I feel sorry for M Rucci

The reason for Neil Craig not disclosing as much info was due to last year, I believe the club picked up on it eventually that he was trying to undermine the AFC by exposing as much as he could of Adelaide's gameplan, he did this by focusing all of his questions to Craig and the opposition coaches about Adelaide's gameplan. I have heard many press conferences, but I have never seen a reporter try and get so much of a teams gameplan out in the media for coaches to dissect.

Rucci's problem again is that he thinks he is smarter than everyone else and didnt think that anyone would catch on to what he was doing. Best way is to answer those questions is indirectly exactly like what Craig is doing. If Rucci doesnt like it then just report on the Power, we wont miss him.

The reason for Neil Craig not disclosing as much info was due to last year, I believe the club picked up on it eventually that he was trying to undermine the AFC by exposing as much as he could of Adelaide's gameplan, he did this by focusing all of his questions to Craig and the opposition coaches about Adelaide's gameplan. I have heard many press conferences, but I have never seen a reporter try and get so much of a teams gameplan out in the media for coaches to dissect.

Rucci's problem again is that he thinks he is smarter than everyone else and didnt think that anyone would catch on to what he was doing. Best way is to answer those questions is indirectly exactly like what Craig is doing. If Rucci doesnt like it then just report on the Power, we wont miss him.

I really dont thin k a couple questions at a press conference do much to help oppositioncoaches work out the Crows gameplan ... if they haven't worked out the gameplan yet they are not doing their jobs.

Needed a laugh, thought I'd read the latest Rucci rant on this Adelaide board.

Thanks for the pick-me-up...

My thoughts (if they mean anything, you'd all probably dismiss them as biased and worthless because I am a Port Adelaide supporter)

1) Neil Craig is boring, uninformative, bland at press conferences and interviews. He conveys no information of interest, no overt displays of happiness or criticism, and as such he is an easy target. Wasn't it Reid and Trigg that conveyed the message about openness and honesty to the supporters and the media? I personally don't care, coaches are supposed to be coaches and not media people. Wouldn't hurt to smile occasionally. Mark Williams was as bad in his first couple of years, but I think he has gotten better and interesting as the years pass. Hopefully Craigy can develop in the same way.

2) Rucci is a Port supporter. He is the Chief sports editor at the Tiser. He does not support your team, but to quote "Build a bridge, and get over it". Just like us Port Adelaide supporters need to get over KG and Cornsey and Stephen Rowe and Geoff Roach and Kevin Naughton and all those others that hate us. PS Don't for one minute think that we like having Rucci saying some of the inflamatory things that he does. We like your response, but we don't neccesarily like what he says. Don't mix his thoughts with ours.

3) Don't know why you guys get so defensive about your injury list and the intimation that the Craig training regimes are significantly to blame. Put all the spin on it that you want, but it is clear that there is something going wrong at West Lakes at the moment, and to come to the conclusion after much serious analysis, that there is more bad luck than anything else is naive at best.

Keep the chin up guys, before the season I've got you down as a top 4 and I still think you'll sneak in there, just ease off on the scientific training methods a bit!!

Thank you Rooch. We'll all keep that it mind.

I really dont thin k a couple questions at a press conference do much to help oppositioncoaches work out the Crows gameplan ... if they haven't worked out the gameplan yet they are not doing their jobs.

Its not just that though, if he asks questions from Malthouse etc and they give one piece of the puzzle that they have worked out along with one or two from Craig each week within a few weeks there is a fair bit of info out there for opposition coaches to use. I agree that they work things out themselves, but its pretty obvious why Craig isnt answering those types of questions now from Ruci. You have to remember that preparation time is limited due to there being 14 other teams besides Adelaide to worry about so any info you can get along the way would surely help.

Other journalists dont really care too much they just want to write a story, but Rucci is a whole different kettle of fish, he usually asks questions that he doesnt even write articles about. I kept a mental note from mid last year to the end of the season of what info Rucci was asking for. I saw very very little of it end up in any story in the paper. So the question has to be asked why was he asking such indepth tactical questions if they werent for an article ?? Early this season I remember him asking Craig "I notice Goodwin come off the field at the 22 minute mark of the 1st, 2nd, 3rd quarter, is that something tactical that you only used for this game or it is somehting that you are going to continue to do all year or was it just to give him a rest", Craig obvious declined to answer but I think Rucci is pushing the envelope with the press conference for his own personal adgenda, but has been found out and is now targeting on Craig due to this.

The whole premise of press conferences is to allow the media clarification of various aspects of the particular game to assist them with their articles.

People can deny it if they want, but I am willing to bet this is why Craig is snubbing half of the questions from Rucci at the press conferences. Heard Rucci at a Port one ?? Its a total different line of questioning for Williams, his questions are more focussed on how Port beat the opposition tactics and not the primary tactics that Port use.

