How did you start following the Bombers?

As I live in South Australia most people I talk to about AFL question why I go for a Victorian team, it's pretty simple and boring.

My mum was born in Victoria, she however is a Crows supporter :thumbsdown: My grandma though, was a mad Essendon supporter, grandpa was a Carlton supporter (double :thumbsdown:). All my aunties were also Essendon supporters so ever since I've remembered I've been an Essendon supporter, I used to have a soft spot for the Crows as well but that has vastly changed the last 5 years haha.

I have absolutely no idea how it started, there is no family connection, no geographic connection, it always just was.

As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end, Amen.

I have a hazy memory of hearing the footy on the back verandah when I was two or three, and thinking that the name was cool. If it wasn't that, it would've been the colours, or relatives (cept for Pies-supporting dad - and even then, he jumped ship from EFC to St Kilda to the Pies when he was a kid :p ).

ed: and I guess living in Moonee Ponds always helped nudge me in the right direction...

Born in '82, went to school with a pack of sheep in Geelong.
Came home after school and said to Mum "I want to barrack for the Cats like all of my friends"
Mum said, "Sure, but you will have to leave home"
I cried and said "I don't know how to cook". Wore the guernsey to bed that night. Haven't looked back since.

Bloodlines trace strongly up the family tree via Mum's Aunty and Uncle living in Ascot Vale.

Born in '82, went to school with a pack of sheep in Geelong.
Came home after school and said to Mum "I want to barrack for the Cats like all of my friends"
Mum said, "Sure, but you will have to leave home"
I cried and said "I don't know how to cook". Wore the guernsey to bed that night. Haven't looked back since.

Bloodlines trace strongly up the family tree via Mum's Aunty and Uncle living in Ascot Vale.
This wins.

I have always been a massive Essendon fanatic, despite being from Tassie.

I was born in 77 so when we were such an awesome side and had our great rivalry with Hawthorn in the 80s. From memory I was at my nan's house and I was looking at the ladder and I think we were on top. Then I think I checked the colours, saw we were "the bombers" and that was that.

I have lots of early memories of watching us play the Hawks at my grandmother's house, pretty sure I vaguely remember the grand finals.

I would always cry when Essendon lost, nothing much has changed in that regard.

One of my earliest memories is sitting in the lounge room of my Nan's house shouting "Where's Salmon? Where's Salmon?" Over and over again. He was injured that day.......

I only moved over here in 2010, before that just watched it on tv.

I was in Cambodia for the North Melbourne vs Essendon Final, watched it at a local bar with 7 good friends including my wife. None of them will ever watch an Essendon game with me again.

I live in Perth my dad doesn't really follow anyone so I think my auntie swooped in and got me on the bombers before I had a choice

I come from a Hawthorn family (Grandad grew up there). Mum grew up in Essendon (went to school with Ken Fletcher)

As a kid in the early 80's I used to go downstairs on the weekend and watch the footy (wether it was highlights or games I have no idea) Earliest memory I can put a date to was my 6th birthday in april 84 and family friends coming in with Hawthorn gear (must've asked Dad) saying as they'd won the flag the previous year I should follow them. My response was "but I'm a Bombers fan"

Myself, my brother and sister could barrack for any team we wanted, but if it wasnt Essendon then we werent allowed to sleep in the house. (We could sleep under a piece of tin out the back apparantly). Thanks Dad.

Great grandparents lived in Essendon and raised my grandma the right way. Most of the family followed suit, and in fact since moving away, two generations have moved back to Essendon. Grandma's younger sister, in her late 70's, goes to every home game she can.

My dad & his family were always Essendon. He played reserves in the Coleman era (under Alan Hird Sr), and I received my first jumper in 1975 or so.

I played U/19's for 3-4 years & did a couple of pre seasons with the 1's & 2's but wasn't good enough.

My godfather is in the top 25 players list.

I had no choice but to be Essendon :)

My earliest childhood memory of footy was the 93 GF. My dad is a Bomber but he never pushed them on me - my oldest brother is a Tiger and my other older brother is Blue... And we all grew up in Perth in the 80's and 90's! Anyway, I remember sitting watching the game and at some point Dad put a scarf around me, we won the game and that was that. Thanks Dad for (probably drunkenly) putting that scarf around me!

I was born here but didn't live here permanently until I was 5. I once I started school here the only two teams I was aware of were Geelong and Essendon, I chose Essendon because my sisters chose Geelong, so sibling rivalry I guess. Also not gonna lie, the red and black colours were definitely a part of it too.

Forgotten. Remember crying after watching Collingwood beat us in a first semi in 1959. Tried to stop in about 1975. Didn't want my emotional state dependent on a footy club.

Think it was my older brother supported Fitzroy. I had looked at all the teams and put them in pairs. There was Melbourne and Collingwood. Richmond and Geelong. North and South Melbourne. StKilda and Carlton. Hawthorn and Footscray. And Essendon and Fitzroy is how it went. Used to cut the teams out of the paper each week and put them in a scrap book. Then the results on Monday.

Actually, as I reflect, the colours were the clincher.

My best mate when I was a kid was Wanganeens little cousin, every now and then Gavin would come around their house, what a star he was, couldn't help myself but support the greatest footy club in history from that point.
A few years later O'laughlin started hanging around my cousin trying to date her, but by then I had red and black blood.

I live in south aus and always have so nearly supported the crows kinda did when I was younger but never really got too attached to know many players names or regularly watch.. (Do have a signed Darren jarman gurnsey) .. Forgive me..

Born in '93 started watching in 2000.. James Hird has my first name.. (And fave player at the time)
Favourite colour blend
The bomber is by far the best logo
When all this fit into place I started barracking for the right team. Haven't missed a single game in 2 years now.

its fair to say im astounded at the amount of people that have changed teams.

Like.. fair play and all for joining the force but how can you?

You gotta stick true to your roots! no matter what happens, no matter how much greener the other grass is....

I was lucky, i was born in the Essendon area, and pretty much fell into a red and black jumper, rest is history.

I have absolutely no idea how it started, there is no family connection, no geographic connection, it always just was.

As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end, Amen.
This is exactly how I feel, perfect.

To try and elaborate on my beginnings, I used to tag along with Dad while he was working on Sundays in the mid 90s and watch the Ch7 footy. I must have watched a few Bombers games early on as Matthew Lloyd became my favourite player very quickly and thus I supported the Bombers. A little unusual because none of my family have the remotest interest in AFL, nor do my childhood mates.

I can actually remember playing in AFL gala thingy when I was 12 and trying to emulate Lloydy as our full forward. I was rubbish but still managed to kick a couple, complete with grass being thrown in the air and pulling the socks up.

i cant remember how old i was but it it was before i started school so early 70s. My parents both mad bombers supporters and both sets of grandparents the same. I had no choice but i love the bombers now as much as i did as a young tacka.

its fair to say im astounded at the amount of people that have changed teams.

Like.. fair play and all for joining the force but how can you?

You gotta stick true to your roots! no matter what happens, no matter how much greener the other grass is....

I was lucky, i was born in the Essendon area, and pretty much fell into a red and black jumper, rest is history.

NO!!!! No no no no.

No.

If that were the case I'd have followed my old mans club, and that would have me backing Melbourne.

How did you start following the Bombers?