Autopsy Hawks vs The Pusscats

I've just read eveery page of the geelong game day thread, and apart from reading them whingeing about umpiring at a point where the free kick cound was `14 7 in geelong's favour, I feel as though I have supped on Geelong despair and gorged myself on their tears.

Man I am so repleat, I feel I might spew.

God that was satisfying.

Normally I don't do that, but this was geelong.

With the exception of a few (who have been on this board of late) the rest are tedious petulant children with no grace and even less dignity.

hey Phil

you know there's a few of us who have been on that bandwagon...

tough as nails...don't see that feral taz look so much anymore...but a super player for the Hawks

Yes mate you have been on it from the start. Even in the darker days.

Lucy has taken the feral bogan out of him. It's still there though. Just need to scratch the surface :)

Was brilliant
Geelong went the typical niggle, we finally ignored it
Saved our poor kicking for when it didn't matter, normally it happens when it's tight

Poppy with mark of the yr!
Anderson a meter from goal of the yr!
Cyril has slimmed down, and hammys looked good *touch wood*

Won't bait the cats fans, but wow wee!

Resisted well MM. Cats were getting the rub of the green from the umpires, and Hodgey was getting frustrated, but sanity prevailed and we took them apart. A great way to start the season.

Awesome.

Really interesting to see that we chose to bomb the ball into big boy all day, and very rarely did he try to mark it, was always tapping down to the crumbers.

We didn't go to gunston or roughy at all really.

Not sure how often we played with Breust, Rioli and Puopolo last year, but we really seemed to play to them as a strength.
Their back line is slow. It is stacked with old men like jelly, Enright, lonergan etc. Taylor is the best there is in the air but not near as good on the ground as out players. No doubt it was a deliberate tactic.

Interested to see some vision of Clarke's Meltdown against the defenders, definitely a few fists of his thrown.

Probably one of those things that "wasn't caught on camera".

So glad we didn't sign that muppet. Was hoping I'd see the Mitch Clark I got to watch first hand quite a bit when I lived in Brisbane. He didn't disappoint.

Oddly enough, the one thing that is really sticking in my mind from the game is Frawley's face at three quarter time. He just seemed beside himself like he was amazed that playing AFL could be like this!

And that is a very pertinent observation. I don't think it would be very often in one's career - AFL or whatever - that you get the chance to be part of something that changes the game so completely, raises the standards and evolves things. It would be a very powerful motivator. Imagine having the opportunity of joining the hawks and not only taking your game to a new level, but being part of a unit that takes the game to a new level. Are you reading this Danger?

Their back line is slow. It is stacked with old men like jelly, Enright, lonergan etc. Taylor is the best there is in the air but not near as good on the ground as out players. No doubt it was a deliberate tactic.
We did it in the QF last year too, but didn't have the three smalls playing together.

A lot of tired legs in the last quarter due to the shortened preseason and Shiels' early substitution. I wouldn't worry too much about the last quarter. Missed some easy shots at goal so even at half rat pace still should have kicked five goals to one in the last.

It's great for real footy to be back and it's great to see the boys come away with a convincing win.

Would have loved to be there to watch all the different setups we ran with over the game, on tv it looked like Gunston spent a lot of time down the back half, we rotate players around so much its great.

Rough does some crazy things for a big white guy sometimes, the complete opposite of Porkins

Really hope the mail on Sheils is good and he is ok and was pulled from the game for some tightness or a knock not a tear.

Loved Poppy's game, him and Cyril together in the forward 50 = chaos for the other team

Cegs is growing before our eyes and BB is settling in well, there were a few things that I thought, Hale would have marked that but having 3 useful rucks who can be dangerous inside 50 is great

Lakey is just so much fun to watch he does some things that defenders shouldn't and gets away with them, Frawley will get better but he has a nice turn of pace and is pretty solid interesting if Birch is back next week whether Doc will sub and Jedi miss or if Shiels doesn't come up whether Doc will sub and Jedi will play

Bring on the scum

We were sublime today and far exceeded my expectations of the result. This game could have easily been won by 100pts if we had of kicked a little straighter in the last. I'm not complaining, because beating the cats by a point or 60 is the same feeling. Whats even more satisfying is that we are a level above them this year and that will burn them the most.

Geelong's older brigade are finished. Players like Enright, Bartel...and a few more in there like Taylor and Kelly just seemed very slow today or even non existent. Even their tactics of unsettling us physically aka SJ could and did not work. To the Cats supporters trolling these boards, your team is in big TROUBLE. Your players actually played rubbish today and a little embarrassing! Take a panadol and lie down for the rest of the year and wake up around January 2016.

Special mention to Ceglar and Puopolo! just a great game from a couple of blokes that aren't the big starts but held us together and kept the scoreboard ticking over!

Till next week. Bring on James and the Injectors!

That would almost be more fun to watch than the game today. Almost.

I'd like to watch David King program his supercomputer.

Unless, of course, as I suspect, that's a just a euphemism to scoffing a dozen dimmies washed down by some coldies over the team list.

I'd like to get onto a lighter note. In history we've seen the mighty Roman Empire conquer the world. They were shorter than most of their enemies , but they had absolute discipline, its what the British Empire employed in training that made them almost invincible, what they learnt from The Romans.

Well I was watching Poppy today, and I thought how would you be, facing thirty or forty thousand Puopolo s', marching in unison totally trained prepared and knew their jobs , and with a quite a few wild powerful centurions leading them . Poppy would be one of them . Hodgy , Roughy, Sam .

Any wonder they conquered the known world. GO HAWKS .

It's great for real footy to be back and it's great to see the boys come away with a convincing win.

Lakey is just so much fun to watch he does some things that defenders shouldn't and gets away with them,

Guy behind me yelled out "Does Lake know there's no Norm Smith today?" at one point

Does anyone know if it's possible for Frawley to play in more wins this year than he has in his whole career so far?

Has played in 34 wins for Melbourne overall. Only 8 over the past 3 years though - so good chance of topping that total quickly.

Autopsy Hawks vs The Pusscats