Analysis Hawks 2022 Hypothetical trades (read the pinned post)

Firstly, the "No Kane Cornes" Rule is back

Last edited by a moderator:
i know you all got your hopes up, but all this talk of trading is selling hope and then crushing blows (i get it you're all bored and looking for hope to get you through your boring weeks), i just implore you to not get desperate and start demanding the club go after hacks like Paddy Dow ect, be happy with Amon and the spoils of the Mitchell Trade, Geelong rarely lose out on a FA or Trade.

Some very funny reading today...thanks.

But we simply have to stop playing the nice guy. Neither Brisvegas nor Freo have even remotely looked like returning the favour.
It's too hard to bring players in to be letting them out easy - as professionals every player has to understand that. We will facilitate where possible, but at the end of the day we gotta look after our interests. Time to harden up.

Very disappointing, but I'm confident in 2-3years time, when Bowes is in his prime, Hawthorn will be entering the premiership window and Geelong will be in for a long long rebuild.
Agree on geelong, their cliff will still be big, but we need to get more than 1 to ten pick a year for us to seriously contend.

Oppo clubs used to say this about us

Nothing like this has ever happened though.

We had to sell the farm to acquire the talent we wanted.

I remember the jokes when O'Rourke nominated us, but Imagine if 2 other first round draft picks did the same at the same time AND we had pick 7?

Cant see how we dont.

I think bottoming out is the only option now.

Starting to agree. Who was the last talented player under 23 to nominate Hawthorn? O'Meara?
Hypothetically we should be approaching GWS for a player salary dump and pick (now they’ve got many) to try and help them retain Hopper.
Get as much for Mitchell and bundle it up for a higher pick.

i know you all got your hopes up, but all this talk of trading is selling hope and then crushing blows (i get it you're all bored and looking for hope to get you through your boring weeks), i just implore you to not get desperate and start demanding the club go after hacks like Paddy Dow ect, be happy with Amon and the spoils of the Mitchell Trade, Geelong rarely lose out on a FA or Trade.
Voice of reason here Davo… well said. IMO it also hurts a little missing out on Bowes but obviously not as much as pick 7. Bowes would've been a mature body to throw on ball with the likely departure of Mitchell at least until some of our younger guys got physically stronger. You can't sugar coat it that missing out on pick 7 doesn't hurt cause it does but what I feel hurts the most is losing out to the frigging Cats. That sh*t stings bad but credit where credit is due but I still hate their guts.

So many teams are in rebuild. Wc, Haw, Ess, GWS

Little talent out there for everyone.

And they want to field a tassie team ....where is the talent coming from?

Afl clubs need to start thinking outside the box.

You just have to sit back and laugh at Gold Coast and their piss poor management, how many leg ups do they want to give the cats? They gave them pick 11 in a straight swap for pick 27, how the **** does that get passed by the afl? How did no other team before them get offered that pick? Now this shit, shut that campaigner of a club down so they stop making horrendous list decisions and handing free picks to all the top teams

Amon is nice and glad we're using some of our money on something productive.

But given our list position another top 7 pick was more important if I got to choose one, not sure we'll be relevant at the pointy end of the table in Amon's timeline.

Amon could still be playing great footy around 2025/26 - which is when I think our team will be peaking. But if it was a choice between the two I'd be wanting pick 7.

I can see why others disagree with that though and would prefer Amon.

If WC keep bragging about pick 2 being up for grabs

A player now might to be on the table as well as pick 6.

It might happen.

We need midfielders its that simple.

If WC keep bragging about pick 2 being up for grabs

A player now might to be on the table as well as pick 6.

It might happen.

We need midfielders its that simple.

Pointless IMO.

Bowes and 7 was a free hit at a rebuild boost.

6 and a player (and it would only be DGB, let's be honest) for a single 4 pick upgrade is a loss.

Bank a future third for Gunston.
Trade Mitchell for 27.
Bring in Meek with a current or future third.
Take 6, 24 and 27 into draft night.

It's about the best we can realistically hope for.