Again Rucci's biggest problem is that he thinks he is smarter than everyone else, there are some that cant see the it, but many others can see him for what he really is. It's that simple really.

Its not just that though if he asks questions from Malthouse etc and they give one piece of the puzzle that they have worked out along with one or two from Craig each week within a few weeks there is a fair bit of info out there for opposition coaches to use. I agree that they work things out themselves, but its pretty obvious why Craig isnt answering those types of questions now from Ruci.
Yeah , well I beg to differ. As I said other coaches have enough tapes, and do enough analysis to work out exactly how Adelaide - or any club plays. The problem these days is generally not working out what a gameplan is, but it is to overcome it. Also lets not put more creditbility on Ruccis tactical nouse than he has.... we all know he dreams of being a coach and pulling moes but he isnt any sort of authority on game style.

Other journalists dont really care too much they just want to write a story, but Rucci is a whole different kettle of fish, he might asks questions that he doesnt even write articles about. I kept a mental note from mid last year to the end of the season of what info Rucci was asking for. I saw very very little of it end up in any story in the paper. So the question has to be asked why was he asking such indepth tactical questions if they werent for an article ??
Many journalists ask questions that are not published. They ask a whole heap of questions, look at the answers to other journalists questions and then dissapear to frame a story the asnwers they use will be those that fall into the frame of the story they are telling.

People can deny it if they want, but I am willing to bet this is why Craig is snubbing half of the questions from Rucci at the press conferences. Heard Rucci at the Port one ?? Its a total different line of questioning for Williams.

I dont listen too intently to question in press conferences to be honest (at least to whos asking them) I listen to what the coach says, and back myself to develop my own opionions.

I really don't think a couple questions at a press conference do much to help opposition coaches work out the Crows gameplan ... if they haven't worked out the gameplan yet they are not doing their jobs.
No. Not really. Not always. Are you suggesting to give other clubs a free a leg-up ? They don't. Oops, just noticed you are a Port Power person... hey what gives, your post is rather well reasoned and written for that end of town ? :)

Yeah , well I beg to differ. As I said other coaches have enough tapes, and do enough analysis to work out exactly how Adelaide - or any club plays. The problem these days is generally not working out what a gameplan is, but it is to overcome it.
Your privilege to differ and good luck to you. Don't share your view. Some of our supporters don't yet grasp modern possession footy vs kick it long as soon as you grab it regardless doing work to create opportunities and zoning and flooding etc. Best to keep your opposition less than fully informed... something about surprise in the art of war. Think there are no evolving tactical secrets in clubs ?

Many journalists ask questions that are not published. They ask a whole heap of questions, look at the answers to other journalists questions and then dissapear to frame a story the asnwers they use will be those that fall into the frame of the story they are telling.

I dont listen too intently to question in press conferences to be honest (at least to whos asking them) I listen to what the coach says, and back myself to develop my own opionions.
I love to listen to the interviews (when 5aa doesn't cut off the beginning and end like they usually do to get on air with their ar*ing around instead of valuable direct contact with the coaches, and when the questions are actually loud enough to hear on the radio... and on that rant, the interviews are 10,000 times better than some of the listener questions like the greenness of the grass the other week - get the focus on the game, 5aa, on occasion you're doing a Marty Mattner "special bounce"). Glad you like to value your own views :), good luck to you, however consider even the lowly Mr R may have an insightful moment and it's worth knowing who the questioner is for context.

Glad you like to value your own views :), good luck to you, however consider even the lowly Mr R may have an insightful moment and it's worth knowing who the questioner is for context.

Dont take that the wrong way - I'm saying I'd rather watch a game and form my own opinion on how we played than need to habve someone tell me.

OK, point taken. I admit I like to hear them - even the dumb TV commentators who "spin" their way through half the time and not call "as it actually is" in front of your very eyes (like free kicks etc)... apart from the good-to-hear Dennis :thumbsu: :thumbsu: who seems to tell you exactly how it is :) They generally know something useful, even if it's only the opposition players' names.

Why is rucci persisting with the McLeod-Edwards story on the back page of the Tiser today?

It wasnt Rucci, but it is interesting that the advertiser has spent heaps of time about the rift with McLeod and Edwards yet Rucci totally ignored the rift at Port between Primus and guys like montgomery etc and Tredrea and pretended it didnt exist.

Given I now don't buy the tiser bercause or Mr R, who's name was put against the article just out of interest ? Mustn't be enough chook feed going around.

A mite sad, they're both absolutely terrific players albeit with different off-field perspectives, however you can't love everyone...

I feel sorry for M Rucci