Huddo on Fev

the only thing that gets to me about the whole fevola thing is. for a guy that played a below average game and to suffer a loss like we did. he managed to smile and joke with the st kilda players. could fevs have taken money from st kilda to play a bad game. did he tank. the performance does raise a few questions.

Or, from a different perspective, it raises no questions.

Fevola is a larrikan, despite being one of the main faces of the club. They showed his face in the back after the match, and he seemed pretty broken up.

Who's to say he doesn't just put on the face and pleasantries on the field?

Then again, who's to say he just puts on the distraught face in the back?

I think people just read too much into things.

the only thing that gets to me about the whole fevola thing is. for a guy that played a below average game and to suffer a loss like we did. he managed to smile and joke with the st kilda players. could fevs have taken money from st kilda to play a bad game. did he tank. the performance does raise a few questions.
You're kidding, right?

If the "Hird-Archer" example of two great rivals............Gladiators if you will.......wasn't far enough off the mark (Hird wasn't smiling and rubbing Glens shoulders, and didn't hug the enitre Roos squad)...........

then this shows the complete lack of understanding from Huddo:

I find it a little ironic that Fevola was criticised for being superficial, yet another argument against being so openly friendly is the need to at least look as if you are hurting – surely that is even more superficial.

I suspect the reality of modern professional football (and other sport) is that players learn how to get over the hurt of a loss quicker than many supporters.

The point isn't that Fev should have "looked like" he was hurting.

The point is he should have actually been hurting, after a loos that pretty much ended our year and he was dismal in it.

Go up, to every Saints player if you like.......shake their hand......slap their back......rise an eyebrow and say "Mate, you got us again"...........BUT TAKE THAT ****ING GRIN OFF YOUR FACE AND DON'T GO OFF WITH YOUR ARM AROUND A SHOULDER........AND DON'T TAKE YOUR JUMPER OFF BEFORE YOU'VE EVEN REACHED THE BOUNDARY LINE.

YOU SHOULD HURT FEV. IT'S NOT THE ACTIONS, BUT THE EMOTION THAT UNDERLINED IT THAT GETS US.

Fev was not at a BBQ, or a pub catching up with these blokes......but that is how he reacted.

Who knows........maybe with Kosi on the move Fev thinks he may end up at the Saints.

First round pick and Goddard?;)

Buckley, the same guy who played his last year or two on one leg, robbing a kid from a spot, calling Fev 'selfish'? That made me laugh!

I wish the media would leave this alone!

Who cares seriously? Players are friends with opposition players. It happens every week with most players.

It most certainly does not BG.
Yes players shake hands after the game, but they do not, and I repeat do not, walk off with players with their arms around them with a grin on their faces.

What Fevola did was a disgrace, and if it was up to me, i'd trade his arse quicker than you could say Go Blues at years end.

Agree with Huddo. It's only because of the contract talks, that he gave away a 50 and because Fev's an easy target. Sure he probably hugged one guy too many, but was it really that big a deal?? Certainly not enough to want to trade the bloke.

Buckley carried on like a sook when he won the Norm Smith in the losing side so he's in no position to comment.

It most certainly does not BG.
Yes players shake hands after the game, but they do not, and I repeat do not, walk off with players with their arms around them with a grin on their faces.

What Fevola did was a disgrace, and if it was up to me, i'd trade his arse quicker than you could say Go Blues at years end.

You are crazy and very indecisive when it comes to Fev. I have read a number of your posts about Fev this year and they vary from "he's a champion" after he has had a good game to "let's trade him" after he has a bad game.

You don't trade one of your best players. Who is going to kick our goals?

Agree with Huddo. It's only because of the contract talks, that he gave away a 50 and because Fev's an easy target. Sure he probably hugged one guy too many, but was it really that big a deal?? Certainly not enough to want to trade the bloke.

Buckley carried on like a sook when he won the Norm Smith in the losing side so he's in no position to comment.

