Traded Jared Polec [traded to North Melbourne with Pittard and #48 for #11 and 2019 fourth round pick]

Who won this trade?

• Port Adelaide

Votes: 5 100.0%
  • North Melbourne

Votes: 0 0.0%

North's brand is being adversely affected by their inability to lure in any elite players

With who? BigFooty posters?

Or are you suggesting that when we approach players, they give a toss about offers we may have made to other players in the past and let that impact their decision?

Yeah, its honestly ridiculous but understandable from North's perspective.

North's brand is being adversely affected by their inability to lure in any elite players despite the truckload of money so consequently have to pay extreme overs to bring in any above average players. They can laud this as a big win.

800k is a ****load of money. Polec won't get it anywhere but North. Take it and run.

$800k?

Rofl, tomorrow we will hit the $1m a season mark with the Port board.

"Apparently" North have upped their offer in the last few days have they? Despite all reports this has been done for a number of weeks.

I think I'll stick with the 600-700 figure that Bowen is running with.

both can be had if we wanted...
But Polecs 3 year 550k offer is roughly what hes worth maybe 600k but the years is the problem.
if we bumped the years but no more cash he would stay and turn down yet another north god father contract.

So North's offer has gone up $200 grand and Port's offer has gone down $50 grand since 2 weeks ago?

Seems legit.

In reality there is probably about $100k difference between Lycett and Polec.

With who? BigFooty posters?

Or are you suggesting that when we approach players, they give a toss about offers we may have made to other players in the past and let that impact their decision?

BigFooty is irrelevant. The shit we talk has no bearing on anything.

I don't know about negatives other than press (negative press about North, well I never...) but I reckon attracting players attracts players to some degree. O'Meara and Mitchell wanted Hawthorn. Prestia wanted Richmond as does apparently Lynch. Rockliff and Motlop Wanted Port. Etc. I reckon these clubs are better placed in attracting players because of their recent signings. Similar goes for player retention. Some clubs hardly ever lose players, others are Gold Coast. If you were a player looking at joining the Suns you would be worried about how many have jumped ship.

BigFooty is irrelevant. The shit we talk has no bearing on anything.

I don't know about negatives other than press (negative press about North, well I never...) but I reckon attracting players attracts players to some degree. O'Meara and Mitchell wanted Hawthorn. Prestia wanted Richmond as does apparently Lynch. Rockliff and Motlop Wanted Port. Etc. I reckon these clubs are better placed in attracting players because of their recent signings. Similar goes for player retention. Some clubs hardly ever lose players, others are Gold Coast. If you were a player looking at joining the Suns you would be worried about how many have jumped ship.

Absolutely, and I'd have no doubt Gaff and Polec have spoken, the same way Martin and Kelly likely would have spoken last year. Gaff has probably spoken to Kelly too (either directly or via Connors).

I'd also argue we've had no issue attracting mid tier players (Higgins, Waite, Dal Santo) - it's the absolute big fish which we have failed to land so far, however I also don't think any other club has pursued one as aggressively as we have in the past few years so there probably isn't a comparable case study. It will probably only take one domino to fall and the whole perception changes.

No doubt we haven't been a destination club in the past, but I also doubt players we target go "North look desperate, they can't land anyone lol" as seemed to be inferred by the post I quoted about our brand (whatever that refers to).

I don't get why the AFL would have those rules in the first place. No other major sporting league seemingly does.

If you want blokes to set themselves up for life after footy, then let them make money outside of footy while they're playing. They only get one shot at the fame and notoriety that professional sport affords them, so allow them to make the most of it.
Huh? Years of control, waivers, etc are very common in major sporting leagues. A player's market value (or something approximating it) is a reasonable entitlement for the current club before the FA threshold is reached if they can't come to terms keeping him.

The AFL's system of resetting the FA clock when a player changes clubs is messed up tho.

Such big headedness from Norf supporters.
You might question our list management but a lot of people are laughing at yours.
I'd rate our list management over ports pretty easily at the moment tbh.
- Substantially younger list
- A ton more cap space to chase FA and OOC players
- Still finished higher on the ladder

We missed out on Kelly and Martin last year and still improved. The fact that we could miss out on 2x top 5 players and not go backwards is a testament to the quality of our list management if anything.

North's brand is being adversely affected by their inability to lure in any elite players despite the truckload of money so consequently have to pay extreme overs to bring in any above average players. They can laud this as a big win.

