Play Nice Hawthorn culture and Fagan

This is going to be a very touchy subject.

There will be a very broad range of opinions about the correct way to handle this.

I'll remind everyone to post respectfully at this time - sniping at each other is not going to help.

Any continued pointless back and forth will get a day or more to cool off. If you want to avoid this fate, let it go.

There will be no cover up, rug sweeping or white washing and this won't be over soon.

The AFL Players Association wants the inquiry into the allegations to be an independent process, taken out of the AFL's hands.

"The AFL setting up a panel is not how I think this should play out, I think it should be independent and there are discussions going on at the moment around that," Marsh said.

The federal government has today announced a new Safety In Sport division will be set up at Sport Integrity Australia to help monitor and respond to allegations of mistreatment of athletes.

The government said it was in response to ongoing allegations of abuse and mistreatment across a range of sports.

Federal Sports Minister Anika Wells said the government would not dictate to the AFL how it should go about investigating the allegations at Hawthorn.

"I think what's important here is we need to provide alternative methods for athletes without either encroaching on NSOs [National Sporting Organisations], but without letting them off the hook," she said.

Looks like the AFL finally will have to answer to a body (the SIS) for oversight, massive can of worms and closet skeletons incoming.

Yeah.....Gil ain't gonna enjoy his last few months in the hot seat :D

Yes the Feds set up a new flying squad (the SIS) to provide oversite to ALL professional sports.

The AFLPA need to demonstrate separation from the AFL to 'seem' to be legitimate.

Gil won't slip out of this unscathed, though he will throw anyone under the bus to demonstrate his contrition.

Stick to Sky then & you'll hear what you want.
getting seriously side tracked, and at this stage I support the anonymity of the complainants as they are less powerful than the AFL or lawyered up coaches. That said, have also posted that I believe in the main legal tenant of innocent until proven guilty and Fages needs due process.

ABC Q & A ratings have fallen off a cliff since Tony Jones left. As a side note how do you think we are going with some of the below social issues, which are regularly aired on shows such as Q & A?

#Communist Chinese infiltrated some of our most prestige Unis. Completely influencing some program offerings.
#School kids taking days off school to strike about climate change, when as a nation we contribute less than 1.4% to the planets total emissions. Try and protest in China.
#The school curriculum has been changed that much, that the standard of our education compared to other OECD countries has dropped off the cliff.
#Teachers being sacked or disciplined for using pronouns when that might offend a student who believes their sexuality is non binary
#Individuals and institutions like Israel Falou being discriminated against freedom of speech on religious grounds
#Protestors gluing themselves to roads, railways etc for climate change. I support climate change policy and have solar and water tanks but it needs to be done gradually otherwise we seriously risk closing down further Australian manufacturing.
#If we stop mining coal how do we continue to support worthy causes such as NDIS, Medicare, let alone the plethora of welfare.

#Politicians and senior bureaucrats unable to define what is a female
#serious issues with Youth crime here in QLD, and having spent many years working the the youth justice area, fully support well targeted rehab: programs, but a small percentage need to be dealt punitively.

As a side note in the US (where else) a male who ID as a female was sent to a women's prisons and got two inmates pregnant, talk about the fox in the chook pen.

Quote of the thread I reckon :D

That's golden mate :D

getting seriously side tracked, and at this stage I support the anonymity of the complainants as they are less powerful than the AFL or lawyered up coaches. That said, have also posted that I believe in the main legal tenant of innocent until proven guilty and Fages needs due process.

ABC Q & A ratings have fallen off a cliff since Tony Jones left. As a side note how do you think we are going with some of the below social issues, which are regularly aired on shows such as Q & A?

#Communist Chinese infiltrated some of our most prestige Unis. Completely influencing some program offerings.
#School kids taking days off school to strike about climate change, when as a nation we contribute less than 1.4% to the planets total emissions. Try and protest in China.
#The school curriculum has been changed that much, that the standard of our education compared to other OECD countries has dropped off the cliff.
#Teachers being sacked or disciplined for using pronouns when that might offend a student who believes their sexuality is non binary
#Individuals and institutions like Israel Falou being discriminated against freedom of speech on religious grounds
#Protestors gluing themselves to roads, railways etc for climate change. I support climate change policy and have solar and water tanks but it needs to be done gradually otherwise we seriously risk closing down further Australian manufacturing.
#If we stop mining coal how do we continue to support worthy causes such as NDIS, Medicare, let alone the plethora of welfare.

#Politicians and senior bureaucrats unable to define what is a female
#serious issues with Youth crime here in QLD, and having spent many years working the the youth justice area, fully support well targeted rehab: programs, but a small percentage need to be dealt punitively.

