Preview Hawks vs Cats - Ins, Outs & all other lead-up discussion

At least changa had a good last qtr when the game needed to be won, for mine our worst player was bruest , who gave nothing, he really struggles in the tough games, some muscle and some mongrel is needed from him, if shiels/poppy are ready bruest wont be playing against the cats,the selectors will go with gunston starting forward and have shiels into the midfield in a stopping role on say selwood. Also lets prey s. mcburnie is also out for the cats this week.
You need to watch the replay of the match. It's on Youtube in full. I was at the game and thought Breust was quiet too, but upon seeing the replay I now think otherwise. His tackle and pressure work across the entire match was great. He contributed greatly to the pressure that, in my opinion, went a significant way to us winning the match. I don't know whether the coaches will go for him against the Cats, given we require a little more midfield speed, but his performance so far has been commendable.

Out: Boumann, Bateman

In: Shiels, Murphy

Personally I think Bateman struggles against the Cats. Murphy has done great jobs on the Cats smaller forwards in the past including Stevie J.

2011 QF - Kept Johnson to 27 touches and 5 shots at goal
2011 R12 - Kept Johnson to 21 touches and 4 shots at goal
2011 R2 - Kept Jonson to 25 touches and 4 shots at goal
2010 R2 - Kept Johnson to 18 touches and 2 shots at goal
2009 R1 - Kept Johnson to 27 touches and 5 shots at goal
2008 R17 - Kept Johnson to 26 touches and 4 shots at goal

Which of the above games in particular do you think was Murph's standout game on SJ?

The more appropriate question is who can do the best job on SJ next Monday? Murphy could be the answer.

You'd probably have to say Round 2 2010 :p

Well played HJ :D

The possessions stat really matters little because Murph plays off him when he moves outside of the 50, which he does a lot. Look at most forwards and they will have similar shots at goal a game. Finally I am almost certain he did not play on him in 09. I'd rather have Murphy play on him than Guerra, Birchall, Suckling who need to be free to attack. Gibson needs to play FB and Schoey at half back, there is no need for Boumann to be in the side then...

I do agree with you here however, I'd bring in an extra runner in Sheils.

Given that SJ drifts into the midfield, doesn't it make sense to play someone on SJ than can also play both back/midfield to follow him in there?

I'd look at someone like Burgers.

I do agree with you here however, I'd bring in an extra runner in Sheils.

Given that SJ drifts into the midfield, doesn't it make sense to play someone on SJ than can also play both back/midfield to follow him in there?

It does make sense to play someone who can do that but we don't really have that player, in fact most teams don't have that type of player. Birch all comes close but still Stevie J would just go and sit in the goal square and take him out of the game.

I'd take Stevie J getting a lot of possessions up the ground over him Getting a few more possessions inside 50 which would seem more likely to have if we have somebody tagging him all over the ground. If we did that he would get alot of the long balls over our last line into space.

If we can beat Collingwood (and the umpires) then I'm pretty confident we can beat Geelong... and the umpires. :D

I'd love to see Shiels, Murphy & Puopolo back in the side if possible. I think Bateman and Boumann will have to make way. Not sure who they'd drop for Puopolo however.

Was at the game on Friday night. Collingwood are very good team and they played really well. Respect to them. If they had of kicked straight, we maybe staring at a very different score line. Their kicking for goal was deplorable. Having said that. What I say next maybe perceived as strange, but I think they're better side than Geelong, even though they were beaten for the flag last year. I saw stuff from them that I didn't see in Geelongs game against Fremantle. I think we stand a very good chance of beating Geelong this time around and ending the streak. How we withstood the final quarter from Collingwood, psychologically will prepare what Geelong will throw at us..and they will come. They will be very physical at Hawthorn to throw our running game which was in full force in the last quarter against Collingwood. Geelong will miss Scarlett. He's their general in the backline. We have to exploit that to full extent.

This has been our best chance to get them for a long time.

The lack of small forwards with Varcoe and Menzel out injured, their run off half back cut down severely by Wojak and Scarlett not being there, retirements of Ling, Ottens and Milburn.

We won't get a better chance than this I don't think.

Personally, I think Whitecross should get the first go at SJ. Did anybody else notice the umpire in the Freo v Geelong game telling Stevie to stop diving, he wasn't fooling anyone? Good to see some umps are awake to him. IMO Whitex has the equipment to handle SJ.

Should Whitecross be given a chance to tag Selwood? What does everyone think of that? He has improved his fitness, endurance and is now 'seeing more' midfield time. We will probably rotate Bateman or Lewis on him from time to time. But I would love Whitecross to be given that responsibility.

Key Matchups for this game

Cyril V Enright (Enright has won just about every encounter. Cyril needs to lift. Enright just bodies him out of contests and has the speed and agility to go with him)

Franklin Vs Lonergran (buddy kicked 4 the last time needs to get off the leash create more for others- yes always want more from the big bloke :D)

Hawkins V Schoey (needs to play better than what he did the last time. Should be more confident this time)

Mitchell V Taylor Hunt ( Surely he isn't as good as Ling Mitchell should win this)

Sewell V Selwood (One of the Key match ups for the game will go a long way in deciding it)

Bartel V Gibson (The most influential player in the Geelong team when they are down. When Geelong are losing they look to bartel and he never fails to deliver he will be playing half forward this game needs to minimise his impact on the game)

Stevie J Vs Birchall ( i think this is a good match up because young stevie isn't too defensive. Birch should be able to keep up with him and run the other way.)

