Hawks Outlook?

As far as I'm concerned I support Hawthorn to win premierships, not to be there or there abouts for a couple of years.

At the end of the day, whether you finish 7th or 13th..it doesn't mean squat in the overall scheme of things, premierships and to a lesser extent, wooden spoons, are the only things that are remembered in the books!

What I see in Hawthorn, is a VERY YOUNG side, that will be prone to inconsistancy, but within 3-4 years WILL BE the most POWERFUL, TALENTED and COMMITTED side in the league. We all know we have 5the best kids in the league.

As it stands, compared to other clubs our 25+ group doesn't stack up, BUT we have the best 18-20 group in the competition. Add in the likes of Hodge, Mitchell, Williams, Guerra, Croad, Jacobs, Clarke Sewell and Crawford (who will play for another 3 years) and we have a formidable unit that SHOULD be in line for future success in the future.

As long as we don't win the spoon this year and show glimpses of future success, I'm not particularly worried. The kids will come good.

IMO, we have no excuses, we are financially secure, have the best training and recovery facilities in the league and probably the best board. Add to this plenty of talented kids AND a young and tight knitted coaching staff and the future looks rosy for the Brown and Gold.

*Clarke plays a massive role within our side, his job as a HFF tagger cannot and will not be forgotten.

Hawkk said:
As far as I'm concerned I support Hawthorn to win premierships, not to be there or there abouts for a couple of years.

At the end of the day, whether you finish 7th or 13th..it doesn't mean squat in the overall scheme of things, premierships and to a lesser extent, wooden spoons, are the only things that are remembered in the books!

What I see in Hawthorn, is a VERY YOUNG side, that will be prone to inconsistancy, but within 3-4 years WILL BE the most POWERFUL, TALENTED and COMMITTED side in the league. We all know we have 5the best kids in the league.

As it stands, compared to other clubs our 25+ group doesn't stack up, BUT we have the best 18-20 group in the competition. Add in the likes of Hodge, Mitchell, Williams, Guerra, Croad, Jacobs, Clarke Sewell and Crawford (who will play for another 3 years) and we have a formidable unit that SHOULD be in line for future success in the future.

As long as we don't win the spoon this year and show glimpses of future success, I'm not particularly worried. The kids will come good.

IMO, we have no excuses, we are financially secure, have the best training and recovery facilities in the league and probably the best board. Add to this plenty of talented kids AND a young and tight knitted coaching staff and the future looks rosy for the Brown and Gold.

*Clarke plays a massive role within our side, his job as a HFF tagger cannot and will not be forgotten.

Well stated!

I hope your right mate....

Gary Shadforth said:
After last week's thrashing we need Clinton back. Has anyone a report on him from the Box Hill game?

Moccas round up

Box Hill: 5.6, 11.10, 18.12, 26.13.169
Port Melbourne: 3.0, 7.2, 11.5, 17.6.108

Goals: BH: Taylor 5, Frankin 4, Hunter 3, Height 3, Cook 3, Little 2, Johnson, Ries, Ball, McGlynn, Crook, Lewis. PM: Smith 5, Cotchett 3, Bloomfield 2, Carlyle 2, Lawrence 2, Hazell, Nahas, Nayna.

Best: BH: Lewis, Ries, McGlynn, Height, Franklin, Taylor, Hunter. PM: Hazell, Carlyle, Smith, Nayna, Raines.

It's indicative of the strength of the respective defences that teams that had previously averaged eighty points or less per game for the year could score 43 goals between them.

I called the victory two minutes into the first quarter, and despite some shaky moments in the first half of the final term, we were too good. We structured up better than we have all year, Simon Taylor mainly playing from full forward with a leading target (usually Jason Cook) playing alongside him, with Lance Franklin out at CHF. Those three scored twelve goals between them, and with Kris Height, Cam Hunter and Matt Little bagging another eight between them, the forwards had a pretty good day.

Franklin started on a wing before moving to CHF. He had 21 touches, took ten marks and kicked three, and he showed some desire and explosive pace to go with good leading and marking. He was reported for charging, apparently by two umpires, which doesn't sound good. I thought he was a touch late and a downfield free kick would have sufficed, but Franklin is subject to different rules from the umpires, and they reported him as well. I think he'll get off, but who knows? Chance Bateman got four weeks once in the VFL for a perfect, and perfectly legitimate, hip and shoulder.

Our midfield edged a close on-ball battle, thanks mainly to the class of Jordan Lewis and Nick Ries, whose clearances (eight and six respectively) were cleaner and created scoring opportunities. Ben McGlynn also chimed in with some hard-ball gets and quality delivery.

As the scoreboard suggest, the defence was beaten, but I thought Stephen Gilham showed some improvement and Josh Thurgood got better as the match wore on.

Max Bailey was beaten in the ruck by Warren Carlyle, especially around the ground, but big Max did show a few good signs here and there.

Other Hawks:

- Matt Ball got his usual amount of footy (thirty touches), was good.
- Luke Brennan struggled in defence, mixing some good disposals with a few shanks.
- Matt Little kicked his two goals in about three minutes and didn't do a lot else.
- Clinton Young burnt a ton of footy. He is trying too hard, and trying to kick the ball too hard. He needs to relax and start enjoying the game again.

Congratulations to Damien Christensen for his first win as a VFL coach. After 20-odd games, it was long overdue, but all the sweeter for the waiting.

Hawk Dork said:
Goals: BH: Taylor 5, Frankin 4, Hunter 3, Height 3, Cook 3, Little 2, Johnson, Ries, Ball, McGlynn, Crook, Lewis

Franklin started on a wing before moving to CHF. He had 21 touches, took ten marks and kicked three

:thumbsu:

Just jokin, thanks for the report.

I was just wondering what everyone else thinks of Matt Ball. I haven't seen him play since Schwab was coach, and he seemed to see something in him that Clarkson doesn't. Is he worth keeping on the list, could he be useful in a possible trade, or will he simply be delisted come the end of his contract? He seems to be travelling alright in the VFL, so I'm not quite sure why he doesn't get ago.

Welcome#7#Matt#7#

Yes it seems Matt Ball is out of favour. Left on list to see out his contract I would imagine. Last senior selection was round 22 at the end of last season - warmed the woodwork for most of the match, the team being thread-bare with injuries.

Has a fair amount of AFL experience, would like to see him given an opportunity to finally see if he can make the grade. I stand to be corrected but I recall he as taken out awards at Box Hill.

Matt Ball is past it, i'm afraid. His footskills won't see him selected in the senior line-up. He is a consistant ball winner and goes pretty hard at it, but he lets himself down a bit with disposal.

Hawks Outlook?