Hawthorn - Fantasy, Dreamteam, Supercoach etc discussion - please keep it all in this thread

Can anyone tell me a bit more about Luke Hodge's role this year? Thinking of bringing him in my Supercoach team. He's had a couple of low games but if you cancel out his 34 injury score he's averaging 95ppg which is pretty good. Also has dpp as mid/def. Noticed he can go big and get 100-120's but sometimes 70-90. What do you reckon? Will he be rested or injury risk? cheers for your help

Has gone into the middle a little bit more this year in the absence of Mitchell. Given he's back now it could mean he'll play more time in defense now. I also suspect given he's had to play most of the year due to injuries to key senior players that he (and Burgoyne) will see a rest week at some point.

I'm needing a replacement for the under performing Birchall this week. Initially, I was going to go with David Swallow but with the Ablett injury I'm thinking he'll get a heavier tag. The next best option on paper definitely seems to be Sammy Mitchell. Is he set to return to big scores early or will the Hawks ease him into it more/rest him a bit?

Thanks heaps

I'm needing a replacement for the under performing Birchall this week. Initially, I was going to go with David Swallow but with the Ablett injury I'm thinking he'll get a heavier tag. The next best option on paper definitely seems to be Sammy Mitchell. Is he set to return to big scores early or will the Hawks ease him into it more/rest him a bit?

Thanks heaps

I think he will take a few weeks of footy to regain that top form/fitness. He's one player who I'd get, because with the injuries to our other midfielders like Sewell, Mitchell will be spending plenty of time in the center and this will boost his score.

Thanks heaps
Birchall is carrying a bit of a groin injury at the moment it seems. Will be better for the rest following this weeks game. I would hold off on trading unless you have a heap of trades left. Mitchell will drop quite a bit more before his price curves goes back up.

In a stats comp league on the Age's Ultimate Footy, I'm looking at bringing Langford in for Carlton's Walker, whose season is over. Langford averages nearly five tackles a match, which I want in. Do you think Hawks selection committee will give him more than a game or two this end of the season? And I can get hold of Mitch Hallahan. He was going great, but hasn't been given a game since round 12. Anyone here have a crystal ball on him coming back?

Hallahan won't come back in the side unless we loss another inside midfielder with injury. At this stage Langford is the front runner and will keep getting more games, especially with Sewell out of the side.

Cool, thanks for the heads up WWSD.

Ben McEvoy?

Safe back in the team now?

Not entirely safe is McEvoy considering he has been in fairly average form this year to say the least. Given Hale is in poor form himself and playing in the VFL right now, McEvoy is more then likely to keep his spot in the side over David Hale as we get closer to the finals.

So, just to confirm, McEvoy spent most of his time in the VFL due form, not fitness?
We're led to believe his form and fitness at VFL were perfectly fine (quite good actually). It was just Hale and Ceglar keeping him out. Not really sure how Hale's form kept him out for so long though so there could be more to it.

How likely do you think Langford will hold his spot for most weeks left this season? He is my bench cover and needing him to get games in case of injuries. Thanks.

Possibly borderline at the moment. Hill and Gibson will return for the Swans. Langford will probably stay in but he's possibly the next one out when Sewell and Rioli return.

In my second Ultimate Fantasy (The Age) side - Simpkin, who's on the extended interchange - what percentage chance he'll be sub against the Swans, please? I won't be by a computer to switch him at the last minute.

I reckon he's 1 of 3 options and the 2nd most likely. So about a 40% chance?

Yeah, thanks for that cryptor. I know he's been sub a few times previous, but not since I've had him. But my Ziebell, Gibson and Morabito had dud games last weekend. I need Simpkin to tear the Swans a new one for me, for four quarters ;)

For Ultimate footy keepers our league has a 1 player add/drop this week. Im keen on either Whitecross or hartung to lock in for next season... How do you rate these guys for future years in DT? Another player im looking at is Blake Acres from the saints...so options are limited. Who would you guys pick and why??

Don't know much about Acres so won't comment there.

Just guessing here but Hartung should be good for about 15 possessions a game next season and play a similar style game to Hill and Smith (good kick:handball ratio).

Whitecross it's hard to say given he's missed the best part of 2 years. Should average about 20 possessions a game but I don't know what his role will be in 2015. Possibly defensive forward of some sort.

Personally if it was for next year I'd be looking at Jed Anderson if he's an available option. If it weren't for injury he'd quite likely be in the 22 now.

Plplayed but got very ordinary score is ye still playing with injury?
He got 30 possessions. If you're talking Supercoach then it would be because his disposal was being put under a lot of pressure by Cross who was tagging him for the majority of the game. A lot of illegal holding/scragging off the ball too so unlucky not to have got more free kicks.