This Is Fine GIF

apathy heals all

come join my apathetic flock of goats climbing the mountain of FAKE NEWS and COMMUNIST JOURNALISTS from the WOKE BRIGADE. we will overcome this hurdle and enter a fully enlightened world where nothing matters, you don't care about anything else other than your own happiness :)

and the lions footy club as well ;)

oh right not to derail this thread.... um I think the newest info is pretty sad and hard to read, lets wait and see for these hearings.. hopefully everyone can get their voice in and we can get an understanding of what went wrong :)

“lawyered up coaches”
You do realise those leveling the allegations have also lawyered up?
Spot on, not many mentioning this in threads on Big Footy, some even use it as a subtle cudgel against the coaches, Fagan and Clarkson would be mad not to Lawyer up considering the severity of the allegations... it is career ending stuff as well as reputation destroying.

I don’t think anyone in their right mind would question or begrudge the accused retaining the services of a legal team.

I might not have a full understanding but why is it being stamped as racism? Did whatever happen, happen because the players were indigenous ? or because of the situation they found themselves in? Was a hard line (I understand this maybe an understatement if some of the allegations are true) taken with non indigenous players as well? Obviously exactly what happened will help answer the question…….

We don't know if it the same for all players - at this point we only have stories from the aboriginal players/families.

If it was the same way for all players but affected the aboriginal players more due to their culture then some would still consider it racism under the banner of disparate impact.

The initial stories, and so far the worst accounts, are from the indigenous review and reports.

It's entirely possible that it was just a controlling and potentially abusive environment across the board, but so far the statements have been denying everything rather than saying "we did it to everyone". The examples for non-indigenous players at Hawthorn are controlling, but a lot more restrained by comparison.

See, this is something that REALLY frustrates me.....

We can't even get the number of interviewees confirmed ahahaha

"Clarkson and Fagan were not interviewed as part of the review that started as a wellbeing check on the 21 Indigenous players."

21 there,,,,,,

"Egan spoke with 17 First Nations former players, partners and staff members, five of whom were willing to go on the record with their experiences, with some text messages, emails and written transcripts shared with the report authors."

.....but 17 here.

:drunk::drunk::drunk:

"Clarkson and Fagan were not interviewed as part of the review that started as a wellbeing check on the 21 Indigenous players."

21 there,,,,,,

"Egan spoke with 17 First Nations former players, partners and staff members, five of whom were willing to go on the record with their experiences, with some text messages, emails and written transcripts shared with the report authors."

.....but 17 here.

From the report:
firefox_stSlA6MvIN.png
23 players or staff, presumably 21 players. 17 chose to participate.

21 there,,,,,,

.....but 17 here.

They did a well-being check on 21 players.

Only 17 would speak with them.

Of those 17, only five would go on the record.

I don't see the discrepancy.

They did a well-being check on 21 players.

Only 17 would speak with them.

Of those 17, only five would go on the record.

I don't see the discrepancy.

Sure, I can do the maths too lol.

The point being, we have to infer from 2 reports.

There is a number that were interviewed. That number is a fact.

How hard is it to get everyone reporting on this to simply deal with known facts?

Sure, I can do the maths too lol.

The point being, we have to infer from 2 reports.

There is a number that were interviewed. That number is a fact.

How hard is it to get everyone reporting on this to simply deal with known facts?

Respectfully I think it’s not as hard to understand as you’re making it out.

It shouldn't even be an issue BRAB lol.

But when I have to fact-check the most elementary of statements, it irritates me at the sloppiness of the reporting.

I mean, I took up a HS sub just for this story - so the sensational reporting has worked ahaha - and for my $1.00/week I EXPECT 100% ACCURACY AT ALL TIMES :D

It's not somethingt that needs harping on about, but it IS a reflection on the reporting standards, in this case of the HS Sports desk.

I'd rather one or two correct, well-written pieces than eleventy articles with some grainy brown nugget of fact squirreled away inside.

It shouldn't even be an issue BRAB lol.

But when I have to fact-check the most elementary of statements, it irritates me at the sloppiness of the reporting.

I mean, I took up a HS sub just for this story - so the sensational reporting has worked ahaha - and for my $1.00/week I EXPECT 100% ACCURACY AT ALL TIMES :D

It's not somethingt that needs harping on about, but it IS a reflection on the reporting standards, in this case of the HS Sports desk.

I'd rather one or two correct, well-written pieces than eleventy articles with some grainy brown nugget of fact squirreled away inside.

Yeah but I think it’s more of a reading comprehension issue on your part than anything else.

Play Nice Hawthorn culture and Fagan