Improving the fan experience at Simonds Stadium

Why do you like it? I reckon it's just plain silly! Normally I love silliness, but not this time. I reckon we pull a soundbyte from the following. I reckon from 1:32 to 1:46 should do the trick, as crowd involvement opportunity abounds.

]

LET ME SEE YOUR WARFACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Honestly I just don't mind it, seems an awful lot of kerfuffle over very little to me. Only lasts for about a second anyway...
It is such a short bite its not a huge drama IMO. Im kinda ambivalent to it either way.

Maybe the kids like it.

Go Catters

To all those saying we shouldn't copy Port, they didn't exactly invent it. I'm not sure if going down that path is the way to go, but I reckon Simonds could do with having something unique in its experience.

Yep, they didn't invent sh*t, unless inventing is something you do when you copy the EPL.

As far as I'm concerned I'm happy to support any ORIGINAL ideas the club can come up with, but will definitely be against any copy-cat crap like the example above. It then just feels lazy & cheap.

To be honest I don't think a big song and dance is something that will be appreciated by the crowd at Kardinia.

I think any 'match day experience' (other than footy, which is what I go to the footy for, surprisingly) should embrace the suburban football experience - that's Kardinia's differentiator.

To be honest I don't think a big song and dance is something that will be appreciated by the crowd at Kardinia.

I think any 'match day experience' (other than footy, which is what I go to the footy for, surprisingly) should embrace the suburban football experience - that's Kardinia's differentiator.

Quite right, cars up to the fence, toot the horn for goals, byo cans.:D

Tend to agree. The KP crowd barely gets excited when we were winning 42 games out of 45 odds at KP - a song or gimmick is unlikely to get them motivated.
GO Catters

Quite right, cars up to the fence, toot the horn for goals, byo cans.:D
Utes backed up to the fence is the way to go Fred

Couches in the back of said utes

living the dream right there

Tend to agree. The KP crowd barely gets excited when we were winning 42 games out of 45 odds at KP - a song or gimmick is unlikely to get them motivated.
GO Catters
2015 was probably the loudest I've heard the crowd since 2007.

And that's because Geelong was mediocre and most games were close and all games counted.

Have the GFL match of the round as the pre game entertainment with a % of gate going to GFL?
Local community can see a return on the investment into the oval, GFL players get to play on KP and hopefully some of the GFL crowd stay around for the AFL game.

2015 was probably the loudest I've heard the crowd since 2007.

And that's because Geelong was mediocre and most games were close and all games counted.

Precisely. While without wanting to sound elitist I am not one who went quiet all those years, when we thumped everyone, I always expected MORE from our guys to the final siren, so as to show "we're the best" etc. I was highly critical of silly mistakes even when 80 points up, as I rightly knew when we'd face the best when it mattered, those mistakes would cost us, and some seasons they did, '08, '10.

But for the majority who sat their like they were watching royalty playing croquet, it took the harder year of 2015 to wake 'em up somewhat. Here's hoping the challenges of 2016 will cause more close games to further wake the crowd up. And yes I expect us to still struggle, especially initially. Why you ask? You can put a great side together, but it takes time to get them to gel. This is why we dominated for so long, our squad spent years learning each other inside out...you can't speed that up all that much, it simply takes determination, effort, and time.

That said, I'm even excited for the pre-season exhibition games to begin, simply cannot wait for our new look squad. :)

GO Catters

For how long...has the opposition been either interstate or passive vic... Just how often have we had the type of match which infused the crowd with fire. Its an entertainment crowd mostly...they want to be entertained ..winning without style is not that entertaining.

Cook & Carter need to lobby the AFL hard, really hard, to get 1 "big" Victorian club down each year from 2017 onwards.

Doesn't need to be the same club year on year either.

It was ages ago but I recall a Sunday game, think it was against the Saints, down in Geelong. I'm sure it was a Sunday because the Sunday Footy Show broadcast live from the ground.

There was a real buzz in the lead up and on the day of the game it was carnival like.

That is what it could be like, for one game at least.

Considering we only play on our "true" home ground 7 or 8 times a year, I don't think it is too big an ask for one of those games to be against a "big" Victorian club.

Someone tell me I ain't dreamin' that game many moons ago. :confused:

Agree Pivo. They can start by not making our home games against north and hawks 'replacement' games for those teams' supporters to attend as a if it were their home game. Tasmanian government is already paying them to move home games, Geelong shouldn't have to concede as part of this deal.

So at least we should play North at KP. Probably Carlton too.

Then one of Hawks Bombers or Pies would be great.

Also there should be WiFi available to members. So it can be an unsecured connection BUT only members can access the internet through logging in with their membership number.
Ohhhh I like that one!

I agree to an extent, but that never seems to be an issue at many interstate clubs home games. I think bigger clubs would help without a doubt

Free booze for everyone including children
giphy.gif

I agree to an extent, but that never seems to be an issue at many interstate clubs home games. I think bigger clubs would help without a doubt

Which clubs/games are you talking about?

Different state have slightly different temperament as well... but I doubt there would be many interstate sides that get the lack of big Melb clubs at their home ground year after year.

And I understand why... in fact not against play at the home of football etc... but its all part of the dynamic that has constructed our current crowd personality.

Improving the fan experience at Simonds Stadium