The boot studder got a hug.......as did the club doctor and physio.;)

You are crazy and very indecisive when it comes to Fev. I have read a number of your posts about Fev this year and they vary from "he's a champion" after he has had a good game to "let's trade him" after he has a bad game.

You don't trade one of your best players. Who is going to kick our goals?

Find a post where I have said that Fevola is a champion.

not alot of love for fev in here, if bf is an indication of the support he gets, no wonder he hasnt signed yet

Actually didnt think he played too bad with limited opportunities and being held, blocked and having to deal with an extra number or 2 back all night, not to mention our disposal also.

Didnt like his antics after the siren tho, and he was just frustrated in Hudgton's tactics to give away the free kick and fifty in the 2nd quarter.

Find a post where I have said that Fevola is a champion.

They weren't direct quotes HBF but you get my point surely.

I just don't understand why you would want to trade one of our best. Who will kick our goals?

not alot of love for fev in here, if bf is an indication of the support he gets, no wonder he hasnt signed yet

Nobody can question his ability, but his best is very good, and his worst is terrible. He's the most frustrating footballer I have ever seen play. He's 27, and IMO, will be lucky to be part of our next premiership.

He's conducted himself terribly during these contract ngotiations, so much so, that Brett Ratten has even eluded to the fact that it has had an affect on the playing list.

Plenty of clubs would want him, and depending on what type of deal they put on the table, I would look very seriously at it.

They weren't direct quotes HBF but you get my point surely.

I just don't understand why you would want to trade one of our best. Who will kick our goals?

No I don't BG. I may said that he played a good game, and might have said that we should sign him, but Friday nights performance really crystalised my opinion of him.

It's pretty simple really what would happen should he leave. One option would be to move Waite back forward, and either bring Austin in, or do something else back there.

Have a look what Richmond have done. They moved Richo, and look what it has done for Riewoldt, Hughes and Morton. Who's to say the same could happen for us with Waite, Kreuzer, Hartlett and Fisher (should he stay as well). We also have Edwards up there.

We could also do what the Bulldogs have done and get more goals out of our mids like Gibbs, Judd, Simpson and Murphy.

We're not a one man team, and we do have heaps of options. Cloke could play up there, as could Carlos.

What happens, is we become less predictable, and we kick to the jumper, not the player.

Have a look at West Coast in 2006. They won a flag basically without a target up there.

Nobody can question his ability, but his best is very good, and his worst is terrible. He's the most frustrating footballer I have ever seen play. He's 27, and IMO, will be lucky to be part of our next premiership.

He's conducted himself terribly during these contract ngotiations, so much so, that Brett Ratten has even eluded to the fact that it has had an affect on the playing list.

Plenty of clubs would want him, and depending on what type of deal they put on the table, I would look very seriously at it.

why the hell should he sign before seasons end? its Carlton putting the pressure on him, not the other way around

No I don't BG. I may said that he played a good game, and might have said that we should sign him, but Friday nights performance really crystalised my opinion of him.

It's pretty simple really what would happen should he leave. One option would be to move Waite back forward, and either bring Austin in, or do something else back there.

Have a look what Richmond have done. They moved Richo, and look what it has done for Riewoldt, Hughes and Morton. Who's to say the same could happen for us with Waite, Kreuzer, Hartlett and Fisher (should he stay as well). We also have Edwards up there.

We could also do what the Bulldogs have done and get more goals out of our mids like Gibbs, Judd, Simpson and Murphy.

We're not a one man team, and we do have heaps of options. Cloke could play up there, as could Carlos.

What happens, is we become less predictable, and we kick to the jumper, not the player.

Have a look at West Coast in 2006. They won a flag basically without a target up there.

Understand all that, however, Waite can't kick, Fisher can't kick and Hartlett can't stay on the field.

Edwards and Kreuzer have played two handfuls of games between them.

Cloke at CHF if we can get a replace in the ruck and unfortunately I don't think Carlos is going to make it.

Fev will stay regardless of all this talk anyway and once we start climbing the ladder he will become everybody's favourite player again.

Huddo on Fev