Chappie V Stratton (when he goes forward)

Our Rucks Vs There's ( So long as we break even it should go a long way in helping us win. If we beat them in the ruck it would be the first time in a while)

What do you guys think?

Surely Burgoyne isn't anywhere near as accountable as he needs to be to play on SJ...

I think that you would be pleasantly surprised if you watched last years finals when he played down back. I thought that he played quite tight on his opponents and his underated strength won out quite often. As he has got older and lost a little speed, he has learnt to counteract that utililising his exceptional footy smarts to his advantage!

Similar to what Geelong do to Hawthorn when we're up, it was very evident last week when Geelong were taking cheap shots and trying to injure the Freo players or knock the opponent down for a bit to give them an unfair advantage.

I'd expect that to happen again this time. Hopefully the Hawk players don't sit there and take it like they seem to in previous meetings. Then again it's hard to counter attack a Geelong player going in all knees into an opposition player in marking contests/ball in dispute contests with no intent on getting the ball.

Less chance of that happening with Scarlett out though. ;)

Cyril V Enright (Enright has won just about every encounter. Cyril needs to lift. Enright just bodies him out of contests and has the speed and agility to go with him)

Franklin Vs Lonergran (buddy kicked 4 the last time needs to get off the leash create more for others- yes always want more from the big bloke :D)

Hawkins V Schoey (needs to play better than what he did the last time. Should be more confident this time)

Mitchell V Taylor Hunt ( Surely he isn't as good as Ling Mitchell should win this)

Sewell V Selwood (One of the Key match ups for the game will go a long way in deciding it)

Bartel V Gibson (The most influential player in the Geelong team when they are down. When Geelong are losing they look to bartel and he never fails to deliver he will be playing half forward this game needs to minimise his impact on the game)

Stevie J Vs Birchall ( i think this is a good match up because young stevie isn't too defensive. Birch should be able to keep up with him and run the other way.)

Our Rucks Vs There's ( So long as we break even it should go a long way in helping us win. If we beat them in the ruck it would be the first time in a while)

What do you guys think?

I don't know about that! Nobody including the most exceptional athletes in our game can go with him, and Enright is certainly not that! Also he has had an interupted pre-season and looked quite rusty last week against Freo, so for these reasons I will be very surprised if he goes to Cyril and in the off chance he does I will be grinning with glee:)

I think that you would be pleasantly surprised if you watched last years finals when he played down back. I thought that he played quite tight on his opponents and his underated strength won out quite often. As he has got older and lost a little speed, he has learnt to counteract that utililising his exceptional footy smarts to his advantage!

I think Burgoyne is fantastic when the ball hits the ground, but goes missing under the high ball. In saying that, SJ would have to be accountable for him which would make for good entertainment (SJ being dragged after multiple Burgoyne goals) - good to see Burgoyne has some zip back also.

I don't know about that! Nobody including the most exceptional athletes in our game can go with him, and Enright is certainly not that! Also he has had an interupted pre-season and looked quite rusty last week against Freo, so for these reasons I will be very surprised if he goes to Cyril and in the off chance he does I will be grinning with glee:)

Wouldn't surprise me to see Guthrie and Smedts go to Cyril, one up field and one closer to goal. It will be a great game to watch for match-ups, especially when the game opens up in the 3rd and 4th. Hope we win :)

What do you guys think?

Agree with most of this mate.

The only changes I'd make are:

Selwood v Lewis. I think Lewie could do a similar job to the one he did on Judd last year. Then maybe we can get Sewell to go head to head with Kelly/Corey. We need to get the midfield match-ups absolutely spot on now Ling's gone. It's a real shame Hodge isn't playing. Hopefully Burgoyne and Rioli can have extended periods on ball.

Gibson on Bartel is interesting. If we had Gilham back I might've agreed, but we can't have Boumann or Stratton one out with Podsiadly. Bartel to get one of Birchall/Goo IMO. Stratton/Goo on Stevie J. It's tough.

It's also important that we don't allow Harry Taylor to play loose man.

Agree with most of this mate.

The only changes I'd make are:

Selwood v Lewis. I think Lewie could do a similar job to the one he did on Judd last year. Then maybe we can get Sewell to go head to head with Kelly/Corey. We need to get the midfield match-ups absolutely spot on now Ling's gone. It's a real shame Hodge isn't playing. Hopefully Burgoyne and Rioli can have extended periods on ball.

Gibson on Bartel is interesting. If we had Gilham back I might've agreed, but we can't have Boumann or Stratton one out with Podsiadly. Bartel to get one of Birchall/Goo IMO. Stratton/Goo on Stevie J. It's tough.

It's also important that we don't allow Harry Taylor to play loose man.
This is where I hope Whitecross will make his mark. I reckon he can do this job very well. If he also pops up & kicks a goal or two, like last Friday, that's even better.