News Impact of COVID-19 on season 2020 and beyond

Like? I'm genuinely interested in what measures other countries have taken that we haven't that have proven effective. The only ones I can think of I've mentioned previously: expanded testing (which I'm still hoping we do assuming we have the new test kits now) and releasing information about positive cases which the WA government said late yesterday they were keen to do.

Also Wuhan reporting no new cases today for the first time in a month. Whether people believe it is up to them :)

The authoritarian nations that have been able to lock their people away, deport any non residents who breaks the rules and restrict travel have all done well.

The nations that have continued to champion individual freedom have experienced significant community spread.

I agree that expanded testing will assist with reducing the spread, but so would shutting down everything and nobody leaving home for a month. The symptoms will expose themselves in someone in the home if it's infected.

You are talking about millions of jobs lost Taylor. Shutting it all down until there is a vaccine will kill more people in the next 2 years than the virus ever could.
I'm not suggesting it, I'm comparing the results of nations that have done that to those that haven't.

I don't think we can point at one feature of another nation's actions and attribute their results in isolation (pun intended).

Not gonna lie if they cancel uni next semester the government may stop giving us centrelink which isnt much but enough to get by. (country kids rely upon it, never actually discussed it with perth students). A lot of uni students are gonna be stuck without jobs (cause we are studying and are not part of the workforce), low savings and nothing to do is gonna cause a fair bit of pain.

Guess ill go home which will be weird haven't really lived with my parents since high school. 17 seems so long ago.

Knock on effect does that mean I miss on my usual summer job and thus miss a semester next year cause I need money.

Officially, ScoMo has shut the borders. No Non Australian residents will be allowed in.
I think the Government has been decent at this but they should have closed the borders and put everyone into mandated quarantine that was returning a month ago. At a minimum, it should have been done when the issues in Italy came up.

That is going to be the biggest ****-up from all this

I think the Government has been decent at this but they should have closed the borders and put everyone into mandated quarantine that was returning a month ago. At a minimum, it should have been done when the issues in Italy came up.

That is going to be the biggest fu**-up from all this

Yep to late the horse has bolted.
Not closing large assemblies until the Monday to allow Hillsong to have there large gathering on the Sunday was a wtf moment.

"The average age of those who’ve died from the virus in Italy is 79.5. As of March 17, 17 people under 50 had died from the disease. All of Italy’s victims under 40 have been males with serious existing medical conditions."

This is very important to keep in mind when people inevitably start saying how it can kill young people as well. Also to keep in mind this Italy where the healthcare system is overwhelmed.

IF we keep the healthcare system from being overwhelmed, we will get nowhere near what Italy is. Even if the system does get overwhelmed, I doubt we end up like them - their average age (2nd oldest in the world), culture of smoking and density of population mean we just wont end up like Italy.

We need to look after the vulnerable however we can, avoid overwhelming the system and we'll have few casualties

Edit: I have added a sentence to try to avoid idiots from other boards coming in and not understanding my full position

Yep to late the horse has bolted.
Not closing large assemblies until the Monday to allow Hillsong to have there large gathering on the Sunday was a wtf moment.
Just a tad late, but a necessity. Australia can be better equipped due to large population spread and isolated country. 24 million vs 70 million.

"The average age of those who’ve died from the virus in Italy is 79.5. As of March 17, 17 people under 50 had died from the disease. All of Italy’s victims under 40 have been males with serious existing medical conditions."

This is very important to keep in mind when people inevitably start saying how it can kill young people as well. Also to keep in mind this Italy where the healthcare system is overwhelmed.

IF we keep the healthcare system from being overwhelmed, we will get nowhere near what Italy is. Even if the system does get overwhelmed, I doubt we end up like them - their average age (2nd oldest in the world), culture of smoking and density of population mean we just wont end up like Italy

that's a relief, only my grandparents and mates with serious health conditions are at risk of dying, PHEW!

as long as the economy keeps ticking over with my super losing money hand over fist by we'll be fine, it's not like we don't have free medical care or anything.

that's a relief, only my grandparents and mates with serious health conditions are at risk of dying, PHEW!

as long as the economy keeps ticking over with my super losing money hand over fist by we'll be fine, it's not like we don't have free medical care or anything.
Thanks for popping in here with your input and taking one post out of many completely out of context. I really needed it.

Having spoken to business owners over the last few days - there is al lot of pain coming in the next week to ten days. The ramifications to different industries will be felt for a long time.

