Traded Jared Polec [traded to North Melbourne with Pittard and #48 for #11 and 2019 fourth round pick]

Who won this trade?

• Port Adelaide

Votes: 5 100.0%
  • North Melbourne

Votes: 0 0.0%

Now lets see, the lazy, injury prone, selfish, overrated Polec, has been offered an 800k+ a year offer, which is 300k overs and 2 years too many, and the three previous ins on big coin, combined with reeling in another this year one this year would NOT stop them from offering as much, but its not about money its about years, cause his foot is literally going to fall off tomorrow and this uptick in form is fueled solely by wearing teal.

What is with north fans

You desperately want to land a player to eat up some of the cap you’ve stashed away that you need to spend.

Polec is a very good player who has needed pushing every now and again as he can be prone to getting comfortable. This isn’t guesswork port and Polec himself have commented on this.

North are prepared to offer him big money over five years considering they have cash out the wazoo and haven’t been able to give it away lately.

Why do north fans feel the need to rewrite the narrative to make out port are the bad guys here?

No one is rewriting any narratives.

North rate Jared higher than Port
Port rate a second string ruckman higher than Jared

IMO, the balance of power has now shifted in this scenario.

Glad to see my propaganda reaches the masses.

And people laughing at North missing out on two targets last year. Kept on saying that is not good for any club. Cashed up disruption.

Not that this scenario needed it as we're not paying much for him anyway. Port blunded that up.

Your reasoning is flawed

North have more money. They NEED to spend that money.

Ports recruitment of a ruck who wants to return to Adelaide while our ruckmans body is breaking down is entirely irrelevant in gauging polecs trade value.

North rate De Goey higher than Collingwood, Martin higher than Richmond, Kelly higher than GWS...

Footy is a closed system. If all of North's 'market value' offers were actually accepted they'd have about $5m left to play 35 players.

Every team has different needs and every team has a different salary cap position.

cash isn't the problem it's the length look at our ooc players next year we'll have plenty of cash, even this year we could easily trade Ebert to pay him.
So much cash that you're losing a required player that is a point of difference in a one paced midfield. Port posters on your board know it's a big loss and miscalculating where your squad was at last season has cost you on this occasion

My god never thought i would see the day where a player like Polec getting $800k a year FMD
You won't be seeing that if he comes to North.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

What a flawed argument. That overflowing salary cap of yours is going to your head.
If Polly was a ruck and we were replacing him with Lycett your argument would make some sense, but he isn’t.
Your club is desperate to land someone. They need to save face.
Unfortunately the only way North can do that is to offer ridiculous overs.
You didn’t bring in Gubby for nothing.
Polly is a good player but we have a need of another Ruck to assist / replace Ryder.

Such big headedness from North supporters.
You might question our list management but a lot of people are laughing at yours.

Last edited by a moderator:
Simple question mate.

My guess is Port are forking over a minimum $600K to get Lycett out of Perth.

How much do you reckon Port is offering Lycett to move, and please take in to consideration that WCE have tried to get him to stay, then apply that math to a bloke that could very well win your B&F.

why is Lycett being brought up?
Given the year we just had, take out polly and replace him with Lycett and we would have won more games no doubt. no ruckman when Ryder was injured killed us this year.
750k for Polec isnt worth it for us. 550k ish for Lycett is a huge need for us. comparing the two is apples and oranges.
Polec to just about any other team in the AFL isnt a 5 year 750k player, but thats the benefit of having huge space in your cap. If north didnt offer that would he have got offers of close to that from any other club? highly doubt it.
Not to say hes not a good player, like polly and was hoping he would stay. But it is what it is.

why is Lycett being brought up?
Given the year we just had, take out polly and replace him with Lycett and we would have won more games no doubt. no ruckman when Ryder was injured killed us this year.
750k for Polec isnt worth it for us. 550k ish for Lycett is a huge need for us. comparing the two is apples and oranges.
Polec to just about any other team in the AFL isnt a 5 year 750k player, but thats the benefit of having huge space in your cap. If north didnt offer that would he have got offers of close to that from any other club? highly doubt it.
Not to say hes not a good player, like polly and was hoping he would stay. But it is what it is.

Get off the gear mate. Replacing your best mid with a second string ruckman who at best is a battler will not make you a better team

you dont watch many port games do you?
a ruckman in the games where we played dixon and westhoff and then the laughable ones where ollie wines rucked would have made a massive difference.
as i said im not comparing the two as apples and oranges but to our team Lycett last season would have been a huge in for us.

again i dont want to loose polly but can understand why hes gone at such a massive offer

you dont watch many port games do you?
a ruckman in the games where we played dixon and westhoff and then the laughable ones where ollie wines rucked would have made a massive difference.
as i said im not comparing the two as apples and oranges but to our team Lycett last season would have been a huge in for us.

again i dont want to loose polly but can understand why hes gone at such a massive offer

He’s arguably your best player.

You offered him similar money and less years then Motlop!

My god never thought i would see the day where a player like Polec getting $800k a year FMD

Yeah, its honestly ridiculous but understandable from North's perspective.

North's brand is being adversely affected by their inability to lure in any elite players despite the truckload of money so consequently have to pay extreme overs to bring in any above average players. They can laud this as a big win.

800k is a ****load of money. Polec won't get it anywhere but North. Take it and run.

He’s arguably your best player.

You offered him similar money and less years then Motlop!

both can be had if we wanted...
But Polecs 3 year 550k offer is roughly what hes worth maybe 600k but the years is the problem.
if we bumped the years but no more cash he would stay and turn down yet another north god father contract.

Traded Jared Polec [traded to North Melbourne with Pittard and #48 for #11 and 2019 fourth round pick]