Jack Watts dropped to Casey

3 is nothing. mitch brown from the same draft kicked 9 last week and he has suffered horrific injuries snapped his leg and then shoulder ops. even kirstens has five. I think the blame is 100% with Melbourne development. One of my friends is a mate of wells from geelong. He said every club in the land would have taken him at number 1, so its not the fault of the recruiters.

Ive heard everyone would have taken him top 3, but still your point stands. I am sure if WC had first pick they would have gone NikNat.

Ive fixed it now, Niknat was an oversight, and Shuey must of been removed in the copy and paste (he is also now asterisked).

No probs, that list is pretty good and almost identical to what I think. Gee, the quality of that draft is astounding, and unfortunately Melbourne had injury-prone selections later on in Blease and Strauss...

3 is nothing. mitch brown from the same draft kicked 9 last week and he has suffered horrific injuries snapped his leg and then shoulder ops. even kirstens has five. I think the blame is 100% with Melbourne development. One of my friends is a mate of wells from geelong. He said every club in the land would have taken him at number 1, so its not the fault of the recruiters.

But he's playing in the middle... not up forward like Kersten or Brown last week.

So that's a moot point.

As for that 'list'.... I'll more than happily bet that Watts will become a great player for my club; and a better player than 3/4's of that list.

Ive fixed it now, Niknat was an oversight, and Shuey must of been removed in the copy and paste (he is also now asterisked).

Oh, still no LJ.

Shocked.

Ive heard everyone would have taken him top 3, but still your point stands. I am sure if WC had first pick they would have gone NikNat.

Yep, the choice was between Naitanui and Rich, and Rich of course was a late slider. I believe the recruiters made up their minds a couple of days before and then Freo pulled a rabbit out of the hat with Hill when they were widely tipped just days before to take Rich.

Watts at the time was sure to go very high so I don't blame Melbourne exclusively for drafting him - its their development of him that may be the issue.

Jack Ziebell has broken two legs in the same time he and Watts have been in the league and the difference between them - let alone Blease - is seriously catastrophic for Melbourne types.

Also to those slagging off Josh Fraser as a number 1 pick, sure he wasn't ever a truly great player, but he still has played over 200 games and shouldered the ruck for a long time at Collingwood. I feel he was a very good player for a fairly lengthy period of time until his knee problem got the better of him.

Certainly had shown more at the same age than Watts had, if my memory serves me correctly he would of been playing GF's and shouldering the bulk of the ruck work.

Also to continue the previous exercise here is a list of number 1 picks since 1986, I have marked with an asterisk the ones who had/will have better careers than Watts (im not including Patton, as we have not seen him at all playing against men at AFL level):

Martin Leslie*
Richard Lounder
Alex McDonald
Anthony Banik
Stephen Hooper
John Hutton
Drew Banfield*
Darren Gaspar*
Jeff White*
Clive Waterhouse
Michael Gardiner*
Travis Johnstone*
Des Headland
Josh Fraser*
Nick Riewoldt*
Luke Hodge*
Brendon Goddard*
Adam Cooney*
Brett Deledio*
Marc Murphy*
Bryce Gibbs*
Matthew Kreuzer*
Tom Scully*
David Swallow*

Des Headland never kicked on after leaving Brisbane, but did have a season where he got 17 Brownlow votes, so its possible Watts may not even get to Headland level.

Jack also has a top 10 BnF finish to his name, obviously in a lesser team.

A funxtion of playing more games than most of his teammates. He may have been okay but really, is it that hard to name 10+ blokes who had more POSITIVE effect on the outcome of games.

Hes a year younger than 2008 cohort? How about 2010's jack darling. 19 years old still. He may not get the best defender every week. But he attacks every contest like its life or death. Never once seen that from Watts.

Watts won't play 100 games. Doesn't want it enough. Not a bad thing. Just because you are good at footy doesn't mean you have to sacrifice your youth to it.

Yes, he will.

Needs to be developed a bit better by Melbourne. Putting him behind the ball and through the midfield won't help him. Put him at FF and make him lead at the ball with his athleticism. No question he lacks urgency at the moment though.

A funxtion of playing more games than most of his teammates. He may have been okay but really, is it that hard to name 10+ blokes who had more POSITIVE effect on the outcome of games.

Hes a year younger than 2008 cohort? How about 2010's jack darling. 19 years old still. He may not get the best defender every week. But he attacks every contest like its life or death. Never once seen that from Watts.

Kid hits it like Amy Winehouse in the bottle shop.

Gun.

Kid hits it like Amy Winehouse in the bottle shop.

Gun.

too soon :p

In regards to that #1 draft pick list, I don't agree with the asterisk by Tom Scully as of yet. However, David Swallow looks like he may be the next Chris Judd - he is a remarkable talent.

Don't vindicate him, rather look at his history with regards to Melbourne.

Eg. One GWS supporter doesn't want Jamar over on the Draft board, Daw jumps in with 'finally, an acknowledgement that he is and always has been an average ruckman'.

Later that week, Goldstein is dropped and Jamar wins 55 hit outs.

I'll make a bit with anyone that Watts will play more than 100 games, pending serious injury.

Tambling has also played 100 plus. Thing is while people say poor Jack he has all the pressure of being number 1 etc etc, it also gives more opportunities for the player, as the club will give him every last chance to prove himself so they don't end up with egg on their faces.

We did that with Luke Livingston (far far worse than Jack Watts) and he somehow managed 46 games when he realistically didn't warrant more than 10, and we did the same a couple of weeks ago playing Brock McLean in the seniors (where he should never be again).

Love that list. Josh Fraser, Tom Scully all certs hey? Watts has been far better than Scully, but not many would like to admit that.

Watts kicks his 4th, apparently

How many Melbourne games did you watch last year?

Because honestly you're talking like you have absolutely no idea about the performance of Watts or the team.

^^ For some reason I suspect that's true.

More than a few Melbourne supporters thought he would finish top 5.

In regards to that #1 draft pick list, I don't agree with the asterisk by Tom Scully as of yet. However, David Swallow looks like he may be the next Chris Judd - he is a remarkable talent.

Scully is a gun, don't let Melbourne people tell you he is no good just because he left them.

He may not be better than Trengove or Martin from the same draft, but he will still be a seriously good midfielder.

David Swallow is better than all of those 3 though.

Little Spitta (insert comment about how North are going to get him etc etc) is about what you'd come up with if you designed a modern footballer from scratch.

To be fair, as is Watts. Except Watts has a serious problem of this:

CowardlyLion.jpg

As I said, not his fault or even his problem. Not everybody is an emotionally traumatised freak like Wayne Carey who defines themself through sexxing thousands of women and crashing packs.

Jack Watts dropped to Casey