright side I feel West Coast generally move the ball fairly slowly with long kicks to their big forwards. This slower style actually helps our team team defence.

Our main weakness in defence is when we are hit on the rebound and are forced into a one on one. We seem to struggle more against fast moving opponents when we haven't set up our defence up.

If they move the ball slowly and there is a bit of rain/wet ground this could do wonders.

It's just about implementing our game plan which we have done all year. God I can't stop thinking about this match.

Will be a nervous wreck all week. How can people possibly be confident?! All I can think about is worst case scenario!

Don't know why most vics are going for the eagles probably just salty fair weathers.

I'll be supporting the Pies on Saturday. I just love the different characters you've got. Pendles, Sidey, Grundy, Treloar and Mayne among my favourites in the league.

Go Pies.

Melbourne laid 34 tackles against WC. We laid 72 against the Tigers. Melbourne just let them walk out of contested situations.

Their forwards will always look good with that sort of supply.

The narrative at the moment is they are gonna rely on long bombs into their two forwards and hope for a mark and goal. What happens if one or both don't fire?

How many times did JK not clunk those marking attempts. Imagine if he did.. hmm food for thought..Hes blown the cobwebs out now.

Just remember we used to be just JK, JD and Lecras..Now we have Cripps, Rioli, Ryan and Venables to add to the firepower.

De Goey will need to kick a big bag for Pies to win this. Cox wont do the same to us.

One thing's for sure, we dismantled Richmond with a different game style that lost to WCE. Howe, Treloar, Goldsack are now reaching their peak fitness. De Goey played injured and Pendlebury was sick in that first final.

You are also playing at OUR HOUSE this week. More upside to Collingwood me thinks ;)

Anyone else think we should almost play a meter-or-two off our direct opponent? Tease West-coast to go for the kick only for it to be spoiled.

West Coast are the one of the safest teams in the league when disposing of the footy. If we can match them when they spread from the contest and not allow them easy kicks, we will force riskier kicks.

Lol I actually said th same thing after Friday night. I was content. I had witnessed us smash Richmond in a final. After finishing 13th last year, Friday night was fine by me.
You certainly did us and everyone a favour by eliminating those Richmond flogs. Their supporters were getting too arrogant and they thought the premiership was already theirs.

This grand final has caught me unawares. I didn't expect we would be here, and I am struggling to see it as reality.
I don't understand the tactics that have done it. I only see the games on TV, and whatever wider view would let me see how things are set up so our overmatched defenders can win most of the time is denied me.
Looking at history, this team has worrying similarities to our 1980 grand final side, where tall forwards (Roach, Cloke and Jess) monstered us. Bartlett was lionized for his role, but it was on the back of the big men. This time it is four very big and strong men that may do the same. The game is very different now of course, and we have some big forwards too. (People seem to discount Mihocek as a big forward, and only consider Cox)
So i am drifting into this year's Final in a bit of a dream, sort of hoping that I don't wake up before the really good bits.

Don't know why most vics are going for the eagles probably just salty fair weathers.

I'll be supporting the Pies on Saturday. I just love the different characters you've got. Pendles, Sidey, Grundy, Treloar and Mayne among my favourites in the league.

Go Pies.
Mate, most Vic's hate Collingwood.

Thanks for your support.

This is going to be a midfield battle and a game plan battle.

Two very different styles. It's going to be about which team can implement their style and whether they take their chances when they have the ascendency.

On the bright side I feel West Coast generally move the ball fairly slowly with long kicks to their big forwards. This slower style actually helps our team team defence.

Our main weakness in defence is when we are hit on the rebound and are forced into a one on one. We seem to struggle more against fast moving opponents when we haven't set up our defence up.

If they move the ball slowly and there is a bit of rain/wet ground this could do wonders.

It's just about implementing our game plan which we have done all year. God I can't stop thinking about this match.

Will be a nervous wreck all week. How can people possibly be confident?! All I can think about is worst case scenario!

True.

However, everyone is quick to say that the Eagles are a possession side, whereas Collingwood is more of a contested possessions side.

The Eagles beat both us and Melbourne in contested possession, who are 2 of the best contested sides in the comp. So they can implement their style because they win the ball first and then control it.

So it is daunting to think that this side can beat us both inside and then around the ground.

But having said that, I felt as if we were right on top in this area when we last played, and then Adams got knocked out, and Treloar pretty much stopped running. Pendles was well down as well. Plus they have 60,000 fans giving them extra momentum.

If it is wet, and we keep the game contested, I would still back us in, even though the Eagles have been good in the contest over the past 2 games.

Anyone else think we should almost play a meter-or-two off our direct opponent? Tease West-coast to go for the kick only for it to be spoiled.

West Coast are the one of the safest teams in the league when disposing of the footy. If we can match them when they spread from the contest and not allow them easy kicks, we will force riskier kicks.

Best way is to just win contested footy and play our style. I think our players will peel back a bit to provide support to the undersized backline.

Best of luck this week. As someone who wrote a game preview featuring you guys I feel a bit invested in your finals run.

...But having said that, I felt as if we were right on top in this area when we last played, and then Adams got knocked out, and Treloar pretty much stopped running. Pendles was well down as well. Plus they have 60,000 fans giving them extra momentum.

If it is wet, and we keep the game contested, I would still back us in, even though the Eagles have been good in the contest over the past 2 games.

We were evenly matched for I50s and clearances. Where we broke down a little was I50s per goal (they were 4.25 to our 5) and scoring shots (26 to 20).

Stats aside, we had a couple of awful misses that would have given us total momentum and then had really only a 2 goal margin to battle just before the siren went.

Where Melbourne broke down was their reluctance to change their style of play and closely mark Jetta and Ryan who found space way too easily. On the MCG with 2 weeks practice we worked out how to reduce both GWS' and Tigers' ball movement to the point we slowed their forward movement. Jack had the marks I50 in Q1 and Q4 but otherwise was restricted outside the square.

I personally think we need to slow our movement from the backline and allow a more contested style on the wing. Our mids can run back to help with a turnover, but more importantly can run and spread if we get a tap to advantage and that has been our signature play all year. We get better goal margin from turnovers AND stoppages we get the game IMO.

Hi all,

pardon the intrusion, i come in peace!

firstly congrats on making the big dance, you blokes were simply sensational on friday night.

anyway the main reason I'm here is i just thought i would leave this link here for anyone who might be interested in buying a Grand Final game ball.

there are only 100 available and 50 have already been sold.

https://www.sherrin.com.au/grand-final-ball.html

All the best for the weekend.

Having a look on the WCE board, they are already getting ready for their players to hold the cup up!
Do we really have no chance of beating them on Saturday?

Honestly half their goals against Melbourne were caused by sub standard footy skills by Melbourne. Fumbles, drops and missed handballs. Le Cras got a goal that followed his shin across the line.

Let’s be honest - both teams had huge wins to make the GF but neither will play a game like this last weekend. WCE fans have no claim on confidence imo

Don't get all this talk about high flying Eagles forwards. Against Melbourne (witches hats) total 7 goals. Cox/DeGoey total 7 goals and IMO against a better backline.

I'm looking to offload a gorilla on a multi-bet for the weekend.

Brodie is paying good money for the Brownlow, and we look in good shape to go all the way.

$20 sounds like a reasonable loss to take on the hip pocket on the Brownlow, but maybe take the Pies at 1-39 points as well? I was thinking a third variable too, but that might be a bet on who wins the Norm Smith?

I have never bet before, so perhaps someone who is well seasoned in the art, could help me out.

Cheers!

Never bet before but looking to offload $1000? Dafuq!!?