Preview Hawks vs the COLA $wans and the man they call Juda$ - it's the big dance.

Is all this Swans talk a positive for us or negative or could it mess with our players heads?

Because it's messing with my head
If our guys are at all discouraged by what a bunch of numpties in the media think then they were never going to be mentally strong enough to win. Given it's basically the same group as last year and they stood up then to all the purple haze pressure talk I think they'll be right.

Sliding doors scenario... would they still be carrying on like pork chops with Port got up?

All week I've not been excited or anywhere near as pumped as I've been in the past two years. Then yesterday I had the lightbulb moment why.

This is exactly how I felt before the PF against Geelong last year. This is the game we have to win. The game where our legacy is on the line. They haven't tagged us with the "underachievers" label since last years GF and they are not going to again.

This is the game we've been waiting for. We're not going to miss this opportunity.

Go you mighty Hawks.

Parko cant be serious when he says the mcg doesnt favour the hawks.

Played in sydney it would certainly favour the swans

What bloody stadium does favour us then - TIO Stadium in Darwin?
Parko - god love him - has lost the plot!

Is all this Swans talk a positive for us or negative or could it mess with our players heads?
Because it's messing with my head

It's great. We're under the radar, as much as that's possible in GF week. the Swans have been winning and playing ok - but they haven't played a hard quarter of footy for almost a month. We'll be ok.

I just wanted to wish you guys good luck for Saturday. Given all the bloody concessions the $wans have been given, I am among those who would love to see the Hawks wipe the smiles off their smug faces.

P.S. No hard feelings about last weekend, I know we shot ourselves in the foot with inaccuracy.

To be honest with you, I haven't been able to watch a replay of that game. It is filed with my losses. You only have yourselves to blame for not being still involved. Having said that, I did say earlier that we were fresh out of BAD luck, and our luck would change in December. Just hope for more on Saturday.

Double penalties. Who cares. I ain't interested in next year. I'm interested in Saturday. If I'm AC I tell Brian to absolutely smash Tippett right from the first go. Punches into the back the head at every marking contest. Hits in the ribs to suck the oxygen out of him. This bloke is fragile, and if he's wounded I reckon he'll lie down.

Franklin can win it off his own boot many have said this week? Let's see it. Remove Tippett's influence and see if Bud responds to the added pressure and responsibility, or buckles knowing the game is on him.

God that's a poor post. Tippett has a history of serious concussions and you're enthusiastically advocating whacking him in the head? I understand there's going to be some banter in the lead up to a Grand Final but that's just disgusting.

And for 15 of you to like implicitly support this post by liking it is even more sickening. Don't think you blokes would like it if people on the Swans board were suggesting targeting Suckling's knees because he has done an ACL before.

Incredible the amount of media supporting and tipping the $wans...I can only recall Tim Watson, Sam Newman, Mark McClure and Finey off SEN tipping the Hawks. I find it astonishing that a team that finished 2 % points and on the amount of points can garner so much difference in tipping.

I'm scratching my head. Am I missing something...because I believe Hawks are going to do the Swans this Saturday.

God that's a poor post. Tippett has a history of serious concussions and you're enthusiastically advocating whacking him in the head? I understand there's going to be some banter in the lead up to a Grand Final but that's just disgusting.

And for 15 of you to like implicitly support this post by liking it is even more sickening. Don't think you blokes would like it if people on the Swans board were suggesting targeting Suckling's knees because he has done an ACL before.

Win at all costs!

While I agree with everything you say...COLA...it really pisses people off.

What do you think Franklin does everytime he goes out on the park. Have you seen him play..how many players has he whacked this year and got off because he wears a SHITney jumper...look in your own backyard mate before you come on here with your moral shit.

Win at all costs!

So if Kurt Tippett ends up with life long head trauma because one of your players deliberately targeted him you'd be okay with it?

What do you think Franklin does everytime he goes out on the park. Have you seen him play..how many players has he whacked this year and got off because he wears a SHITney jumper...look in your own backyard mate before you come on here with your moral shit.

What? When has Franklin done anything that would be regarded as thuggery this year? Sure he might have collected blokes high, and should have been suspended for a marginally late hit but he's hardly done anything like a Ty Vickery or Reece Conca.

So if Kurt Tippett ends up with life long head trauma because one of your players deliberately targeted him you'd be okay with it?
No, I wouldn't.

But I'm also not ok with plenty of other "legitimate" stuff that goes on in the game either.

Fat lot of good my opinion is.

People that cry about players getting injured from colliding with other players, or even medial or ACL injuries, or torn hamstrings need to harden up. If you don't accept the risk of injury (even long term one's) then don't play sport at all.

There's a difference between it happening incidentally and someone deliberately making it happen.

No, I wouldn't.

But I'm also not ok with plenty of other "legitimate" stuff that goes on in the game either.

Fat lot of good my opinion is.

Well, it matters around here.

While I would never advocate for injuries to players, You do get that we sit behind keyboards and have no actual control over what goes on and unless Brian is a poster is also not going to get that directive - need to lighten up a little and stop taking life so seriously.

Something tells me if you saw a post in a similar vein on another teams board you wouldn't so lackadaisical about it.

Sorry to disappoint you but I don't take Internet forums that seriously. I prefer to just ignore that type of posting - works a treat.
Now if I saw someone in the hawks cheer squad with a cricket bat leaning over the fence, then I would be concerned.

There's a difference between it happening incidentally and someone deliberately making it happen.

No one is going to go out and target players. Maybe back in the 70s and 80s, not now.

I wouldn't be ok for my club to do that. And I wouldn't be ok of Tippett never played again because of it.

Thing is, though, it's not just Hawthorn posters, but many clubs dislike the way the Swans 'acquired' Tippett and Buddy. And were able to do that.

Sometimes posts are a reflection of that intense dislike, rather than an actual wish.

I gotta say Swans were my second side for many years. A family friend is a stalwart of the club; my uncle played for 'em. I cheered when they won the flag in the mid 2000s. I respected them in 2012. Now I feel completely different.

For the record, I actually personally blame a whole lot more for all this hatred on Buddy, is so much to blame for this. Look at Patrick Ryder right now: wants to do the best thing by the club that hung him out to dry, and is insisting on a trade. Whereas Buddy just lied for a year with his filthy little pimp manager, and got us nothing. Professed his love and loyalty for the club then was party to the most cynical deal possible that screwed us over.

That's what I dislike. And I reckon a lot of the venom you hear around the traps is because of things like this. Because of the perception that the AFL enables you to do achieve that through mechanisms like COLA. Be that right or wrong, that's the reality of how many posts are framed re the Swans.

My advice: don't take the posts literally or too seriously, but, and I'm sure you know it, the backstory is what informs them.