Jade Rawlings is a Roo

Re: Jade Rawlings A Roo

go dogs 05 said:
They were both going to be de-listed anyway - so we are actually saving money. I doubt very much that we will be paying for most of Bowden's contract

If you had delisted Rawlings, the rest of his contract would have been included on this years salary cap.

They are still paying some of Bowden's contract but it's only like about 50K of his 150K deal or something like that. It's only for next year as well after that he is out of contract.

Mike_Spicoli said:
Haha thats embarrassing about the 2001 spine
Well that spine would have played in the GF in 2001, had it not been for that rotten cheat, Darren Goldspink, but that was four years ago. A lot of money has gone under the bridge since then

Weaver said:
No way you would have delisted contracted players. If so you wouldn't be paying ANY of their wages, just cutting them.

They're contracted... we would've had to pay them out.

jcraw1 said:
Thats what Millar said on SEN mate... Personally I dont really care if they do or do not, but I thought I'd pass along the info anyway.

Miller = credible source?

I wouldn't say 5oK of 150K is most

jcraw1 said:
He's the Tiger's president so I hope so. He didn't say 1/3, he said "most"

He is the footy manager, not president

Latest reports - Richmond have taken his whole contract (hence swap for high draft pick as trade off)

We gave Bulldogs pick 46 and they gave us pick 43, Rawlings, and some money to pay his salary. Not quite sure where the loss is there for us.

And I'd appreciate Geelong and Bulldogs supporters waiting until their clubs have actually achieved anything, before they start lecturing anyone about what approach will bring the most success. And Sedat, I absolutely refuse to listen to a lesson on how old players cost the club's future when you have to tape Grant's arms on to play him alongside West, Smith and Johnson - the Dogs play as many oldies as we do, so far for far less impressive onfield results.

Hearts to hearts said:
We gave Bulldogs pick 46 and they gave us pick 43, Rawlings, and some money to pay his salary. Not quite sure where the loss is there for us.

And I'd appreciate Geelong and Bulldogs supporters waiting until their clubs have actually achieved anything, before they start lecturing anyone about what approach will bring the most success. And Sedat, I absolutely refuse to listen to a lesson on how old players cost the club's future when you have to tape Grant's arms on to play him alongside West, Smith and Johnson - the Dogs play as many oldies as we do, so far for far less impressive onfield results.

The difference is we don't TRADE for old players.

Hearts to hearts said:

Yes, but didn't he have blinder against the Roos this season :D

We had to tape Granty's arms on this season because Rawlings wasn't rated by our coaching staff to perform in the seniors, and he didn't perform when he did play. Your argument isn't really valid as Granty's a home grown Bulldog, just like West, Johnson, Smith. You won't ever hear me bagging North for playing homegrown Shinboners like Arch and Simmo.

Your new recruits, being more experienced and stronger, will naturally get precedence over your existing young talls: it stands to reason. That will stunt their growth and development, and may make them look elsewhere for opportunities in the future. Not saying this will happen, but it might. I hope for your sake that the 2005 foreign legion is successful. Our bitter experiences of trade week 2003 suggest that it can come unstuck.

What a difference two years makes.

In 2003, the Dogs gave up Alvey, Veale, ND pick #6 and PSD pick #1 to get Rawlings.

Today they had to worsen their own draft position just to get the Kangas to take him off their hands.

Ouch.

DynamoUltra said:
Hay - Player X - Player Y - Rawlings - Thompson

Starting to resemble Hawthorn of 2001, only these blokes are older, ********ter and far from their best.

These guys were the key to Hawthorn, at North they will only be expected to play support roles.

Sedat! said:
North Bhoy, I feel for North supporters like you. These panicky decisions will do nothing for the development and future opportunities for Macintosh, Joel Perry and Chad Jones. Short-sighted stuff from Laidley.

If they are good enough, and ready they will play.

Hearts to hearts said:
And Sedat, I absolutely refuse to listen to a lesson on how old players cost the club's future when you have to tape Grant's arms on to play him alongside West, Smith and Johnson - the Dogs play as many oldies as we do, so far for far less impressive onfield results.

Ridiculous argument, you don't retire long serving players who are still very much good enough to get a game just because they are old. The difference is we aren't trading for old players, one of whom will struggle to get a game, we are trading and or delisting/retiring them (Rawlings, Koops, Harrison)

Monkster said:
The difference is we don't TRADE for old players.

Last year we could afford to trade for Thompson - we got Jesse Dubya, a guaranteed top ten pick - under f/s.

This years draft is crap so we decided not to waste picks. We needed a key defender so Hay was a shoo in.

Rawlings will provide back up and I wouldn't be surprised if he fires up a bit now he is at a club that he wants to be at and has a proven record of success.

Now, Footscray should keep drafting and drafting until it 2054 and then you might win another flag.

4 ex hawks, and I reckon only the 2 will get games next year Hay and Thompson. Piccione hopefully will stay in the twos, and If Jade is good enough to get back into a starting 22 in AFL, well thats great, But I dont think that we will be expecting too much. The Knowledge he can pass on to a few of those younger north players will be worth the money he will be getting payed from us.

N!

Jade Rawlings is a Roo