800k is a ****load of money. Polec won't get it anywhere but North. Take it and run.
800k now, any reputable source?

The chest-beating from both sides is juvenile and pointless and the arguments unnecessary. Both perspectives can be held comfortably without the need to denigrate the other. Assuming Polec does, in fact, ask to be traded (to North Melbourne)...

From Port Adelaide's perspective, it's about not wanting to match Polec's contract aspirations, or more particularly, North Melbourne's offer. More so if Polec has indicated he would prefer to move on/accept that offer.

Why would Port even bother matching in this case, particularly if it is out of whack with the value they perceive him to have, and the salary cap plans/space they have? The additional money needed to 'lure' a player away from their existing club is a fact of life in the AFL these days, unless there is a clear 'go home' factor or 'sense of imminent success' on offer. Not matching North's offer doesn't mean Polec isn't valued, and it doesn't mean they wouldn't prefer, other things being equal, for him to stay. Unfortunate, but move on.

From North Melbourne's perspective, the club has clearly been looking to bring in higher end talent to be as successful as possible, like any club. That has been restricted at the draft table due to higher or mid-table finishes in the past 5-6 years, last year notwithstanding. So, they've been left with looking to recruit Free Agents and out of contract players, and front loading contracts to create a 'war chest' to do so. Makes sense and, arguably, good salary cap management which can keep being 'rolled forward' until successful.

This isn't about wanting to 'look like' a destination club or save face, it's about wanting to be a club that higher quality players can see themselves joining and having some success at, which can become a self-fulfilling thing either way.... last year's results with Dusty/Kelly has been used to suggest NM isn't an attractive club to join, whereas this years mooted recruitment of Polec and Gaff and Kelly next year, can be used to paint the opposite picture.

As to the 'dick measuring', while the 5 year length of the contract offer seems to be widely accepted, the yearly salary figures range between $600K - $800K. Most NMFC posters (off the back of some posters with 'sources') are suggesting it is at the lower end, and most Port posters suggesting is it at the higher. None of us can be sure and at the end of the day, it doesn't actually matter. The fact is, it is high enough, and long enough to achieve the result and doesn't reflect any 'objective' value with respect to Polec.

both can be had if we wanted...
But Polecs 3 year 550k offer is roughly what hes worth maybe 600k but the years is the problem.
if we bumped the years but no more cash he would stay and turn down yet another north god father contract.

Says allot about your rabble if he’s moving interstate to an expensive city for 75k after tax.

and its been fully shown that he is / was trying to get port to up the offer in years so he could stay.

Official or guessing because he hasn't publicly accepted the North offer yet?

Clearly Port haven't upped their offer yet astoundingly to counteract that North have offered more money as of the news of the uninformed today.

It's all bullshit, nobody knows anything bar Polec, his manager and the respective list managers at both clubs. Anything else is just supporters of both clubs posturing with fake news to lessen the blow depending on which club misses out on his services. The dollars are being guessed at, it's no small coincidence it's more from SA "sources" and less from Victorian "sources".

The narrative is just hilarious.

North "insiders" - We're not giving our first pick now.

Port "insiders" - Yeah, well now you're offering 800k so you have to give us two first picks.

Four more bloody weeks of this, spare me.

Can't believe North are offering Polec MORE than what they waved in front of Dusty.

Huh? Years of control, waivers, etc are very common in major sporting leagues. A player's market value (or something approximating it) is a reasonable entitlement for the current club before the FA threshold is reached if they can't come to terms keeping him.

The AFL's system of resetting the FA clock when a player changes clubs is messed up tho.

Huh? Re-read what I was discussing. I think you missed the point entirely.

Can't believe North are offering Polec MORE than what they waved in front of Dusty.
In 2 weeks time we will have de-listed every other player and offered Polec 10 million a year for the next century, while Port have offered to buy him a rescued greyhound and pay for its immunisations and a week of tinned food. And he will be asking for 2 weeks of food to stay.

Spoken like a man who thinks he's got his finger on the pulse... but in reality he's just got his hand on it.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Its crazy but not surprising. North are desperate for a win and I think they've got it, with the $800k offering they're giving Polec. Port will get a first round pick from it, both clubs win.

$800k?

Try $1m mate.

They've gone crazy.

Actually hearing that they've upped it to 1.2 million.

That's what I was referring to before, its the Dusty money from last year.

Gaff gets the Kelly money.

It is madness.

Traded Jared Polec [traded to North Melbourne with Pittard and #48 for #11 and 2019 fourth round pick]