The challenge to business owners is not one that could be prepared for or expected. A few businesses may try to survive for a month or two but if it goes much longer than that a wide range of small businesses (and some large) will no longer exist.

In other news - if you have cash that you don't need to survive the next few months, opportunities to invest in business and shares are very cheap atm.

You can change your super from share based to cash/interest at any time. I'm amazed how many people don't seem to realise you can do this. Long term you could actually come out with more super (c.f. no virus) if you play it right.

Having spoken to business owners over the last few days - there is al lot of pain coming in the next week to ten days. The ramifications to different industries will be felt for a long time.

The challenge to business owners is not one that could be prepared for or expected. A few businesses may try to survive for a month or two but if it goes much longer than that a wide range of small businesses (and some large) will no longer exist.

In other news - if you have cash that you don't need to survive the next few months, opportunities to invest in business and shares are very cheap atm.
Yep, friends of mine have just had to call in the liquidators for their long established family patisserie. Grim times indeed.

I noticed this in an article recently. It's from Seneca the younger, a Roman stoic philosopher (4 B.C. - A.D. 65)

"There are more things likely to frighten us than to crush us; we suffer more often in imagination than in reality"

My personal opinion is that we will get through this reasonably well as a Nation but it is rather scary right now. Unfortunately there is a lot of counter productive hype from the media at this time. As a result there is a degree of anxiety from us poor punters because we tend to examine the worst case scenario to help us assess our future prospects. The biggest long term effect will be economic stagnation well into 2021 before things return to a more normal situation i.m.o.

Individually it has, and will be devastating to some people who will lose their jobs, businesses and homes in some cases. I know from my own experience of past high inflation, recessions and natural disasters that you never know what you are capable of until you get pushed into a corner. To those who are doing it tough I wish you well and hope everything works out for you.

The virus has won and no amount of quarantine will stop it. What a monumental **** up and the worst part is when this virus does finally **** off we'll have an economy that'll be in tatters.

Lost my job today.
Footy is such a drug to me and I'm so happy to at least see one Freo game on the weekend.
Excited to see how we go under JLo.
Keep your spirits up everyone.

"Failure cannot cope with perseverance."
-Matthew Pavlich.
hey mate, hope your okay
nothing i can do for you but send some good wishes your way

That is going to be the biggest fu**-up from all this
It's flattening the curve, not avoiding it, to ensure herd immunity is developed across the population in the absence of a vaccine for potentially another 18months or so. I know I have a PhD in this stuff but I feel like the govt and med experts have been pretty clear to the general public about what flatten the curve actually means.

I agree, and I've been staunch on thinking what we are doing is reasonable, just feel closing borders is something they could have done earlier and avoid most of the need for flattening the curve since it just wouldnt hit us too hard

Probably one or two weeks too late. But it is done, and WA just about to get more cases via community spread. Felt we should’ve closed flights from USA two weeks ago, as they’re the highly respected, but ignored country. Watch their cases soar.
Feel like most Australians got the message. The panic buying will be the culprit for many cases. Unless the government somehow cracks down on ID scanning etc in order to check whether one has shopped within the last day/week/fortnight. It’s getting ridiculous. Most are going around form shop to shop for a few hours each day stocking up. Some just want to do their weekly shopping

Today, 12 of the 17 new cases in WA were community transmissions. We are finally starting to see it spread a bit.

3 people are being treated in hospital but are in a stable condition.

If you are personally high at-risk or in close contact with someone high at-risk be extra careful over the coming days!

Finding new cases (especially community transmissions) is actually a good thing, not a bad thing. All those cases have been isolated and the authorities will now trace their movements to see if/how it may have spread.

With no disrespect, your take on this news is nothing short of dangerous and is very naive.

Stop underplaying the situation like you and the authorities have complete control of what is happening. This is the worst news to date for WA. It gets real now.

To think the authorities are going to just go and round up all those in contact with the 12 locally transmitted cases and put them in cotton wool and it will make a difference is ludicrous. These are the ones who have been tested that they happen to know about.

It’s time for the elderly and vulnerable to take action, not just be ”extra careful”. Anyone over 70 in the UK is currently on home isolation for 3-4 months.

Credit to the AFL for giving round 1 a crack, but watch the footy from the telly, not a pub.

We had some good news here, the banks have wavered mortgage payments and penalties for the next 3 months, same with the utility companies to a certain degree.

And we aren’t even at the community transmission phase yet, the government here to their credit has not F’d around.

News Impact of COVID-19 on season 2020 and beyond